We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High Praise”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Rushell server at Regency Suites was great. Charlton at water sports was so friendly, as well as Kermit for entertaining each day. Corey the bar-tender, Francinea at Mariner Grill, Jessica at LeJardinier Salvatore was so nice and lastly Oakley at customer service was great.Great food, service and a friendly welcoming staff were outstanding.

Room Tip: our room was directly off beach. We did not mind the nightly entertainment. If you want a quieter ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so happy to read that you had such an amazing stay with us. We always strive to go above and beyond to please our guests and I'm glad we were able to meet that goal during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for an even better experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,517
    1,070
    354
    195
    136
See reviews for
170
4,196
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We went here back in 1997 for our honeymoon, but it was absolutely amazing already at that time! Great food! Loved the island restraunt with the flaming desserts! Rooms clean, beach and pools beautiful! Staff was always friendly! definitely recommend!

Room Tip: make sure you go eat on the island!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cari A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so happy to read that you had such an outstanding vacation with us. We strive to offer memorable experiences for Two People in Love and I'm so glad that we were able to make your stay an incredible one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an experience that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

St. Lucia is much nicer than this one, just based on the sprawling property alone. However, for what you pay for... this place is incredible! Be ready for banquet prepared food and drinks. Other than that, we loved this Sandals!! Ask for an upgrade if you've been to a Sandals before and they usually oblige :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation with us. We always want to ensure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff at Sandals Royal Caribbean did just that!

We would be more than happy to welcome you back to paradise in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We returned from our stay at SRC about a month ago so I am a little late with my review. Part of the problem was trying to figure out what to say. After wrestling with that for awhile I decided to say not much.

It was our 7th trip to Sandals, but our first to SRC in 8 years. The resort has had a lot of physical changes in that time, but one thing remained constant: The OUTSTANDING service. I will let everybody else expound on the virtues and the food and the drinks and everything else. We wanted to try other Sandals and always enjoyed the other locations. However, this will always be our "home".

If you want an intimate resort with excellent service this is it. I know you will also see negative reviews, but some people whine about the least little thing. Go here and have fun. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1fatrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review of Sandals Royal Caribbean! I'm glad you had such a fantastic holiday and that we were able to share that experience with you. We always strive for excellence and we're thrilled to see that your stay was nothing short of stellar.

We can't wait to have you visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Overall loved this vaca. Stayed over new year’s with my wife and another couple. The resort was at capacity. My wife and I were Sandals and Jamaica first-timers. Somewhat small/compact resort but well-designed, good use of space & never felt crowded. Nice that you’re never far from your room.

Food/Water
Good quality and variety of food. There are nine different places that serve food, including five that serve dinner, and two where you can/should make dinner reservations. We booked a couple days in advance and don’t mind eating later, and were able to get reservations. Food safety – I had minor issues on the last day but no one else was affected. We drank tap water all week with no issues.

Staff
Outstanding. Very friendly, professional, service-minded, knowledgeable and helpful. Love the Jamaica ‘tude. A+

Room
We booked the least expensive room and I was a little disappointed. Basic & dated décor. Given how little time we spent in the room, it was no big deal. Couldn’t get hot water the first day; once we called the front desk it was promptly resolved. Big comfortable bed. When we arrived the fridge was stocked w/juice, pop & beer – nice touch. Cable TV with lots of US/Canada channels. Good AC. Our friends checked into their room to find the AC was not working and the roof was leaking. They were quickly re-located and had no issues with their new room.

Activities
Dive shop: Separate boats daily for scuba & snorkel. Availability was no problem (book it a day in advance). Scuba – nice big boats. Got certified & dove for first time, my instructor (Diesel) was excellent, professional. Other water sports available but didn’t take part. New Years Eve: impressive party, good music/dancing, staff was very festive. In general, lively at night.

Bars – never had to go far for a drink. Good staff.

Pools
There was some "poolside entertainment" (i.e, staff member w/microphone) at main pool a couple times a day. Got a bit annoying if you’re trying to relax & read a book. However there are other “quiet” pools at the resort. Swim up bar at main pool and at island pool. Island pool is quite small but cool setting.

Beach
We did the island a few days – there are 2 very small beaches there. The island itself is small but they make good use of the space. The resort & island are on a calm bay with turquoise water. A shuttle boat runs frequently so even on the island you’re never “far” from your room.

Other
Nice airport Sandals lounge w/beer tap. Only had to wait 10 mins for a shuttle. Then 10-15 mins to the resort including one stop. Be prepared to tip the red hats (they are not sandals employees). The day we left there was an airport shuttle every 30 mins. Proximity to airport is very nice, although you do have a fair number of loud airplanes overhead during the day. A non-issue in my book, kind of a spectacle. Very few planes at night & didn't hear any overnight. Happy we were not at the Sandals located on airport perimeter. Internet – had to use their tech support line one day, they fixed me right away. Otherwise all good & speed was fine. Bugs – apparently there were some tiny biters and a few mosquitos flying around. Got my wife but never bothered me.
Overall great experience; of 6 caribbean trips this has been my fave.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank mdr838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great resort..very clean property and fantastic rooms. The service is exceptional by all of the staff. We had the butler service and both our butlers were very helpfull but not obtrusive. The restaurants were all outside which is fantastic with good food. There were 5 different pools with a very clean beach. We found the pools to be small but they are in keeping with the size of the resort which has 180 rooms. If the main pool had a water volleyball game going on, there was no room for other people to swim. There was only one swim up bar but the other pools had good service for drinks,The beach was also small but again in keeping with the size of the resort. We did not have to get up early to get chairs around the pools or the beach. Our experience was very good. We love larger resorts but would not hesitate to return to this resort. They look after little things such us having 2 Canadian satilite stations for uis Canadians. The Sandals lounge at the airport is also very nice with fast and great transportation from the airport. There was nothing negative about this resort except that we perfer a little larger resort..more people.

Room Tip: we had the swim up/butler suites...very very nice..quiet and right beside a nice pool with lush gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

My fiance and I went here to ring in 2014! We definitely had a very enjoyable experience. I was nervous about how our room would be after reading reviews on here but I found it to be very nice. We stayed in a crystal lagoon with butler room. However, I would say we found the temperature in the room to never go below 76 degrees despite leaving the AC on 60 at all times. Keep this in mind if a warm room would bother you. We found the food at the Thai restaurant and French restaurant to be very good. Other food at the regency we thought was just average. They constantly serve you snacks and bring you drinks. I would not recommend this resort for someone trying to stick to a diet. Also if you do not drink alcohol at all or are uncomfortable around a lot of drinking this is not the resort for you. They constantly bring you alcohol all day long. I found it often harder to get diet coke than alcohol. Overall though we enjoyed our stay and found it a great choice for a couple looking to enjoy sun and fun in January!! One other tip is to bring bug spray! We are used to this as generally the norm for all Caribbean islands but definitely do not leave home without bug spray!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,282 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing