We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Hotel Riu Reggae(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sundance Resort(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sandals Montego Bay(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Half Moon(Montego Bay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (5,865)
Filter reviews
5,865 results
Traveller rating
3,916
1,178
402
215
154
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,916
1,178
402
215
154
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthai restaurantroyal caribbeankensington buildingbig birdbutler servicebamboo shackcrystal lagoonle jardinierregency restaurantour honeymoonmain pooltracy anncricketers pubclothing optional beachbutler suitebeach grillwhite night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,600 - 2,605 of 5,865 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

From the time we got there we were treated great! Thanks to Chris-Ann, Kirkland and our cabana butler Dwayne(Cooper)
Tips when booking the trip
1. Pay the extra for Club Mobay at the airport, you will be glad you did!!
2. Bring Tervis cups for the drinks
3. Bring Bug Spray
4. Bring sunscreen(you will need to reapply often too)
5. consider renting a cabana on the island(its worth it)
6. if possible rent at least a club level or higher for added perks

Overall great trip and appreciate the staff for helping to make it a great time!
Chris and Nichole Hamm

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just returned from a week at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We had a marvelous time. Our butlers, Ian and Orlando, were terrific and took excellent care of us. We also went scuba diving nearly every day, and the watersports dive staff were marvelous. They do all the heavy lifting and it is true "valet" diving. As we were recently certified and not experienced, they always made sure we had a dive leader assigned to us. This enabled us to explore and enjoy all of the many reefs we visited without fear. Gilbert deserves special mention -- he was our guide on five dives. As his confidence in us grew, so did our confidence in ourselves. By the end of the week we were far more comfortable with a range of depths than we were at the start, and had gained valuable experience. Now we can't wait to go diving again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and tend to be quieter. If you spring for Concierge or Butler level the room should be fine.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We went for our honeymoon and just returned. As background, we stayed in a Butler Suite 2nd floor crystal lagoon. In brief, the staff here makes the place, it's close to the airport but the noise isn't that bad, food and drink are great, and the Island is amazing. If you need more detail read on: Our family bought us some extras as a surprise: candelight dinner, couples massage, and club mobay departure.
Food: Was excellent everywhere. The Bamboo shack was delicious and fun for lunch. They grill the jerk chicken and sausage right in front of you. Royal Thai was some of the best I have had (and I'm a snob about asian foods). Its a little more authentic Thai than what you get at home. Kian is the greeter at the buffet breakfast and has the best smile every! She was super sweet everyday.
Pools/beach: None of the beaches are that great, they are pretty small and water is shallow. We spend most of our days on the Island Beach which is quiet with a great view, and a pool with pool bar next to the beach. We never really went to the main pool but always seemed to be stuff going on. If you are big beach snobs you may be disappointing, but if you are happy to just have a nice place to lay around and swim a little this will more than do. One nice thing is the water is so calm water sports are super easy to do there, we went sailing on hobie cats and kayaking.
Grounds: Beautiful. The resort is an amazing use of space. I initially thought it was small when we got there but we never got bored even once. The property does have an older british style but I wouldn't really even call it dated. It is very well maintained.
Staff: Our butlers were Phillips and Damian. They were both great and made you feel welcomed and comfortable. It is definitely very nice to have them and if you can afford it and want to do something special go for it. Best part was having your chairs set up and stocked with a cooler full of goodies. I don't think it is necessary though if you want to save a bit and go with a club level or standard room. There were always chairs available at least on the island. The people that drive the dragon boat to the island are awesome (especially Simone and Cion). The staff in general treat everyone like royalty and will give you huge warm smiles all the time, they are what make this place special and worth the cost of the trip.
Nightlife: thinks usually wind down around 10, then whoever wants to stay up goes to the pub until 1 or 2, it was enough for us but don't expect and happenin onsite club.
Extras: Monique at the spa gave my husband his first massage and he absolutely loved it. Mine wasn't so great but relaxing none the less. The candlelight dinner was totally worth it. Alexia was our waitress and was perfect, gazebo at sunset is unbeatable. If you are celebrating something special do it! Granted, nothing is cheap here, the spa especially is pretty expensive for what you get (there isn't really a nice locker room or pretreatment area).

Room Tip: If you can splurge Butler service is nice, The Lagoon rooms are nice, quiet with a semi private pool. The Kensington building (concierge level) looks nice as well. If you get beachfront walk out all the activity is right outside your door.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcat19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

It was my wife and I second visit to this resort. The first was 6 years ago. We came back because I remember the uniqueness of the Offshore Island and all the wonderful things that were offered. It was the week of our 27th anniversery. Dezreen took care of us from the minute we got there. Special dinners,beautiful weather, and great drinks. Shout out to Odane awesome dude! Again thanks. Also, met 2 great couples which will be friends for a long time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrianLorenzini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

My husband and I spent an amazing 6 nights at Sandals Royal Caribbean (Jamaica), April 14-20! We read all the reviews and were not disappointed... we felt like we were in paradise! This was our second stay at an all inclusive, and we WILL return to a Sandals' property for our next vacation. Many positives: (1) We loved the private island-- it was like we were on Gilligan's Island, except the water was prettier:) The Royal Thai restaurant was wonderful and we spent every day on the island beach. We found the island to be laid-back, peaceful, and absolutely beautiful! There was natural shade under the trees; and if one so desired, a cabana could be rented for a half or full day. Another bonus (for me), the boat takes you back and forth as needed. The Bamboo Shack was fantastic for lunch-- the BEST jerk chicken, fresh seafood, fresh Jamaican cuisine, and the view... all EXCELLENT... I still miss my lunches at the Bamboo Shack! A special "shout out" to Jevaun, our wonderful bartender on the island-- "Bud Boy and Princess" say "hello" and keep being hilarious! (2) The food everywhere was fantastic! Le Jardinier was our favorite place for dinner-- make reservations the day you arrive-- the service and food were superb! The Regency was great for breakfast, lunch and dinner-- beautiful view of the water, great service, good food, what else could you ask for? We wish we had a Cricketers Pub near our home in the States!! Loved the fish and chips, wedge salad, drinks and friendly bartenders! "Hot Rod"-- follow your dreams, you are doing a great job:) -- Sandals is lucky to have you! "Big Bird"-- you are very personable, friendly, and a great mentor for new Sandals' employees-- Sandals is lucky to have you, too! (3) The SRC grounds and beaches are beautifully maintained, as others have mentioned. Throughout the day and evening, grounds-keepers could be seen raking/cleaning the beaches, trimming shrubs, trees, grass, and cleaning the grounds-- with a smile and a "hello!" (4) Club Sandals-- we stayed in the Kensington building, second floor: Great view, comfortable bed, quiet (except for the early morning peacocks;), included wifi, fully stocked bar, and additional amenities we did not utilize... Dezreen-- thank you for your personal welcome upon arrival:) (5) Weather/ water temperatures-- absolutely fabulous when we were there!! Constant breeze, 85 degree Fahrenheit air temp, warm water (not sure what temp), constant sunshine on most days. We had one late night rain shower, and one afternoon downpour-- "No worries, Mon!" (6) Club MoBay (this is not included with Club Sandals)-- SPEND the extra money! What a great arrival and departure in/out of MJB airport-- we moved swiftly through immigration upon arrival and enjoyed a relaxing wait during our departure:) (7) Last, but not least, everyone at SRC, including management and all staff, was welcoming and friendly! We also met other vacationing couples with whom we enjoyed meeting and talking:)... Many of the couples we met were returning guests to SRC and/or had visited other Sandals' properties-- a great testimony to Sandals! "Hello" to our friends from Dixon, Illinois-- hope to hear from you!
Negatives: None worth mentioning!
My husband and I plan to return to Sandals Royal Caribbean or visit Sandals Emerald Bay on our next vacation!

Room Tip: Club level is a good choice... Kensington building is quiet, has it's own quiet pool and small beach. We were on the 2nd floor-- nice view of the ocean-- see pictures.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BlueRidgeBrandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews