We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Relaxing, and Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #5 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2014

A group of us recently went to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort for what we are calling a "Buddymoon". I had never been to Jamaica or to an all-inclusive resort before and it was the best experience! Our travel agent, Lis Zwissler, with Beach Bum Vacation made every step of planning simple. She answered all of our questions, booked any and everything we needed, and made sure to the fullest that we were comfortable and had a great time. There are so many fun things to do and see like snorkeling and a beach party, and so many different restaurants to try. If you want to visit a beautiful place with nice people who want nothing more than to make sure you are relaxed and happy, I highly recommend Sandals Royal Caribbean and Beach Bum Vacation!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad to see that you enjoyed your vacation with us. At Sandals Resorts, we take pride in providing a friendly and relaxing environment for all of our guests. We always want to ensure that all of your needs are met and it seems the staff at Sandals Royal Caribbean did just that!

We would be more than happy to welcome you back to paradise in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,777)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,549 - 2,555 of 5,777 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

In short amazing. Let me start by saying that to pay the extra for a butler is well worth it. We were greeted with an iced bottle of champagne, a beautiful room, a fully stocked bar, free wifi and a tour of the grounds. I can't comment on other butlers but I know that our honeymoon would not be remembered the way it is without Tajae and Denae. Denae was sick for a big part of our ten day stay so the majority of my review is based on Tajae. It was the little things he did that made this amazing. Every day there was a snack waiting for us, reserved chairs at the beach with a cooler, rose petals on our bed with a beautiful design, a drawn bath with another bottle of champagne, filled with rose petals. We didn't ask for any of it and tried to be low maintenance but Tajae and Denae as well took every opportunity available to surprise us, and go above and beyond. The professionalism and luxury that Tajae and Denae displayed are unmatchable. The staff take time out to remember your name and you are more than a room number to them. Adrian who met us at the piano bar on the first day remembered us by name for the rest of the stay, chad who took our pics always chatted us up each time we saw him. Cleave land on the island bar makes the best drink I've tasted (liquid marijuanas) and remembered our preferred drinks whenever we saw him. Lavalo at the restaurant on the island opened the restaurant after it was closed just for us to be able to eat, valentie took us sailing and every day came to talk to us after, cion taught me how to ride the big boat to the island and this doesn't even sum up the kindness of the staff. The room was beautiful, the food amazing and the drinks strong. The grounds were very pretty but again all that wouldn't have mattered if it weren't for the amazing staff they have. I truly hope the management takes time to read these reviews and appreciate their unbelievable staff by paying and treating them fairly. When we left and it was time to say goodbye, we felt as if we were leaving close friends behind. I would not just recommend this resort but hope that when you do go there you are lucky enough to meet Tajae, and the other staff I mentioned in my review. We hope they express our gratitude to everyone, especially Tajae for an unforgettable honeymoon. Thank you again for this amazing memory

Room Tip: crystal lagoon suite was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Persiangal04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

We're so thrilled to read that you had your dream honeymoon with us at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We strive to offer memorable experiences for Two People in Love and I'm so glad that our great staff members were able to make your stay an incredible one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an experience that exceeds your expectations in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I have to start this by saying that I am not a huge fan of all-inclusive spots. I try to avoid them for the most part, but had no choice in the matter this time.

My wife and I traveled with some friends for our 10 year anniversary. We arrived on time, found our shuttle, and were on our way. From the moment we came in contact with Sandals staff we were WOW'd. You could not ask for a better experience.

We were welcomed with drinks upon arrival to the airport, and then our shuttle picked us up and delivered us to paradise in a matter of minutes. Check in was not difficult. We were in our room, had clothes changed, and were on the beach in no time.

Bartenders there were always happy to pour you a drink, and they were the most entertaining.

The one thing that I thought was odd was that only one pool had a swim-up bar. It was tucked way back in the back of the resort and is not convenient to get to. But, once back there, it is pretty fun.

Activities were fun. Beach and sand volleyball on a daily basis. Tried to play the staff and got beat pretty bad. But, it was all fun.

Shows were good as well. I am now a Sandals fan.

Room Tip: Pack a bathing suit in your carry-on luggage. That way you have the ability to change into your bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Started off using Club MoBay - great, quick service in and out. Totally worth the price.

Friendly greeting by the baggage checkers at the Sandals lounge. Then.... nothing. We went inside and weren't even offered water. We had to rummage ourselves for drinks. No food to be had. (The Club MoBay lounge had waitstaff falling all over themselves to help you and offer you refreshments). Not an auspicious start to a Sandals vacation.

Quick transfer over to the resort. We had reserved a Kensington Cove Club Level Honeymoon Beachfront walk out suite? Is that enough adjectives, Sandals? How about simplifying your room categories? Anyway, check in was a bit laborious - the concierge waited until he had three couples together to escort us to our rooms (and we all made restaurant reservations, spa reservations, excursion reservations at that time also - so almost 45 minutes to check us in) Again, not offered refreshments.

Lovely room Glad we upgraded. Safe is an old fashioned lock/key one. Not big enough for a laptop. Wifi worked sporadically. Go kicked off on a regular basis. We found out a few days into our stay that the slider - which we were dutifully locking on the lock side - did not catch on the other door. So the lock caught, but you could easily slide the other side open.

Grounds - wonderful use of landscaping to hide the small scale of the resort. Made it seem much bigger. Groundskeepers hard at work all the time - sweeping and pruning and painting.

Beach - towel game in full force. Butlers out before 7 staking out chairs that often went unused the entire day. Some people are just selfish. Forget about finding a chair after 8 in the Kensington Cove beach or pool. Perhaps if the butlers did not use 3 towels to reserve chairs they would not run out of towels by noon. Comfy loungers at the pools.

Food - very good at all meals. Jerk chicken at Mariners was wonderful. Bartenders were universally good.

Shuttle service to MoBay - dumb idea to have a two hour break during prime dinner time. We ended up taking a taxi back. Good meal at Tokyo Joes.

Snorkeling was mediocre. Went out twice in one day to the same spot. A ray and some juveniles. Healthy coral, though. Water too rough the other days to go out. Tried to snorkel at the island and the current was as close to a rip current as it gets without being one. Maybe just the weather.
Few loungers to be had over there either.

Evening entertainment was a bit tired. The entertainment team worked great during the day and then it just sort of petered out.

Was it a nice resort? Yes. Was service great? Yes. But IMO, not worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dotneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My husband and I booked a week long vacation to Sandals Royal Caribbean in Montego Bay, Jamaica. We booked the trip in January, and went from April 4th through 11th. It was one of the most beautiful and best trips we have ever taken.

We booked a one bedroom swim-up butler suite. If you look at the pictures on their website, that is exactly what you get: an absolutely gorgeous room, with a swim up lagoon right off your patio.

That also goes for the rest of the resort. If you look at the pictures, that is what you get: beautiful waters, beautiful restaurants, great food, and the resort itself, just beautiful as well. The only reason I gave it a 4 out of 5 on drinks is because we drink a lot of craft beer, and all they had at the majority of resort is Red Stripe and Red Stripe Light. However, they do offer Heinekin, Guiness Foreign Draft (not the same as original Guiness!), and New Castle at Cricketers Pub. Our butlers did help remedy this situation by picking up some Dragon Stout for us though!

The resort was smaller than we anticipated, but that ended up being one of the nice things about it. If we needed something from our room, we could run and get it within 5 minutes. You also have the option to try out the 2 other Montego Bay Resorts. We only tried the Sandals Montego Bay (it was nice, but a little crowded and spread out compared to Royal Caribbean). It was even closer than we read - it only took about 5 minutes to get there, and there's a shuttle every hour to head over to that resort.

What really made this trip so special for us was the staff. That is the one thing you cannot get from pictures, you have to experience it for yourself!!! Every staff member, from our butlers, to the service staff, to the entertainment staff, were just above and beyond amazing. In short, they made our trip magical.

So, we want to take this opportunity to thank the people who made our trip SO incredibly special. Thanks to these people, we will, without a doubt, return to Sandals Royal Caribbean. Thank you to Tajae and Danae (our butlers); Roderick and Jagan (bartenders at Cricketers); Big Bird (server/entertainer at Cricketers - I will get that hat trick down by the time we're there next!); Andre (bartender at the piano bar); Kermit, Queenie, Hollywood, Chiko, Storm, and DJ

Room Tip: We stayed in the swim-up one bedroom butler suite. Stay in this room if you want a gorgeous private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Felice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

2nd time at Sandals Royal Caribbean and just as awesome as the first time! Great staff! Great room! Excellent food! Good drinks! The couple with us decided 3 weeks before we left to get married while we were there and it went perfectly! The staff accommodated all our needs and it was beautiful! Perfect weather and can't wait to go back! Sandals does it right every time!!

Room Tip: Grand Luxe Beachfront Walkout is all you need! No need to pay the extra cost for concierge or butler...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

For once, I'm at a loss for words...This was our first trip to SRC, but not our last. I have 3 honorable mentions. Tracy Ann..A true life savor. She was there for us when we needed her the most. Ashelle..I'm still expecting her to round the corner to bring us another drink, even without prompting. Lily for always making us feel welcome to our room and making us towel animals that always put a smile on our faces.

No matter our request, they were granted with a smile and "No problem, Mon!"

The food was amazing no matter what restaurant we chose. The Banana French Toast with Mimosa from the Cricketer's Pub is incredible.

Some suggestions ..take advantage of SnapShots (Kemar). A complimentary photo service, with no pressure sales to purchase any photos. Buy all or none. I suggest a sunset photo shoot. Very professional and romantic.

The Reggae/Booze Cruise is a "boat-load" of fun..no pun intended. It includes snorkeling at Doctor's Cave and a 45 minute stop off at Margaritaville, and of course booze and dancing on the boat. Which by the way is a 65' Catamaran.

If you plan to return, take advantage of "Soon Come Back."

See you next year for Reunion Week!

Room Tip: Arundel is secluded for a more quiet atmosphere. But, not too far away from the activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pinkpetals2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
3 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,750 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,706 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
6.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £340 - £983 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing