We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Super Great!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I've been on 6 Sandals vacations and this one is right up there in my top 2 ( Antigua is the other one), It was cozy enough to meet other people again and again and, even form new friendships. I'm a snorkler ( went every day twice a day) and had a great time with the water sports staff. They were friendly and helpful especially, Evril, Valentine ( underwater photographer extraordinaire),Davion, Chris Ann. Our housekeeper,Carnecia was very sweet. Odane and Claudiana at the Beach Bar were terrific and , of course, "my Mon" Micah the bartender.
A special thanks to Arnold, the Hotel manager ( who will,hopefully, be the General manager soon) for helping us get a $100.00 credit that was our due.
I will definitely be back to this resort!

Room Tip: I would opt for a second story room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,517
    1,070
    354
    195
    136
See reviews for
170
4,196
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We arrive 5th did and not have time to enjoy the Sandles lounge, when we arrive as they took our bag right away and took us to the resort. Not even a ten min drive we were their ...... awesome no time wasted .the resort is small but very lavish with shrubbery and beautiful plants well landscaped. We were in a grand deluxe room. We were disappointed in the room as the bathroom was in need of an up grade and the room was small with no beer in the fridge. On the positive note the view was awesome .Ground level room great view of the beach and private island. Three room to the hot tub and a few steps to the night time bar and grill open till 4 am . The private island. Has a beautiful hot tub and swim up pool. Make sure to ask Owen to make his speciality tipsy island drink. The island offers a very good lunch with lots of variety . If you want to get way and just relax this is where you want to go. Make sure to make your reservations the same day you check in for the jardinier restaurant ,,really good food Lionel the waiter was super nice. Also another restaurant not to missout is the Thai on the island , again reservation required.. ...... Shows were all very good. And the bartenders Courtney and Jagan (brother) at the piano bar will keep you entertained. The evening bar and grill cook ONeil was always welcoming when we showed up for our early morning snack. We also took the opportunity to visit and eat at the Montego bay sandle ....very good thing to take advantage of . Word of advice if you want nice room the swim out are nice and don't let any one fool you ......you do hear the planes take off. But after the first few you really don't take note. First ones at 730 and last at night is at 1130 . Would recommend this to any one just get a better room. This was our third time to Jamaica.first time at this resort. Staff are really nice and friendly. Weather was great. Only rained once at night at midnight and was enjoying the hot tub any way . Would consider doing this resort again.

Room Tip: Chose a swim out or get better than a grand delux
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise-Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood Ranch, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Staff: Service and staff were great all around. Especially helpful and friendly were Oakley, Matthew, Francina, and Jodian.
Grounds: very attractive, nice landscaping, well kept.
Room: For a club level room I thought it would be nicer. It was good size with a very nice bathroom, but not the view I was expecting for beachfront. My only other complaints would be that my back did not agree with the mattress and Wi-Fi did not work well in our room (worked ok in other places and on the beach even).
Cleanliness: Excellent, no issues.
Food/drinks: Breakfast and lunches were excellent. Huge variety at breakfast and great sandwiches and pizza for lunch. Drinks were great and bartenders were very good about special requests. Dinner was hit or miss. Royal Thai and Regency were good. Filet Mignon at Le Jardinier was awful. We are not too big on Beringer wine and if you want to pay for something better the wine list is extremely limited.
Beach: Generally pretty (sand quality not great) but if you like to walk it is very small which you don't realize from the pictures. No snorkeling at all off the beach. Limited beach umbrellas meant if you were not on the beach early in the morning you were not getting one. Not sure if this is the norm but it was extremely windy just about the entire week we were there.
Activities: Snorkel trip was great. Due to the wind they would not let you take out the Hobie Cats on your own.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellsworth, Maine
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The swimming area was also small and shallow. We had a butler but he had no time to help us with unpacking the night we arrived.. We didn't receive a cell phone to contact him until later the next day. We were locked out of our room 4 times until they finally changed the lock. Our room was at the far end of the resort so going back and forth to the front desk was a pain. Waiting for the butler to let us in was nothing but a time waster, 1/2 hour which could be better spent at the pool. Staff were wonderful lot's of fun. Food was very good in all the restaurants. I would not go back as I look forward to a large beach when I am on vacation.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pegclegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I have never wrote a review for a resort, but I felt compelled to this time. I just returned yesterday from 7 nights at the Royal Carribean. BEST….RESORT….EVER! Please, if you are hesitating on booking this place, DON'T!
FOOD
AWESOME, ate at Royal Thai, The Regency (buffet), Le Jardinier, The Pub, The bamboo shack, The Mariner, Pizzeria and La Cucina at the montage bay resort. NEVER HAD A BAD OR SLOW MEAL, THE BEST!
POOLS
they had both a main pool for more social time, and two quieter pools. I have read that people complain about there not being enough towels during the day, get up and get one before breakfast, it's that simple.
BEACH
Yes, as you have read, if you are a beach person, this resort is not for you. Small beach but perfect for my liking.
PRIVATE ISLAND
This is what makes the resort (as well as the entertainment staff). I cannot tell you how amazing it is. beach, pool, bar, food. Snorkeling is not the greatest for those who like to snorkel, but you can go out daily for snorkelling tours (we went twice, not an overabundance of fish, but good)
WATERSPORTS
good
ENTERTAINMENT
What can I say about these employees. AWESOME!!!! They really made the trip. This group of people are the BEST I have ever came across at a resort. Kermit, Queeny, Chiko, Hollywood….wish I could remember everyone's name!!!! Devon from the bar, Kevin from the pub, Valentin from the snorkelling tours……So, So many …..I never did come across an employee that didn't go out of their way to make our trip memorable. THE MOST AMAZING STAFF I HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED!!!

And if you read about people complaining about the noise from the planes going overhead….Don't listen to them. Really….you are in the carribean…most of the time I didn't even notice I was having so much fun….Not a factor at this resort.

The only negative thing I have to say is how hard it is not to give these employees tips. They work so hard for what they do. But, on the other hand, it was nice not having people expect it.

If you are looking at booking this resort …….DO IT!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jody s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My wife planned our honeymoon to Jamaica and we stayed at the Sandals Royal Caribbean and were pleased beyond measure. Our Royal Butlers for our stay were Tajae and Danae. They made our stay memorable with their professionalism and charm.

Their assistance throughout our honeymoon far exceeded their occupational standards. They did it with ease and a loving nature. Felt like family.

God Bless their Kind Souls!

Mr. and Mrs. Kim and Don Graves

Room Tip: The partial ocean view with private patio is the room to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're happy that you had a beautiful and relaxing honeymoon at our resort. It's great that Tajae and Danae made an excellent impression on you during your stay!

We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another great stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt . vernon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We had a great time actually everything that we thought was lost in our relationship only needed the right place to rekindle it all beautiful place and good food and romantic setting. Never a dull moment ever night was a wonderful experience this place brought tears to my eyes...the beach was breath taking and the staff was very polite, well mannered and friendly at your request. One thing for sure never was I in need of a drink they kept it flowing. ...lol We can't wait to return I wouldn't change anything wonderful experience I've been to Jamaica over 17 times n this trip was trip to Sandals was the best I cried when it was time to leave. ...........

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjames0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Sandals Royal Caribbean. We're so happy to read that you had such an outstanding vacation with us. We always strive to go above and beyond to please our guests and I'm glad we were able to meet that goal during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for an even better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,282 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing