We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for Families and Kids....Not so great for adult relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This is a 3 star hotel, not a 4 or a 5 star.

To start with we spent approximately 40 minutes in lineup at the front desk to get checked in. While there were 5 or 6 stations, there were only 3 people working the desk, none of them friendly.
Generally the food was good, not excellent, but good. Surprisingly for Jamaica, very few fruits available.
If you want to take kids somewhere other than Disneyland for a much cheaper price, this hotel is a good spot. The waterpark, entertainment, etc. is geared for kids in many cases.
On the other hand, if you are adult looking for some peace and relaxation this may not be the place. While we were there, there were always hundreds of kids running around, very noisy, very busy. At meal times they basically took over the buffet, which is basically all there is for food without reservations.
There is no room service of any kind. Because your drinks are inclusive, they are free, but the hotel has obviously instructed the bartenders to pour as little alcohol in a glass as possible. And while there are bars reasonably close to the main pools, you will walk, in some cases five minutes to get to any bar on the beach (and you will have to walk back again soon because the drinks are so small).
The rooms are somewhat outdated, but reasonably clean. While the folks who cleaned the rooms were friendly, many of the bartenders and front reception desk were not. We spent last vacation at Couples in Ocho Rios, Jamaica.....this doesn't even compare.

Bottom line.....if you have kids (or don't mind lots of them) this hotel is a good deal for the price. If you are looking for some peace and relaxation, find an adult only resort.
This hotel is a 3 star, no more.
The strong points: Close to airport. Food is decent. Great for kids.
The weak points: Unfriendly staff. No room service. Bars on or near beach not convenient. Drinks are meagre. Noisy kids environment.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobnjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,687)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,721 - 4,727 of 6,687 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2010

wow I have only good things to say about this resort. It was amazing. Very clean rooms the place it self was clean there was always ppl cleaning the pools the beach.. The food was awesome my boyfriend and I ate like kings. The food is the best the buffet morning. lunch and supper was great always different things everyday. The Italian a la carte was so good we ate there twice :-). Tip them and they will make place for you another night. At the buffet at night we had the best waiters.. My hat goes out to all the workers at the resort they are awesome. Go sit in Kevin the waiteres section for supper in the buffet he is great wow.. and also in that section you have the other kevin who brings you water and coffee.. We called them the K brothers. They made my stay at this resort so pleasant.

Even if its considered a family resort my boyfriend and I had peacefull time. There are many places here to relax 4 beaches 2 pool and the water park.. However, we did enjoy the water park it was so cool.. and keep in mind we are 25 yrs old and felt just like the young kids in here..

In the rooms you will notice there is no fridge which to me was a lil weird but we asked and we received. If you really need or want a fridge ask the maids or reception and they will bring you one.

The poeple were so friendly in and out of the resort. We went shopping one afternoon and it was awesome. You should check out Margarita ville it was really nice.

All in all this hotel was great and i would 100% go back...

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

I stayed at Sunset Beach for 7 days during the week of March 13, 2010 with my family. I will start by saying that this is a family resort and is great if you are travelling with children. Upon our arrival at the resort, we were greeted by a very friendly staff member(didn't get her name) and she had cold drinks for us. The front desk staff were very helpful and provided much information when we checked in. We were assisted to our room and were made to feel very welcome. We did not stay in the towers, our room was located at the Beach Inn, which is a two-story building located directly on the beach. The balcony of the room overlooks the ocean and your exit door overlooks the water park for kids. This resort offers lots of activities for families and their children. The water park is very fun. It has two water slides and a lazy river, life guards on duty and nice music to add to the fun atmosphere. The main pool, which is located just off of the water park, was where the water vollyball took place. This is also where the fun games were played and they also provided lively music there as well. The two swim-up bars were a little more quiet where you could sit on a stool and relax with a drink. There always seemed to be plenty of lounge chairs around the pools and there was never a problem to get one. The beach was ok, it was rocky with seaweed in places. If this bothers you then you should wear water shoes. We did not snorkel but were heard from other guests that the snorkeling was great with lots of fish to be seen. The beach also had huts but it was a little more difficult to get one of these unless you were up early and secured a chair with your towel. Just to mention the towels, there were times when they ran out of dry towels and you had to wait for a bit to get one. On two occasions, we returned to our lounge chairs to find our towels missing. You have to be careful with this because if you don't turn in your towel cards at the end of your vacation, you have to pay. My family thought that the food was great. The buffet always had something different to offer and we were pleased with the selection. We made one restaurant reservation at the Italian Restaurant and we enjoyed that very much as well. We found the staff to be friendly and were always available if you needed something. The rooms were a little dated and could use some renovations but they were always clean and always had fresh towels and linens. The housekeeping staff was great. There wasn't a great variety with the nightly entertainment but it was enjoyable. We didn't take advantage of the kid's club but we heard nothing but great things about the staff and activities for the children there. We went on two tours outside of the resort. A must see is the Rose Hall Great House, located in Montego Bay, not far from the resort. It is said to be haunted and has a great history. We also took a day trip to Negril to visit Rick's Cafe and see the Cliff Divers. It is a two hour drive from the resort but well worth it. The weather was fantastic during our stay, we couldn't have asked for better. Overall, we enjoyed our vacation and a great time was had by all!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mamaofaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

My first review ever! Just came back from an 8 day stay @ Sunset. We had a group of 3 children + 5 adults. For the most part, the place is great, with only minimal complaints - none of which ruined our trip. Wasn't the greatest, was definitely not the worst! First, the beach towels. The resort frequently ran out of beach towels so we had to hold onto our wet ones for the next day. Second, our maid who saw our family of 4 coming in and out of the room insisted on leaving A bath towel, or perhaps A Bath Towel + A washcloth so we had to call almost every day for bath towels and washcloths for our family. No big deal but became a little irritating after day 3 or 4 of this. Plus, cups were not replaced after use but again, no big deal. We were disappointed that there weren't refrigerators in the rooms. The rooms in Tower B are quite dated, but clean and they serve their purpose. The beaches were very nice and for the most part the staff there is GREAT and FRIENDLY (Especially Chris the snow cone guy, Dionne at the bar and Damian the lfeguard! First class - wonderful people! Yeh Mon!!!) The buffet became very mundane though they did change it daily - we all found something to eat everyday. We weren't able to get reservations to any of the ala carte restaurants so we basically lived @ the buffet or the grill. Kids had a great time in all of the pools and on the beach. Jerk chicken was great! Didn't hear much reggae music and the evening entertainment could definitely be amped up a bit (lounge music). All in all, not a bad place for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachlover1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We arrived at Sunset on March 25th for a 7 day vacation. We were greeted with a nice cool towel and fruit punch! Our main reason for this trip was to celebrate my parents 30th Wedding Anniversay. There was 7 adults and my son who is 8. After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor I could not wait to get here and meet the bartender Craig, his face was the first i saw smiling in the Lobby bar. My sister loved him, as she had to do some work while on vacation. He always had her drink of choice ready, made and would even walk it over to her. My favorite was Garica at the pool bar and his sidekick Miss Jacquline! Ask him for a Blue Hawaiian!! Best drink! The hotel rooms are as stated in many a little dated, but how much time do you actually spend in them? The grounds are fab!! Club Mongoose was really nice for my son, they had PS & Xbox competitions, along with basketball and tennis lessons. Best thing is only a parent or family member can sign them out, they can not just leave on their own with a stranger! He loved the girls that did all the activities! Waterslides are awesome. They have speed competitions on them! Also you will see guys walking around with cameras, Patrick is awesome! He got many good shots of my son and my family right at sunset! Overall this place is really good for the money. The buffet has alot of different choices, the Asian restuarant is really good, but the best is the Italian!! Presentation is what this resort is all about!! Drinks are not watered down like some other all-inclusives, they are strong and plentiful!! To everyone at Sunset Beach Resort, I give 2 thumbs up for a job very well done!! My parents loved their anniversary and my family had a really great time!! We are planning on going back for Christmas of 2011!! If anyone has questions just contact me!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrettyinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Excellent Service, Great Food and a great waterpark! Staff is incredibly nice

Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
Thank GwendolynB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

What a wonderful vacation! Huge facility with a spot for everyone. Even though the hotel was running at near full capacity, we never felt crowded. 4 different pools to choose from,big hot tub overlooking the ocean, lots of beach space. food was great, lots of selection, different choices each day. in house crafters market on 2 of the days we were there, shopping comes to you, there was really no reason to leave the resort. except to climb Dunn's river falls!

tennis, ping pong, giant chess and checkers board, basketball hoops, swings, ice cream machine, burger bar, free drinks, mini golf, amazing fish to see while snorkeling or even sometimes right at the shore. bring your own snorkel gear

property was clean, beach raked each morning. It could use some paint, although now looking at the pictures on this website, a lot of upgrades have been done already - new furniture and flooring in the main lobby.

be sure to ask for non-smoking floor if you want one, as they do have smoking floors

15 min cab ride from airport, get your bags and get right to the beach. It was neat to sit on the beach and watch non-stop planes coming in to land. You couldn't hear them, just watch them descend - ready to drop off some more lucky travellers.

If travelling with kids, be sure to pack some beach toys, they are extremely expensive to buy there. As is sunscreen ($ 20 US for a bottle) - bring lots of your own in a higher spf than you are used too! The sun is hot there, it caught us off guard and left a few nasty burnt shoulders

the sunset was amazing, but due to some cloud it was not visible every night, so take pictures when you see it!

The kids had a blast, we relaxed and got a tan - what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4happytravellers2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
#12 of 63 in Montego Bay
1,344 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
Hotel Riu Montego Bay
#1 of 1 in Ironshore
6,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Splash Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Splash Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £154 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Splash Montego Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consists of two 10-story Sunrise and Sunset Towers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travelbag, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunscape Splash Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Resort Jamaica
Sunset Beach Jamaica
Sunset Beach Montego Bay
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Montego Bay
Beach Resort Sunset
Sunset Beach Resort And Spa Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Montego Bay Jamaica
Sunset Beach Resort Spa Jamaica
Montego Bay Sunset Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing