We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We went here for our honeymoon October 14-19, 2013 and had an amazing time! LOVED all the people that worked there, our room had an ocean view and was immaculate, the food was AMAZING, and the island was a definite plus! Can't wait to come back! Also, thanks to Michael McHugh from Dream Makers Vacation Services for setting the whole thing up for us :)

Our room was in the Kensington area and it was definitely more quiet than the main lobby area but we thought it was perfect as we were only in there at night to sleep. We were barely in our room the whole time! The place was that amazing!

HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

Room Tip: We were in the Kensington area and it was definitely more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you so much for your great review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed your beautiful honeymoon at our resort. We always strive to offer romantic and luxurious experiences to our guests and I'm thrilled that your stay was perfect. We look forward to your return in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,447
    1,054
    349
    193
    133
See reviews for
164
4,111
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed here 3/1/14 to 3/8/14- in the walk out beach front butler room. We were witness to 8 weddings that were all great.
My wife and I stayed at the ocean front walk-out room #5107 aka (The porch people). We had such a great time with our fabulous, out of this world friendliest, professional, courteous butlers ORLANDO TRACEY and IAN THORPE, I could ever imagine possible. Mr. Boota, you run a great crew of professionals at your Watersports Marina ! In particular EVERAl. We still talk about the Hobie Cat ride and how he explained everything to us even though she was very afraid and he put her at such ease, but gave us a ride of a life time of fun !! Thanks Everal !! Everal, when we come back you better have that Captains license! (work hard, it will pay off)-Much love !!
Dwight, you run a great top notch crew and it was a pleasure to meet with you.
I HIGHLY recommend this property if you want to meet and gain great friendships and just relax.
My recommendation on a place to stay on the property is the ocean front butler sweet (ask for Orlando & Ian) and seek out Everal, just talk to him he is amazing !!!

Sandals Royal Caribbean; We are coming back if we get (Orlando, Ian, Everal, Boota, Dwight, Mario and House keeper Beverly (aka: Cookie monster, hahahaha),Beverly the nicest lady i ever meet besides my mother.
Sandals Hooked US- We are MOST definitely coming back and want Orlando, Ian, Beverly and Everal to be as professional, courteous, funny and continue to be the be great people they are !!
Much Love !!
-Chris & Rachel (porch people #5107)
Boota, you ROCK !!!

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor walk out beach, butler level. (see above comments)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We're thrilled that you had such an incredible stay at Sandals Royal Caribbean. You enjoyed every minute of your vacation, thanks to our staff and their genuine hospitality. I'm so happy that they were able to make such a good impression during your stay. Thank you for your review!

We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, mn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for a place to sit back and relax this is not it. We had a beachfront room and were right next to the water sports desk, from 7:00 in the morning until 11:00 at night it was loud. We were not aware that the nightly entertainment was right behind us and that the music would go until 11 pm. We read reviews about the airplane noise and weren't too concerned but we should have been. Starting about 10 until 8 planes fly over about every 20- 30 minutes and it is LOUD, you are only 15 minutes from the airport and in the flight path for takeoff.

The second night here our room flooded because of the rain. Props to the employees, they had it cleaned up pretty quickly but it was so bad that they took away our rugs and never brought them back. We were given a $50 room credit and an offer to launder anything that got wet.

If you book your room and get the offer of a free catamaran cruise make sure they don't charge you. They don't check, they just put he charge thru. If you want to go into town to shop just get a taxi, if you book it thru the hotel they charge you $20 per person if there are four people, if there are only two it's double that. No way was I going to pay $80 to drive 10 minutes to shop for 2 hours.

Note - if you need to get cash they do not have a cash machine on the property, will not cash a check or give you money from your Visa. There is a Scotia bank right off the property but be careful because someone might offer to walk you there and then expect money from you. If you need cash, take a taxi, they'll charge you $10 but you will be safe and much cooler.

After all the hype about their private island it was closed twice during our week stay. On the day that we reserved a cabana ($125 for the day) they closed the island at 1:00 to set up for a private party. Unfortunately they didn't tell us that until right before we went to the island. This would not have been quite as big of a deal if I hadn't booked it three days ahead of time and called to confirm the day before and was not informed either time. The other time it was closed all day for a private party although the music was so loud it was if we were there.

This is the first hotel that we've stayed at that didn't have a business office where you could go to print boarding passes, you need to go to the Club Sandals office and they will do it for you.

The people are outstanding and the drinks have plenty of alcohol unfortunately this is not enough for us to ever consider going back and will probably never go to another Sandals because of this experience.

I should note that we've been to Jamaica four times now and never been disappointed until now.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
We're so sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. This is certainly not our standard and we would like to correct the situation and make things right. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to turn this around and offer the luxurious experience for which we are known.

Thank you for your feedback. I look forward to making contact with you regarding this matter very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We visited the Sandals Royal Caribbean during the 1st week of February 2014. This was our 4th stay at a Sandals property another enjoyable vacation for us.

Some of our highlights:

The private island! We enjoyed our time over there at the beach and around the pool. The frozen drinks are the best and lunch at the Bamboo Shack is a must!

The staff are very professional and work hard to make sure that you enjoy your stay. A special thanks to Roderick at Cricketer’s for the awesome bartending, Ricardo for the excellent omelettes, Robyn for the aquasize class and our wonderful housekeeper!

The resort was a short drive from the airport which was a nice change for us. We really enjoyed not having to face a long ride after our flight.

We visited the Montego Bay resort during our stay. They have a beautiful beach and friendly staff. Our stay wasn’t long enough to take in any of their restaurants. We would of liked to have more time to spend here.

We found the water sports at both the Royal Caribbean and Montego Bay resorts to be good and easily accessible. There were quite a few shallow spots for water sports at the Royal Caribbean but we found the staff to be quite helpful and willing to go out with you to give you guidance. We went on the glass bottom boat and decided against the snorkelling as the water was a little rougher than we are comfortable with.

There are plenty of options for meals and the food and service was excellent. We never had to wait for a table at breakfast at the Regency and someone was always there right away with coffee and water. We ate at Eleanor’s, Royal Thai, Regency, Le Jardinier, and the Bamboo Shack and enjoyed every meal. We found it hard to get in to the restaurants that required a reservation so I would recommend making the reservations at the beginning of your stay. This wasn’t a big concern for us except we had hoped to return to the Royal Thai restaurant on the island before we had to leave. We also enjoyed the beach barbeque, white night event and return guest dinner which were all very good. I found this resort to be exceptional in handling my food allergies.

We never had a problem getting a chair on the beach or by the pools.

We took one of the catamaran cruises and would highly recommend this.

The only disappointments we had were:

Our room - this resort was quite full when we were there so we couldn’t get our room changed. We had booked a deluxe room with a garden view. Unfortunately many of these rooms do not have a view of the garden so they can be quite dark. The rooms have been updated with new beds, TV’s and furniture but are not completely renovated. However, the rooms were comfortable, the air conditioning worked well and the housekeeping was exceptional!

Internet Services – you must bring your own personal device to get access to the internet. They only have services for the Club members. The Montego Bay resort has a business centre but it was down the whole time we were there. We found this a little frustrating.

We really enjoyed visiting Jamaica again and our stay at the Sandals Royal Caribbean. We would recommend this resort to our friends and family.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bewblw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. Sounds like the outstanding service provided by our staff made your stay an incredible experience. We appreciate your feedback about your dislikes. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our management team.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

First off, I am writing this review but our stay was actually Jan/Feb. 2011 (won't allow me to select back that far).

My husband and I booked a week, with the lowest room, with a balcony, for our wedding. We were having our small wedding at the resort. Upon arrival, they had upgraded us to a presidential type room with butler and room service! Wow!

An incredible first experiment and impression for us at Sandals. They were also very accommodating to our non Sandals guests that came on the resort for the day of the wedding.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freshie18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
We're thrilled to read that you had a great stay and wedding at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We always want our guests to feel comfortable and enjoy their stay with us. Thank you for your review. We hope to welcome you back very soon! You're long overdue for a wonderful vacation with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Ok, please bear with me this is a long review but things have to be said ;)

A little bit of history about us. We are a married couple, I am 52 and my husband is 38. We have been to three Sandals Resorts – Sandals Royal Plantation, Sandals Whitehouse and Sandals Royal Caribbean and other five star resorts in the Caribbean. We visited with another couple (our friends) and it was there first time to Sandals.
I will not do a major comparison of these resorts but here it is for me in a nutshell.
- SRC – Small, friendly, classy resort with wonderful staff (will elaborate on this later). Nice but very small beach and small pools. The restaurants are mostly open air so that is one thing to consider if visiting in the rainy season. They can accommodate but it doesn’t have the same vibe as outside seating.
- SRP – Very small, not handicap friendly, lots of stairs. Very classy resorts, the best food I had in an all-inclusive resort. The place is charming and because of the small size you interact with other guess more easily. The beach is bigger than the one at SRC and really nice.
- SWH – Big resort, beautiful big pools, nice beach but not clear water lots of pools, one for each village with all different vibes. Lots of shade and lots of privacy at the beach, the chairs is not stack on top of one another. There`s also lots of restaurants. Because it is a bit more isolated, not so practical if you want to visit Jamaica. The food was good but not amazing. I did love the Café de Paris however. Nice touch. We did not connect with staff as much, not sure why? Too big maybe?
Here are our views of the Sandals Royal Caribbean. Our stay was from Feb. 21 to March 3. The weather was awesome. Hot and humid, but most of the time with a good breeze. We did get those Montego Bay clouds at the end of the day but most of the time they were welcome.
The room, we had a butler swim up in the Buckingham building. Nice big room with a nice bathroom with separate shower. Love the full stocked mini bar. It was stocked with our favorites as requested prior to arrival. The fridge worked fine and so did the AC. We also loved the privacy of our balcony. We stayed must of the time at our pool, it was nice and quiet. Did not participate in the activities at the main pool. Too loud for me during the day. We had the most amazing butlers Ellis and Hughill. Sadly Ellis was sick two days after our arrival and we did not get to see him again but, Hughill took extremely good care of us. He is a wonderful gentleman and I can easily see him in management one day. What an awesome personality. He is a wonderful ambassador for Sandals. This is professionalism at its best, seriously. We also would like to thanks Neville our pool keeper for his excellent work. They work hard to make sure you have a wonderful vacation.
The food was good to very good. The Royal Thai on the island was one of my favorite but not the majorities, too spicy for some people but the place looks amazing. The snails at the Jardinier were so good. The breakfast buffet at The Regency was good with a good selection of food. Eleonors set up is very romantic. The burger for lunch from the Mariner, like other reviewers have mentioned, is really good, so is the pizza at Bella Napoli, ohhhhh try the calzone ;). One of our favorite meals was the fish and chip at the Cricketer’s Pub….sooooooooo good and what about the service. Cheryl Anne was the best of the best and she is so sweet. This woman works hard and very long hours.
The entertainment was good but not great however, this is a very small resort so you do have to take this into consideration. It is a common trait of Sandals it seems. Good but not great. However, I have to mention a wonderful young man full of life and energy, Kermit. Kermit, you are great.
The location was awesome, 15 minutes from the airport, YES you do hear the planes but it did not bother us at all. The location allows you to visit some interesting things in Montego Bay and nearby and it is a fast commute to Sandals Montego Bay and Sandals Carlyle, if you want to venture out for diner. We visited two other Sandals. Sandal Montego Bay, not my cup of tea. Too big and noisy and, not very classy. Sandals Negril (we spend the day there) was awesome. Nice small resort with an awesome beach and the staff is also very friendly and courteous.
The island was superb, we rented a cabana for the day $125.00 USD for 9:00 to 5:00 use. The beds were comfy, the service was great, Thanks to Nicole!!!! And the beach, even though was small (the part in front of the cabana) the water was warm and so clear. The bottom was firm and soft. The jerk at the shack was good, I enjoyed the hot sausage but my husband thought he was going to die from the spice..LOL One issue on the island is the lack of shades next to the cabanas. If you do not go to the clothing optional side and want a chair next to the three cabanas you will be in full sun.
The staff, ok here is where this resort is different from all the others…the staff. WOW!!!!! We have met genuine, caring, fun, loving and extremely professional young staff. Kevin (Big Bird), I do not know what else to say about this young man apart from, please stay in touch. Roderick (Hot Rod), we already miss you, and I need to get this rainbow shooters recipe from you at our next visit in August. Kermit, stay the same awesome young man you already are. Don’t let people change you. Neville, always took care of our parasol in order for my husband to stay in the shade. He would always make sure we had our favorite spot around the pool. I know what to bring you at our next visit, but it`s a surprise. Cheryl Anne, you work hard girl, I still believe you hide a bed somewhere either at Cricketers or at The Regency ;). And last but not the least, Hughill. Our friends who accompanied us on this vacation were uncertain about the butler situation…will they be confortable asking for stuff, not sure how they would feel about it? Well you changed their opinions with regards to butler services! They agreed that a butler service allows for a much more relaxed and carefree vacation. We were so happy to have been able to get one of the best butlers of this resort. Because of you our stay went from awesome to wonderful. WE WILL VISIT THIS RESORT AGAIN BECAUSE OF THE STAFF, seriously. They made our vacation so much better.

See you soon guys, and thanks again!

Alex and Simon

Room Tip: If you want a real swim up, you need to be in the Clarence Building. 1B
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Alexandrasks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We're so happy to hear that you enjoyed a splendid vacation at Sandals Royal Caribbean. Our staff goes through countless hours of training to ensure that we are offering the highest level of service to our guests and I'm so glad that your stay was indicative of our efforts. Thank you for your review!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Rain, small, not what we expected. Will never go back.
This resort is small and the rooms are very small. If my honeymoon was here I would pay to fly to Mexico.
No beach. Don't stay here.
I would not come back here an my trip was paid for.
Please believe me. This is 100% my true experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Koesters20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
We regret to hear that we did not meet your expectations for service and quality. We have many guests who feel the direct opposite and return year after year because of the wonderful experiences at our resort. However, as hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process.

Your feedback has been brought to the attention of our General Manager for review and action as needed. We do request that while on resort you notify us of anything that does not meet your standards. We are always willing to work with you to make sure you walk away feeling like your stay was money well spent.

We hope that you will afford us a chance to welcome you back for a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,227 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,176 reviews
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Destinology, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing