We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“20th Anniversary.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
reminderville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“20th Anniversary.”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

This was our first time to Jamaica and our first time at an all inclusive resort. We had the best time of our lives there, the employees made sure that we were very well taken cared of. The resort was very beautiful, the grounds were kept very clean on a daily basis and all of the pools were clean as well. Our room was nice, we had a jetted tub (although very loud) it was nice to have. The food was fantastic at every restaurant and Room service was always on time and served hot, even came to the pool to serve us our food. The evenings were always full of activities and lots of food and rum, the playmakers always had some sort of entertainment, whether it'd be a band, comedians, dancing, or just hanging out with the crew, they just made sure that it was fun. What we liked also was that security was visible but not scary or threatening, and we felt save anywhere in the resort at all times. Im giving a shout out to my two girls there, Valecia and Sky, they were awesome and hope to see you soon..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MColon1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,517
    1,070
    354
    195
    136
See reviews for
170
4,196
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

I've been to all inclusive resorts since i was 14yrs old but this was the first time i've stayed at Sandals and my first time to Jamaica. i went with a friend, both of us in our late 20s. my friend planned the trip as a surprise to me so i cannot say how the price was or is we got what we paid for. we stayed 5 days, enough to get a feel for the resort. we enjoyed the Sandals lounge at the airport even though the food was gone and not replenished by the time we got there. we didnt have to wait long for the next shuttle and when we arrived to the Royal Caribbean resort, we were escorted to our room within 8mins after being offered drinks. we had no problems with our room except i really wanted seperate beds but i guess that is too much to ask for at a resort who is only interested in couples vacationing. other then that, the room was clean, a good size, well stocked and replenished daily, and had a great balcony. granted it rained the entire first day and slightly on and off the rest of the week we throuoghly enjoyed our stay. we dined at the Pavilion and lOVED the coconut bread pudding. we enjoyed trying thai food and the ambiance at the private island even though the boat was 15mins behind schedule. we dined every morning at the breakfast buffet, eating ours in the shade outside. we also tried the Regency. i agree with others, the food was not up to the standards i expected from inclusive resorts but i didnt let that spoil my appitite. the pools were nice and well placed around the resort so that if one was too crowded i could easily go to another. we stayed up late every night to experience the nightly entertainment. we enjoyed an all white party, jamaican dancing, steel drum band, a talent show that included both staff and other vacationers, karaokee (which was funny with so many drunk couples), chocolate bar with a chocolate covered dancer, dance troupe performances, cooking lessons, checkers, billards, chess tournaments, etc. every day they set up a bullentin of events so we could pick and choose what we wanted to do and be ready for that night which was nice planning. we had the opportunity to take the shuttle to nearby Sandals Montego Bay and it was gorgeous. lots of open space, a beautiful deck/lounge with the view of the ocean, and a great stage for entertainment. we also took place in the water sports which were fun as always. it gaves us a chance to look at the nearby resort from the water since they are all next to each other.
i had a few problems with Sandals... some personal. i was very unhappy with the beaches!! if you love the beach like i love the beach this is NOT your resort. there practically is NO beach it's so small. and the sand is hard, rocky and not pretty, as advertised. this is def a resort for older couples. LoL nothing wrong with that though. because of that the resort was def peaceful and had an excellent relaxed stress free vibe which i enjoyed after long year of stressful work. but people def looked at us different because we were so young and.... not what they expected to see i guess. which leads me to my next (personal) problem. Apparently we were staying at Sandals around the same time the Company shoots its pictures for their brochure booklet... the Company "people" looked at us like we didnt belong at Sandals and made me feel very uncomfortable about being at the resort. (people can say or think what they want but me feeling uncomfortable is me feeling uncomfortable!) but because of the day long shoot, some areas of the resort were off limit for long periods of time.
Now on to the things i did like.... THE STAFF!!!! i truly enjoyed myself because of the wonderful ENT Staff at this resort. from our friendly always willing to accomadate house cleaning staff to the waiters at the restaurants who went above to make sure we got the food we wanted and enjoyed it to the entertainment. i have to THANK 2 staff members in particular for their wonderful personalities, fun, out going spirits and everything else!! SUNNY & THEODORE ARE BEYOND AMAZING!! to be honest i think they are the real reason why i enjoyed my trip soooo much. if not for them i probably would have noticed all the things wrong with my trip. but they were awesome to watch in the shows, they were fun be around, they are constantly smiling and checking to make sure you are having the best time possible. their spirits are unlike many others in the hospitality field. they love what they do and they make you feel that! i would honestly go back again just to see them!! the entire ENT crew were great. THANK YOU SUNNY & THEODORE, you two are a blessing to your service ~ Deborah.K

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debolatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

We visited Sandals Royal Caribbean for a well earned chill-out vacation. We are 55+, frequent travelers, but relatively new to all-inclusive (this was our second) and first time to a Sandals. Extensive study of Trip Advisor reviews led us to Royal Carib and to butler service.
Overall, our week was a mission accomplished. Airport transfer was easy after a short wait at the Sandals lounge, but be prepared for long lines at Immigration. The resort grounds are beautiful with mature landscaping, check in was smooth and our waterfront room was as advertised.
Our butler, Jason, was a real plus to the entire experience. He and his partner, Kahlil, were ready and willing to fulfill our requests all week. Honestly, we probably did not maximize the 'butler experience' as it takes some getting used to. However, the reserved beach lounges, the cooler full of cold beers and water, the daily special drinks on the beach, a birthday lunch at the beach, dinner reservations daily, etc. were all professionally handled. We also were very pleased with all of the staff as they were consistently friendly and caring.
As other reviews have noted this is not the best beach location. Water is basically still as it is in a protected cove. Pools were a fine option and sunbathing was excellent. Service at the beach and pools was frequent and adequate. We did not use the water sports options, but they seemed available and well staffed. A water shuttle to the nearby island for the Thai restaurant, clothing optional beach and additional lounges ran frequently. Issues that others have noted with the nearby airport and noise were only a minor issue for us. Importantly, the couples only nature of this resort makes for a very casual atmosphere. It is both easy to be private and to mingle with others, most of whom were 40+. The resort is moderately sized at about 200 rooms and is easy to navigate.
We took a day trip to Sandals Negril and watched the divers and the sunset at Rick's Cafe. The taxi ride in a minivan was a taxing experience. Nearly 2 hours over tough roads each way and a $160 bill made it questionable for us. The Negril property is larger, has a long beachfront, draws a bit younger couples crowd, and seemed newer with nice dining options. Rick's is touristy, but a cool atmosphere that we found worth it as we wished it was closer to our resort.
Our negatives with Royal Carib were with the food options and the evening entertainment. We are not very particular about food, but expected more from Sandals and the price we paid. When the buffet is the best at an all inclusive, it takes the shine off the 'reservations required' places. Service was good, but when white gloved waiters have obviously stained and soiled gloves on it definitely hurts the mood. The Thai restaurant rolled out a new menu during our visit, and it will need some work. The French restaurant is a nice garden setting, but food was average and moving the serving into a conference room on a wet evening was really a mood killer. Must be a better option. And we missed the Pavillion option since it was closed without explanation. Room service breakfast was helped greatly by the balcony it was served on; otherwise, it was frequently late and lacked freshness.
The evening entertainment was very questionable. Jamaican dance was featured several times, as were steel drums. A fire eater was interesting, but as the headliner? As compared to our last experience in Cancun, entertainment was also a disappointment at this more expensive resort.
The resort shows some age and some tile repair in the main hallway showed no progress all week. Our shower handle feel off and the water pressure was always low. Thankfully, our AC worked well and we did not have bug or odor issues that other guests complained of during our stay. Housekeeping and other services were fine.
Overall, our vacation at Sandals Royal Carib was good but not great. The staff does a lot to make up from shortcomings. With some more attention and investment, the property has all it needs to be great.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This was our second visit to Sandals. The resort is small and intimate, we had a very good time, The service was to a very high standard, the rooms and the resort as a whole was very clean. The food was well prepared if a little bland,. Altogether a very good holiday spoiled only by some very loud Americans who rented the cabana two from us on the private island, they seemed to find it acceptable to shout at the top of their voices for about an hour towards the end of the afternoon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Nicole Simms was an unbelievable concierge at the Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort. She was amazing! I highly recommend her to anyone planning on springing for the personal concierge service on the private island. It was totally worth it!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Food:room service food cold,very limited menu,breakfast was ok, thi place was the best. Pool area: dirty and moldy cushions,Pool area was swept the day after I complained, pool water visibly dirty with leaves and bugs floating around. Water bar service was excellent. Water sports: husband a certified diver with two other friends who were also certified were told they had to take a refresher course $80.00 before they could dive. I was told the second sail Kat was broken when it really was not. Service was good and Chris was super nice! Snorkeling was awesome. Entertainment: No problem mon! Excellent, enjoyable! Housekeeping: excellent except did not clean our room til 4 pm one day and had to call them to clean. Fridge stocking: terrible, called several days for our fridge to be stocked. Only way to get alcohol in room is to hire a butler, therefore not a true all inclusive.Staff service: some days friendly some days truly not. Front desk way to serious. Ricky was always friendly...great smile. Spilled a sticky drink on my clothes and asked for a wet washcloth to wipe myself and told by staff we don't have wet wipes. Staff does not go out of their way to accommodate. Trip to town: felt harrassed by locals to buy. Very pushy!!! Tipping: sandals shuttle bus at the airport, we were told by greeter ..customary to tip before we even got in the bus to sit, incredibly rude to ask for tip even though we always tip. Bad representation of sandals. We had travelled 24 hrs to finally get there. Greeted with a smile and a cold drink would have been a good start. The resort is poorly maintained and run down condition, very dated with paint peeling and rooms. Our first trip to Jamaica and sandals resort.... We love to vacation and have been to varied designations in the world and know what top notch resorts are...truly disappointed and would be very hesitant to try any sandals resort again but know for certain will not return to jamaica. The moores

Room Tip: Nothing to offer! Did not use spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRICS, Manager at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Warm greetings from Sandals Resorts International! You are very important to us and we welcome the opportunity to speak with you. Please e-mail us at (customerservice@sandals.com). We look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

This was my first stay at a Sandals and I may have to say Im a little disappointed. Let me first start out by saying that the transfers to and from the resort to the airport are NOT operated by Sandals it is a different company. The transfer is included in the price, but not operated by Sandals. I was traveling with 3 other people and were only there for a short stay so all we had was carry-on luggage, which they insisted on taking for us. We gave them our luggage and was quickly taken out to the van where we were told they "need" a tip. We tipped them a couple bucks and boarded the bus. We waited for about 20 minutes and another couple was brought out and once again that couple was told that they should give a tip. When the couple was trying to get on the bus and not reaching for money to give the man for a tip he then stood in they couples way, blocking the entrance to the bus until he was paid. Less then classy!

Once we were at the Resort we were greeted by a very nice gentleman and given a wet cloth to "freshen" up with. Neither of our rooms were ready so we grabbed some lunch and went back to check in. My husband and I were taken to our room and spent about an hour and a half there unpacking and went to find our friends. To our shock they were still in the lobby waiting for a room, Much past the check-in time.

The grounds themselve are very nice and relaxing. Our room was clean and very well taken care of and the bed was comfortable. Every afternoon we were in Jamaica it rained! This is where the "Average" review comes into play. We couldnt find anything to do besides play board games. There is very little space available or open that is covered in the afternoon. The first afternoon it was like going through Hell to get a drink. The first bar told us they were closed and directed us to the Pub. Once inside the Pub we were told they were closed and coldnt serve us. When I asked where to get a drink no one seemed able to assist us. Needless to say the only bars open in the afternoon are the Pool Bar (which you have to walk in the rain to get too) and the Mariner. Once again there is VERY limited space to sit under a roof.

The staff was split about 50/50. Half were very nice and pleasant and half were rude as heck and acted as if we were bothering them to get a beer or ask a simple question. I read a lot people mentioning the airplanes flying overhead all day and night, this wasnt an issue with us. We only noticed them during the daytime and it wasnt an issue. All in all I think my next vacation will be at a Spa Palace!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank unchie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,282 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,228 reviews
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing