We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An All-Inclusive Really????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Ranked #18 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An All-Inclusive Really????”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Four nights into a seven night stay I began compiling this list to inform anyone who is planning to stay at this location. It may seem petty to some but I cannot pay to stay at a property where the standards are below how I live in my own home. Ohhh let me count the reasons you may want to look elsewhere:

Front Desk had to recode both room keys multiple times within a single day and problem still was not resolved by the end of our stay. I even saw an Engineer working with other guests on our floor with their room entry issues.

Not enough staff to handle the guest capacity

Interesting that an all-inclusive does not have room service or even allow food in the guest rooms

No in room refrigerator stocked with at the very minimum water unless your are booked in one of the "suites"

Dated property in desperate need of a renovation

Cracked and stained bathroom fixtures throughout rooms and property except for the lobby (stay away from the gym bathrooms YUCK)

Uncomfortable bedding, mattress is maybe 8 inches thick

Unsuitable ventilation in common areas particularly throughout the outdoor dining areas where fans are needed to keep away flies

Ants in rooms

Limited range Wi-Fi that isn't available throughout the property at an additional cost of $30 per log-on for one week. Weird the property can't boost their Wi-Fi for property wide access with the additional money being charged but you can access Secret's free Wi-Fi in building B or from the lobby area, which is located about 1500 ft away from the outskirts of the property.

Staff that provide different answers and pricing each time you ask a question or better yet staff not at their post during normal operation hours

Improperly working air conditioning without an automatic feature and proper temperature control so you are stuck with off or frozen tundra blowing directly over your bed

Not enough food to handle capacity during peak buffet hours

Food not clearly labeled or labeled at all, would be nice for people with food allergies

Elevators in need of maintenance to include displaying incorrect floors and noticeable delays when the elevator moved between floors

Stray cats roaming the property begging for food

Paper thin walls and nonexistent sound proofing

Not enough hot water for two consecutive showers

And let us not forget, you lose a single thing deemed hotel property (room access keys, lock for safe, arm band you must wear your entire stay, or beach towel cards) and it is $100 US

The only saving graces for this hotel is that it is a family friendly environment including entertainment, the food even though extremely repetitive is actually pretty decent, proximity to the airport, and with all the minuses they keep it clean but let’s be real you can’t have an outdated dirty property.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Dy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,165
    2,450
    1,034
    458
    329
See reviews for
2,525
1,394
112
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,434)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I just returned from a week of fun in the sun, I have no complaints except the wifi isn't worth the 30.00 for the week it barely works. Everyone was very nice, the food was great, room was clean, entertainment was terrific and my favorite person from entertainment was Jerome he is full of life and always ready for fun. We ate at all the restaurants they were all worth making the reservation food was terrific. I would return for a third time. If you are going on vacation expecting it to be like home, you should stay home, but if you going to have a good time in Jamaica you will be happy anywhere. I like being only 10 minutes from the airport... this is best family resort I have been to so far in Montego Bay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobbiefromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
194 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This was our first trip to Jamaica which we traveled as a group with two adjoining rooms. Being up graded to ocean front was just awesome being able to walk out and enjoy the view every morning.
We have been to some very nice all-inclusive resorts in the Domicain Republic and we were really looking forward to trying a new resort.
This resort may not be 4/5 star but the staff and the personal service they give you is definitely 5 star all the way.
From the moment we stepped out of the mini van the staff greeted us having one goal and that is to make your time here the best they can.
I have seen reviews here where people have stated staff were not friendly or smiling, that is just not the case.....I can not comment enough on how AWESOME the staff are..
The comments concerning the rooms needing a little up-dating is correct, they are working hard to bring them all up to date BUT REALLY how much time are you spending in your room when you some great pools and a awesome beach out side???
The buffet was not as large as i would of liked but being we went during the slow season i can understand.
Ignore all comments about the lines at the omelette station because the guy is AWESOME !!! he has 6 burners going and makes one of the best omelette i have ever tried , plus what are you in a hurry for???
There are only be three different restaurants to choose from which is a little bit of a let down , but saying this all three serve really great food my daughter and friends just loved the Italian ,myself i would have to say the Jamaican was the best.
They Also hold beach parties where they lay out nothing but the best food , service and entertainment....I must say the beach partied was the high light of the whole five days we were there and has to be a must if you are there because you will not be disappointed.
The trip to the Hip strip is not bad as long as you do not mind being harassed by venders to buy their products, It is a great chance to experience the real Jamaica and food though ...and you the cost per person through the hotel is very good.
There may be a couple of things that could be improved but nothing is a 100% as you like it , but the quality of the service we got when staying here is second to none....There are just too many people i could name here that went over and beyond to make sure our 5 days was the best it could be.
We will most definitely be returning here ...............

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bosox_brit66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

The water was dirty. The wave pool was meant for little kids. Half the rides were shut down. The beach water is park made for little kids now. I will never take my 9 month old child there because the water was do dirty and nasty.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Macielee2135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was at the resort at the end of may. Did not know it was rainy season, but that was usually in the afternoon. The staff at sunset is amazing. They are all very friendly and will do any thing to help you. The down side is the pics of the resort are obviously old. But the place over all is in good shape and kept very clean. Our rooms were clean and the air was cold. Had to go to the balcony about once a day to hit the air unit so it would stop vibrating, but it was cold enough to hang meat in my room, which i loved. a couple of bad things were that the castle and water slide are not in as good of shape as the pics show. they also turn them off at 5 pm along with the lazy river. I went with my brother and his family and these were one of the main reasons we chose it. You can swim all night if you want its just no slides or lazy river after 5. I had read mixed reviews o the food. It is ok at best. You will not starve but you will have a hard time saying that it was great. I would compare the desserts to a Chinese restaurant. They look great but taste bland or bad. I ate a lot of jerk chicken. The shows were fun , but not super great. They are put on by the staff and they try very hard. There is some great snorkeling on the beaches at the resort. The people from Kelly s water sports were great, and they were a lot of fun. I think they are doing work to bring some of the place back up to top condition , but they need to work on the food and activities. I would stay here again just because the staff(Shout out to Lamardo) and how clean it was. its literally feet from the beach.

Room Tip: When you get taxis on the resort . if you get a driver you like, get his card. you can call him from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wyatt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent restaurants to chose from perfect little area to snorkel big pool chess board as big as your kid in lot. Nice doctor there if you need a bit of first aid inclusive food buffet was good not great drinks good not great but friendly staff greeted with drink at door

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic w W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malabar, Florida USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This was my 6th time staying at Sunset Beach Resort in Montego Bay. That speaks for itself in how I rate the place. They treat the returning guests like VIP's proving that return business is appreciated.
It's not a 5 star resort but it doesn't cost as much as one and it's very nice and clean and perfect for my family and friends. About a 10 -15 minute ride from the Sangster airport..

One highlight that I must mention: Fantastic and sweet elderly Jamaican gentleman, FRANK, who plays piano a few nights a week, knows any song you request and plays w/ no music books, is a very talented pianist and passionate story teller. Also there is a very high energy steel drum band named the SILVER BIRDS that perform once a week there. Have seen them everytime I've been there and can't wait to see them perform again.

Needless to say my family and friends that we travel with have really gotten to know a lot of the staff and they are genuinely pleased to see us come back. My brother has been there at least 12 times. Very good value for your money. Reefs offshore for free snorkeling, kayaks for your paddling pleasure, and a nice little catamaran ride around the reefs is yours for the asking. Nice water park for kids and adults alike. Masks and fins are available to use free of charge but I highly recommend bringing your own.

Great liquor bars that are open most of the time and they can whip up whatever alcoholic beverage you could ask for including COLD free flowing Red Stripe beer. There are three on-site restaurants that you can eat dinner at, no charge, in case you decide you want a break from the breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet.
The omelette station at the breakfast buffet is worth commenting on. That omelet chef (Xavier, always a smile) is extremely experienced in making fantastic omelettes and offers such a nice variety of items with the best white cheddar type cheese I've ever tasted. There is a bowl of green delish hot sauce that you must add two scoops of to your omelete. They have the most delicious bacon about every other day on the breakfast buffet as well as great unlimited coffee. Potatoes, callaloo, sausage, a smoothie bar as well as delicious fresh fruits, breads, pastries, porridges, yogurts and oatmeal and there is plenty of everythingt. The serving staff is so gracious and pleasant.

The lunch and dinner also offer a variety of Jamaican/Caribbean dishes as well as items like mashed potatoes, mac and cheese, steamed veggies, salad bars, fruit, etc.

LOTS of beautiful plants and landscaping all over the property and I feel that everyone I meet is just generally happy to be there and enjoying their resort experience. They have a darling little casino and air conditioned sports bar with a nice TV and comfy seating to watch any current sporting events.

Saddest time is packing up to go. We just returned home last night and are ready to head back there.. soon..

Room Tip: We rarely are IN our rooms so I would say that unless you spend a lot of time IN the room and want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unocentavo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
9.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
13.5 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
5,980 reviews
0.4 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,272 reviews
12.3 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

Property: Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#15 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Splash Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunscape Splash Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing