We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Decatur, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice stay on a budget”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice time at the resort. It's a bit if a mixed bag though I think overall it is a safe, friendly resort for families. I will start with the positives.

Customer service was very good. We did the online check in and the check at the resort took only minutes. The staff were very nice and we received the room requests we had made. Not all staff were as friendly as others but no one was ever rude. Pauline, the housekeeper for our floor was very good. Nice view.

Food. It was fine. Standard AI fare. I will say because the resort has a good number of Jamaican guests they had an above average amount of local dishes. This was a huge plus to us. There was enough variety to keep us all happy. The theme restaurants were fine. Good break from the buffet.

Entertainment was usually good. Wednesday was Pirate Beach Party. Best night of all. They moved the buffet out to the patio and had a live show with a steel band. It was fantastic. The other nites were just ok, but we were traveling with a young child and went to bed early and missed a few nites.

We loved the diversity of the guests. We had not stayed at a Caribbean resort that had a large local guest group and also guests from around the world. It was fun to meet people.

We did the glass bottom boat ride. A bit expensive for such a short trip but it was enjoyable. Snorkeling was good around the jetties. We saw lots of fish and an octopus. Watch out for jellies though. You will see them on the beach if they are out.

Other reviewers complained about the outdated rooms and slow elevators. Neither were of concern to us. They were clean and well cared for. We weren't in a rush so the elevators were no big deal.

The resort had some sewer issues. Our room got smelly which seemed an early symptom of a larger problem. It was smelly on out tower the whole next day. It was clear they were aware and fixed the problem the following day.

The beaches were not as well maintained as I have seen at other places. They do a quick rake right in front of the beach chairs but not the entire beach. For those who have been asking the nude beach is still open to all but under renovation. The are building new palapas. I thought the semi nude and nude beaches were beautiful with the trees. They were underutilized and there was no indication they were maintained at all. There was a discarded tire at the back end of the nude beach.

They frequently ran out of beach towel which was annoying. Especially with a shivering little one. We experienced this often. Some guests resorted to checking out towels the evening before to ensure they would have one the next day.

I would recommend this resort to families traveling on a budget. It is very conveniently located. It had everything we needed and overall we had a great time.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank decaturgafam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,199
    2,474
    1,048
    467
    342
See reviews for
2,578
1,417
114
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,455)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We just returned from a full week at Sunset Beach. For sure there are some positives about this place but we won't be returning.

A quick overview:

The Beach - worst beach I have been to in the Caribbean. Small, rocky. Basically lame.

The food - the Jerk chick was fantastic! Sadly most everything else was uninspired. I expected awesome fruit in the morning, like every other all inclusive I have been to, but it was the same every day. No mange, guava, etc. Watermelon served at literally all 23 meals we ate there. Lunches were bland. We contemplated going off resort to eat more than once but never got around to since we had a 3 yr old in tow.

Waterpark - our 3 yr old loved it. Of course he would love anything in the water. The lazy river was cool. The other comments on tripadvisor about the waterslide rivets hurting your back it bang on. Do NOT lie down or you are in a world of pain!

Service - the service over all was pretty good. 90% of the employee's were great. We dealt with a few duds along the week but for the most part was good. I will say the service at the buffet was less than stellar. When they ran out of dessert, which was often, we had to beg for them to go get more. This was a regular thing for us! lol

Overall the resort is very tired looking and needs mucho dollars spent to fix it up. We had a decent time but I don't see us ever returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdaltybenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, BC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Overall: Our family of 4 ( 2 young adults in our 30's and 2 boys ages 6 & 10) had a fantastic vacation. We love Jamaica!!! We traveled there Nov 11-18.

Staff: Very good for the most part. Lobby bar wasn't as good for us as the main bar or the beach bar. Front desk could use a little help :)

Bars: there are 4 - beach, main, lobby swim up and disco. Main pool with activities and music is loud, if that's what you like then you should be there.

Rooms: nothing spectacular! I could care less because I don't spend much time in my room, BUT for those who do they are small and outdated. We are a family of 4 and got a roll away bed and that took up all extra room we had in our ocean view room. Upgrading is the way to go. Ocean front is where its at, apparently. We paid for it but go downgraded. I wasn't impressed but it didn't ruin my vacation.

Tipping: Just because it says it all inclusive doesn't mean you can't fork a $100 over the course of a week for those who are barely making it in a third world country. We tipped for maid daily $200-300 on our bed. For every buffet meal $200-300, for every a la carte dinner $500-1000 and the bar tenders about $1000 per day. It ensures great service, helps out the local economy and for the sake of $15/day.... it's nothing to you and I. This tipped for a family of 4.

The exchange rate for US and CDN was about 90 to 1 JA to CDn or USD. In all honesty it was easier to just consider $100 JA was 1 dollar CDN. then you know what your talking about.

Do a tour or two. It's must. Negril was so beautiful, Definitely recommend for the beaches.

Food: Pretty good. nothing outrageous, but there was an option of a fish, chicken and either pork or beef every lunch and dinner plus a pasta or two, green salad and variety of other salads, steamed veggies, rice among other things. There are 3 a la carte restaurants - They were fine, treat them like a 4 or 5 course meal and your be satisfied. We ordered one off each section and we are average or light eaters compared to most. My husband says to add a lime to the draft beer - ? I guess like mexico? To make it taste better. If you have an option of resort, order red strip by the bottle as it tastes better.
There are a few nights where they have different things on the go like Saturday - It's all the a la carte restaurants that come together in the buffet for a yummy feast. That's a good time. there is also a BBQ night.

Entertainment: Something for everyone every night. Humor, culture and good clean fun.

The hip strip is overrun by non Jamaican's. Its high pressure and slimy bait and switch tactics. I wasn't impressed. By from the locals on the resort or at the markets. Better support of the economy as well.

Pools There were 4 pools, the beach and a nude beach section. We spend most days at the beach as there were plenty of water sports, snorkeling etc. the kids loved the water slides though.

There is a kids club and a teens club and onsite babysitting. The kids club opens from 7-9pm for adults to go for dinner - that was a very nice option.

Hire a cab and go on a trip. Errol is your guy - Also know as Mr. Wise. He can be found at the taxi desk. just ask for him, His rate are better than others and he is a great tour guide.

Enjoy your trip. We plan on returning to Jamaica - maybe to another resort as we plan on it being a couples trip for the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BC_Sun_Seeker0834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimbey
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at the Oasis from Nov.8-18,2013. The Oasis restaurant was not open yet as they were still renovating it and the lobby. Our room (W114) was right beside the waterpark and the opened on the back to the gardens. It had bunkbeds and was nice and very clean. The bathroom was a little small but still ok. Our 2 girls aged 9 and 11 absolutely loved the water park. The resort could use a little TLC and paint here and there, that is the only reason I didn't give it a 5. ALL the staff were very friendly and nice to us. I have to mention Kenjah and Domenic from the activities staff, they were FANTASTIC. They made our stay so much fun.

The food at the buffet was excellent. We never did try the al a cartes because we prefer not to take 2 hours for supper and like to see and pick what we eat. Saturday is gala night and they do a huge buffet at the entertainment area which includes food from all the restaurants. At lunch you can eat at the buffet or the snack bar. The snack bar had great food too, like
jerk chicken, grilled cheese, burgers, hotdogs, nacho's and fries. Breakfast was excellent, especially the omelets.

The entertainment most nights was fun. Examples were: Circus night, Magic show, staff and guest talent show, Karaoke, Steel drum band, Fire show, Fashion show.

The activities pool area was a lot of fun for our whole family. I can't thank Kenjah and Domenic enough for treating us so well and being so entertaining. Lots of kids games, family games, drinking games, volleyball, etc.

We are a family that likes to participate in activities when we are on holidays and have fun. This resort is one of the best for having plenty to do. Our girls were in a few of the evening entertainment shows and loved that. A lot of the staff around the resort would call us by name and us them, so friendly.

They had Kayaks, Paddle boats and windsurfers to use. Snorkling was excellent right out front of the resort, especially near the rocks.

The towel hut also had books, board games, etc. that you can borrow. We would definitely go back to this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The bad

Food:
Mediocre at best. All of the fruits were bland (watermelons, cantaloupe, pineapple and honeydew). Breakfast and lunch were very similar everyday. In between meal times the only option for food is the grill place which serves the same greasy food everyday. Dinner in the buffet changes in theme but most things were a good effort.

Restaurant:
Silk Road has good service even though food was not very good except for the cheesecake. The Italian restaurant had slow service. Waited 45 minutes for a drink (went outside restaurant to fill my glass). Had to literally beg for a drink of water! Food took forever to come due to our server. Other guest came in after us and was done before us. We had two small children with us ages 3 and 1 and they were starving!

Elevator:
Very slow and sometimes door won't open, with you inside. Take the stairs.

Location:
Resort is remote so if you're bored with being in the beach or in the pool it's an expensive ride to city center (rip off prices for taxis). You can walk outside the gate and get a license (red tab cars) taxis for half the price.

Beach:
Three beaches total but only one is ever used as the others are dirty and a bit on the shady side as the fence was cut open. No one used the other two beaches.

However, the water slide was fun for kids but you do get stuck on it as they don't put enough water pressure for the slide to work properly.

The good

Entertainment:
Lots of nightly entertainment for the family and individual to enjoy from circus, magic show, bon fire, dinner themes, steel drum performances, bands and more.

Drinks:
Unlimited alcoholic drinks for the adults. Not so much non alcoholic drink options for the kids that aren't so sugary.

Will not be coming again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank castingshadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My wife and I got married at the Sunset Beach Resort in Montego Bay. Our family came from all over the world for the wedding (America, Brazil, and Jamaica) and everyone raved about the resort and said they will definitely return.Throughout our stay the staff and management (in particular Karlene Walters and Tanesha Clarke) were extremely friendly and helpful. In addition, the resort food was very tasty and the beaches were gorgeous! Will definitely come back and stay at this resort every time we go to Jamaica!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Overall, this resort is of great value. Please note it's a little older and not super modern in a few areas but look past that and you'll have a great time. You are there for the beach and the sun, right? We are a young family of two boy ages 6 & 10. Kids loved every minute of it. My husband and I enjoyed Jamaica and would definately go back to visit - we might not return here as we are planning an adults only trip to stay somewhere more quiet. We stayed Nov 11-18 2013.

Property - Large, lots to offer everyone. Definitely more geared towards families with the kids klub, teens klub and water park with waterslides. 1 buffet and 3 al la carte Restaurants. 4 pools with something for everyone. 2 pools either side of the swim up bar - quiet area for the most part. main activity pool - loud where the music and entertainment is. Finally the waterslide pool with the lazy river. We spend most of our time at the waterslide pool and right on the beach. Lots of Chairs available always. Towel service ran out of clean towels often and we only changed our towel every second day since we are conscious of the environment.
There is a beach bar, a main bar, a swim up bar, lobby bar and a bar in the disco/casino.
Main bar was great service and so was beach bar. I wasn't keen on the service from the lobby bar workers.

NOTE: Like any other all inclusive TIP! We tipped 200-300 Jamaican dollars everyday on our bed for our room cleaning. My husband tipped about $500-1000 JA per day to the bartenders he was mostly getting served at. Ever buffet meal ( we are a family of 4 ) we tipped $200JA and an a la carte dinner we tipped $500 JA. To us it work out to almost $100 JAMAICAN = $1 CDN or USD. This is still a third world country and these folks don't make a lot of money so $100 over the course of the week you are there in tips is nothing to you but makes a big impact on them. It's great to tip your cab driver if you hire one for a person tour -we did. His name was Errol or AKA Mr. Wise. He can be found at the taxi desk. His rates are better than the ones posted on the sign and he was fun. Tell him the family from Vancouver Island, BC sent you.

Food - Was basic at the buffet but tasty and fresh. Not a huge amount of selections but it was always good. Usually a fish & Chicken and pork or beef option at every meal + pasta, a variety of salads, steamed veggies, a sandwich bar, a hot food bar of some sort ( changed daily ).
The A La Carte restaurants we better for a change of pace. We ordered wine to our table for a charge of the cost of wine. Much better than the basic red or white that the resort offered. TIP: order your bottle first as it takes like 20 mins to get it. We only got to try the asian and italian and they were both good. Some portions so make it a 4-5 course dinner. The snack bar has yummy jerk chicken. Or burgers, hot dogs etc. nothing healthy but if you need something to fill the void in between lunch and dinner it's your only option. There is also a guy selling patties on a cart around the resort. Must try them as they are Jamaican and you are in Jamaica. They taste like a cornish pastry sort of. with meat and a sauce.
Maragrittaville had really good food if you leave the resort.

Rooms & Resort info : We were told that Dec 1st the resort is becoming " The Oasis" and The sunset. The rooms which offer gardenview and oceanfront are the best. they are only two stories high, really close to the beach too. There are also two high towers full of rooms, that's where we were. They were fine but the upgrade would have been worth it. Rooms are basic and small. I never worry since I am never there except to sleep and shower. We ordered a rollaway since we had two kids and then put two double beds together. It worked.

Staff: The staff is friendly. The front desk staff can be difficult. the hours of the stores, bars etc are the actual hours. It's the first time I have been on vacation and things actually work the way they should. There is an internet cafe and you can purchase wifi by the hour, day or week for your stay.

We never used the casino - so no comment.

Room Tip: Pay for the upgrade and get an oceanfront room or a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
13.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
5.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
0.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,385 reviews
6.2 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

Property: Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Splash Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunscape Splash Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing