We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“welcome home”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

we traveled to sandals royal caribbean on oct 27th thru nov3rd. as always it was the very best of everything. from the time we got to the sandals lounge until we left the resort we were treated like royalty. we cannot say enough good things about this place. the mood of The Royal is so relaxing and soothing. just what a person needs to relax and get away for awhile. every meal was fantastic! we can't say enough about the staff. they really go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of in every way. this place is wonderful. i don't understand some of the negative reviews about the royal. i suspect some people would find something to complain about no matter were they went. we love this place and can't wait to return. we have been treated very well by sandals. we really do feel like we are home. the grounds are perfect, not one blade of grass out of place. the food is great, the service is beyond belief. the staff are very caring. can't find anything to complain about except having to leave. the day we left the royal there were two crybabies there, it was us! we look very forward to returning. forget about the negative reviews and book at vacation here, you will love it.

Room Tip: every room is nice. beachfront is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank woodcutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
We're so delighted to read that you had such an amazing experience with us at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We always want our guests to feel relaxed and worry-free in a comfortable, luxurious environment. I am happy that we were able to achieve that goal during your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We can't wait to welcome you back in the future.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,556
    1,083
    356
    196
    137
See reviews for
174
4,244
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisonburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was the 4th Sandals my husband and I have been to and hands down the Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort has the best food and service. We probably wouldn't have selected this resort due to its proximity to the airport and the size but our friends decided to get married there and we had an absolutely great time.

We stayed in the Arundel building on the 2nd floor with our room overlooking some gardens and a small pool. The room was small and could use updating however it was clean and a great location. The bride and groom stayed in the Kensington building on the 2nd floor with their room overlooking a pool and the ocean. Their room was recently renovated and was a great size and beautifully decorated. If you want a nice room and don't mind spending some extra money, I would highly recommend this room.

This resort was definitely smaller than the other Sandals we have stayed at (Whitehouse, La Toc and Royal Bahamian) with small pools and a small main beach however they make up for it with their incredible service, food and private island. The playmakers are awesome at keeping you entertained during the day at the main pool. Playmakers, Chico and Norda were my favorite. Always remembering my name and making hanging out at the main pool a ton of fun. If you like to dance, let Norda teach you some Jamaician dance steps at the white party.

All the food was some of the best we have had at any Sandals (all the resorts have good food though). Our favorite restaurant was the Royal Thai located on the private island. The food was amazing and the service was impeccable. If you want some awesome jerk chicken, go see Lavalo late night at Mariners. He has his own jerk sauce that is unbelievable plus his big smile and great attitude will lighten up your night. At the main pool bar, Kirkland and Andre are great bartenders. I recommend asking for Kirkland's special frozen drink, the Sting Ray or Andre's refreshing mojito. They are delicious! Last but not least, server Tracy-Ann gave the best service of anyone on the resort. She always had the biggest smile on her face and always wanted to ensure you were having a good time. Where ever we saw her on the resort, she would be smiling and would briefly stop to say hi to us. She even delivered drinks to us when we were in the ocean.

We were invited to the Sandals Rewards dinner and were so impressed with it. They introduced all the managers and the general manager, passed out awards then had an amazing meal for us on the main pool deck. Each table had a manager sitting at it. We were sitting with Okley, manager of Guest Relations. He clearily represents the attitude that is carried throughout the resort. This dinner put SRC above and beyond any other Sandals we had been to. So if you get invited to this dinner, I highly recommend going to it.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Sandals Royal Caribean in Montego Bay to anyone. Even though it is a smaller property, they do a great job of ensuring you are having a great time and provide the best service of any Sandals resort we have been to. We are planning on checking out other Sandals resort but will definitely be back to visit the SRC. I'm just hoping Chico, Norda, Lavalo, Kirkland, Andre, Okley and most importantly Tracy-Ann are still there!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We stayed at the Sandals Royal Caribbean for our honeymoon in one of the butler level suites. The atmosphere was wonderful! The service was unforgettable....we were never without a drink or a snack or someone asking us if we needed anything, and if we did....they brought it to us! We loved the night time shows that were put on as well as the excursions that are offered at an additional cost. The butler was AMAZING! He was so friendly and considerate and knowledgable and did not mind educating us about Jamaica. He took care of all dinner reservations for us and made sure we had beach chairs reserved by the pool with a cooler full of our favorite beverages. The food was VERY disappointing.... for $5,000+...I want a home made burger...not a frozen patty that is dry as a bone. I want good seafood....the shrimp at the English pub were literally the size of my thumb nail and the scallops...maybe my ring fingernail. They need to bring the food quality up to par....it is really unacceptable.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the butler suite...you will not regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheermom1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

My group stayed at the Sandals Royal Caribbean and I was not that impressed. I expected real Lux for our honeymoon suites and what we paid, but he rooms were just average. The food was not great, "really...no seafood on an island? Water to the rooms was shut off for hours, 2 days in a row and the guests were not told until late, when it was time to shower and get ready for night activities. The food tasted pre-cooked and the choices were not good. We just felt it was a big let down for our first time here. My husband, our friends from England and I agree, we won't be visiting Sandals again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carolyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogema, MN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sandals Royal Caribbean from 10/16/2012-10/23/2012. From the second we arrived at Sandals Royal Caribbean we were spoiled until the time that we left. We cannot say enough good things about this facility and the amazing staff. We never had to worry about anything while we were there, there was always a staff person ready to assist to make sure we were having the best time that was possible. We spent the majority of our time on the private island where bartender Owen made sure we had amazing drinks in our hand the entire time. I also have to give a shout out to the cook Ricardo who made me a week's worth of delicious omelets every morning when we'd come down for breakfast! The beaches and common areas are beautiful and inviting, there was always a spot to relax and enjoy the breathtaking Caribbean sea.

We felt very comfortable and welcome. We will be back to Sandals Royal Caribbean!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jesica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you so much for your excellent review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're glad you enjoyed the delicious food and our beautiful resort and we're more excited to read that Tamara, Owen, Ricardo and our entire staff were able to make your stay so wonderful! They will be so encouraged to hear of your kind mention.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing experience in the near future!


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We got to the hotel and had to wait about 3 hours for the room even though we booked it 5 months ago. The room was not what we were expecting. It was nice, but we were supposed to be oceanfront and we were stuck in a corner with a huge palm tree blocking out view of the ocean which was about 200 feet away. The building we were in was being renovated so we were stuck hearing banging and working on the rooms all different hours. Also, we could not enjoy the balcony due to the strong paint smell, so no fresh air in the room. We had booked a few activities beforehand and they could not find our reservations. They finally figured it out,but it was a little intimidating knowing that things can get that easily screwed up without us having communication with our u.s. travel agent. We booked a few extra things when we got there, but we were not properly informed of the certain things we were getting. We asked to do a waterfall activity where we could swim and relax all day. It was a 5 hour drive and we only had 1 1/2 hours to hang out after being gone the entire day. We were not told of the travel time. We booked a catamaran tour and were told by another group that it was a "booze cruise" on their experience and people were practically stripping and doing body shots with each other. This was our honeymoon and not the kind of thing that should be suggested. They would not less us cancel so we had to rearrange our whole week to re-book for a different tour. The pictures do not show the true hotel scenery. There is NO beach! I wanted warm and tropical and fun. Swimming, surfing, body boarding, etc. The area is more of a tidal pool. No waves at all and you are only allowed to swim out about 15 feet before you hit the ropes. Its about shoulder level in the deepest area so you really can't swim. ALL of the alcohol was watered down bad! I ordered an ameretto on the rocks and it was clear and tasted horrible. We are not drinkers and we could order 15 drinks in 2 hours and felt nothing. The food was good, the spa service was great, and the people were friendly, but for our one and only honeymoon and the thousands spent on it, overall it was not what we had hoped. We spent more time getting our schedule and room organized than we had enjoying the atmosphere. For a relaxed romantic time, I would not recommend this resort. It is disappointing when people ask how our honeymoon was and I star with..."eh. Well.....".

Room Tip: The rooms vary tremendously by level so make sure you look at them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Candi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
We're glad that you were able to enjoy our delicious food, relaxing spa and the genuine hospitality of our staff. However, we regret to hear that we were unable to meet all of your expectations. Because of that, please accept my apologies. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Thank you for your feedback.


Sincerely,
Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Just a quick word, if you havent done so make sure you get a reservation at Le Jardinier (probably not spelled correctly). The food perfect and the staff went above and beyond what you would expect. Lionel was on point with everything. We couldnt have asked for a better meal and great experience.

We are still here and plan to never leave.... likely to right another message before returning to reality.

M+T

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Sandals & Beaches Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
We're so glad to hear from you while on-resort! Looks like you are really enjoying you vacation with us at Sandals Royal Caribbean and we thank you for the review/update. While on resort if there is anything that does not meet your expectations please let us know. We always want our guests to be 100% satisfied with the choice to spend their time with us.

We wish you didn't have to leave but of course we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!


Enjoy the rest of your stay!


Cassie C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
53.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#2 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,258 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,313 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 35 in Ocho Rios
2,504 reviews
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing