We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Couple Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #6 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent Couple Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary there and it was spectacular. The service was amazing, the beach was a bit smaller than I would've hoped, but the resort wasn't packed so we had a great time. The food was great. One little thing that I wasn't too pleased with was the dining reservations; it seemed that it was always booked for every day; yet, the restaurant looked empty. Overall though, our experience was great! I would've loved to have been there a lot longer and cannot wait to go back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hello there Lily,

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that you had a fabulous time celebrating your Anniversary with us and that you returned home with happy memories of our time in Jamaica. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,448
    1,055
    349
    193
    133
See reviews for
164
4,113
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We Honeymoon at SRC in August of 2013. We had the most wonderful time.

We were greeted with cool towels and a refreshing alcoholic beverage. Our room was prepared when we arrive at 12:30. The concierge took our luggage and showed us the room. He went over using the safe as well. He kindly placed out bags up on the luggage rack. Very few sales-pitches throughout the trip, got asked once to do a photo-session, otherwise none.

The food comes in generous portions and all the food was great! Our favorite were the Royal Thai and Le Jardinier...both require reservations. Royal Thai is over on the private island and it is so peaceful to eat in the dark or sunset next to the ocean waves with candle light. I would recommend making all your dinner reservations for the week on your first or second day to get a time spot that is suitable for you. I would also recommend having breakfast at Cricketer's Pub a few mornings. We did the buffet every morning, which was great. We tried Cricketer's on our last day for breakfast and wished we had sooner!!

The service is TOP NOTCH. We were always greeted by smiles and friendly conversation. We did not have a butler room, but the service is so great, you don't need a butler! It did not take long to get drinks and the drinks were delicious and not skimpy on alcohol. We really enjoyed having rainbow shots at the Cricketer's Pub. We spent many evenings here. If you don't know what drink to order, just ask for a Jamaican Smile and you'll be set!

Our room was cleaned up twice a day. We asked for a second round of shampoo and lotion and received promptly, with no extra charge. Our housekeeper was wonderful and never bothered us. The safes in the rooms are digital and work great. The showers and jacuzzis were great and also had no issues with the sinks or toilet in our room. Only downside the room is one small window in the toilet room is open shutters, which can make it a little hard to nap during the day if they are trimming the grass.

The beach is small, but very nice and did not have trouble getting chairs when we wanted them. The private island and swim up bar is great and we enjoyed spending afternoons there, and eating at the buffet there as well.

We happened to stay over Independence day (Aug 6th) and that was an extra treat for entertainment. There are a few cats around, but they don't bother you.

Had a great honeymoon at SRC, with no true complaints. This was our first all-inclusive and definitely worth it! Pure paradise, where everything is Irie !!

Room Tip: We paid for the most basic room available, Junior Suite with King bed, and it was perfect and elegan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nicolee256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Back in the real world , loll. However, It would be so wrong not to share with the world my husband and my vacation to the Sandals Royal Caribbean in Jamaica. The property is outstanding with it's class and luxury accommodation ( we stayed in an ocean view honey moon suite in the Kensington Building) . It is not a big property like the Montego Bay Sandals or the Negril Sandals. It is a very comfortable, medium size with it's own very special characteristic of a private Island to go play on or have a fabulous dinner. It is only a 10 minute ride from the airport so location is fabulous you get to enjoy every minute of your vacation with little road travel time.
The food is excellent to stay the very least. However, the best part is it caters to all age brackets with ease that you meet new interesting people. I love that the staff is so perfect with the professionalism and grace. You will have favorites undoubtedly!!!
Thank you so much for everything my husband and I will return and bring friends. I can not get back there soon enough!! Absolutely worth every penny, I won't be able to visit another resort type, other than any Sandals now :) !!!
Big Kiss and Hug to All for making the perfect vacation happen. It is the people who make the vacation Sheldon, and everyone until we see each other again, take care!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelBug1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I chose SRC to extend our stay in Jamaica following our friends fabulous wedding at Moon Dance Cliffs (see my other review). As for SRC we booked the penthouse butler room. Our butlers were nice enough but really not necessary except to jack up the price of the room. The room itself and the resort were beautiful and well maintained. The food was good, thought both my husband and I contracted "montezuma's revenge" it started shortly after we arrived at SRC and continued until a couple of days after we returned home. Ok so these things happen...we tried a few times to see the on-site nurse as was suggested, however we could never seem to find the nurse's station open, even with the staffed hours clearly posted. The thing that ruined our stay was the inordinate number of cats that seemed to invade the resort at nightfall. The cats were everywhere, including in the restaurants...in fact our first night a cat strutted right up to our table, sat down and waited to be fed. Which it was...by the lady at the next table. SRC employees pretty much said there's nothing they can do about the cats. I think they could start by instructing guest not to pet or feed the feral cats. I'm not sure where the cats went during the day...but I did not see one during daylight hours...but at night whoa!...they were everywhere... jumping out of the foliage, in the eating establishments, running along the footpaths. My husband thinks they are there to keep the rats under control...who knows...I just know I will not be returning to SRC, and will probably take the Sandals brand off my list for future stays.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank roadrunner057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. It is truly disappointing to know that you had this experience at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We always want to ensure that our guests are having a wonderful vacation and we are sorry to hear that we fell short in any aspect.
We are grateful for all feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We hope that you will afford us a chance to make things right during a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grande Prairie Alberta
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Back home again. Reunion week 2014 was great, lots of good friends returning and new ones made. Enjoyed the weather, the food is Excellent, Salvatori the new chef is amazing, the new Italian night, Wednesdays in the Regency is a must. The usual gang is still spoiling guests Okley, Kirkland and Dezreen, Edris, Mr Fairweather, the omelete girl whose name I can't remember, she makes the best omeletes since Michael, Tracy Ann my favourite, Nicola, Kevin and Duwayne our Cabana guy, Janice, Lionel, Sheerene, Odane and lots I'm forgetting, the staff at SRC has always been the best.
Stayed in the Kensington again, our favourite building, ate at Tokyo Jo's one night, great as usual and not too long a wait even though no reservations are needed anymore.

Room Tip: Kensington Cove, nice quiet rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepper52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

From the time we got there we were treated great! Thanks to Chris-Ann, Kirkland and our cabana butler Dwayne(Cooper)
Tips when booking the trip
1. Pay the extra for Club Mobay at the airport, you will be glad you did!!
2. Bring Tervis cups for the drinks
3. Bring Bug Spray
4. Bring sunscreen(you will need to reapply often too)
5. consider renting a cabana on the island(its worth it)
6. if possible rent at least a club level or higher for added perks

Overall great trip and appreciate the staff for helping to make it a great time!
Chris and Nichole Hamm

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We just returned from a week at Sandals Royal Caribbean. We had a marvelous time. Our butlers, Ian and Orlando, were terrific and took excellent care of us. We also went scuba diving nearly every day, and the watersports dive staff were marvelous. They do all the heavy lifting and it is true "valet" diving. As we were recently certified and not experienced, they always made sure we had a dive leader assigned to us. This enabled us to explore and enjoy all of the many reefs we visited without fear. Gilbert deserves special mention -- he was our guide on five dives. As his confidence in us grew, so did our confidence in ourselves. By the end of the week we were far more comfortable with a range of depths than we were at the start, and had gained valuable experience. Now we can't wait to go diving again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views and tend to be quieter. If you spring for Concierge or Butler lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,227 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,178 reviews
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Destinology, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing