We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most amazing holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“The most amazing holiday!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Amazing hotel...amazing staff....beautiful grounds...delicious food. We had the most amazing holiday at this hotel, if your not sure where to stay I really would recommend royal Caribbean.

We were in a butler suite as it was our honeymoon, the butlers were amazing and did treat us very well, giving extra surprises. However if you can't budget for it I wouldn't worry. The staff are all so so friendly, and nothing is too much for them. There are lots of activities but plenty of quiet spaces as well so you really can have the type of holiday that suits you.

The hotel is small and intimate but big enough that you are not on top of other people and that there is always something to do. The dinning was delicious, we had not tasted food as good as in the Thai, French, regency and Eleanor's restaurants. Breakfast every day was wonderful as well.

The entertainment staff in particular...Chico, storm, queenie and Hollywood and our lovely butler Flo deserve special mentions...there were also waiters, waitresses, gardening staff and bar staff who were wonderful and I wish I could remember their names to give them special mentions!

Room Tip: Don't opt for the cheapest room...we had a look in one of them and it really needed updating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,517
    1,070
    354
    195
    136
See reviews for
170
4,196
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,382)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We have just come back from our honeymoon - a week at Sandals Royal Caribbean in Jamaica. And we didn't want to leave :-( We had such a lovely time. Our room was perfectly located in the Kensington building, with a gorgeous view of the ocean. It seemed that whatever room you had, you'd have a lovely view. We had a small problem with the cleanliness of the floor in our room, but that was sorted out straight away. We had a concierge level room, which was perfect for us, as you only really need a butler if you want your bags unpacked for you and sunbeds reserved extra early. The staff are always checking whether you need anything anyway. The location is stunning, and having the offshore island is a real bonus. We hired a cabana for a day on the island, and it was lovely. We also went on a trip to Dunns River Falls and Dolphin Cove - well worth doing, we had such fun! All in all, a fantastic place, and we would go back tomorrow if we could.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJoad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed at SRC from May 3-10. After clearing customs, we were quickly directed to the Sandals lounge, where cool drinks and friendly staff were waiting. After a 5-10 minute wait, we were on our 10 minute drive to the resort. Even though we arrived at 10:30 AM, we were given a room right away. We booked in the beachfront grand luxe category and were taken to room 7204 in the Windsor building by “the captain”. This room directly overlooked the beach volleyball court and backed up to the nightly entertainment. We attempted to be relocated to no avail, as “the captain” must also be the room Nazi. He kept saying that he didn’t understand why we didn’t like the room. He was the only employee that we encountered throughout the week who was remotely unpleasant. After a sleepless night, we were moved to a similar (though smaller and more dated) room in the Sandringham building. The bedroom portion of the room was small but tasteful – the bathroom portion was extremely tight with no room for storage or even an electric outlet. Hair drying had to take place in the hallway! There was, however, no way to control the temperature in the room (which was on the warm side). This was remedied by the delivery of a remote for the air conditioner the next day. The room was, however, clean and the bed was comfortable.
Pro:
• The staff was amazing, remembering our names after the first day. They also just went about their business in a genuinely happy manner which contributes to the overall experience of relaxation.
• Nice variety of activities in which to participate (or not!)
• Quality of the drinks and food. We only had one bad dining experience, which was at Eleanor’s. My husband chose the beef which was tough. I had the crab cake (mostly dough) and the snapper which was just okay. Otherwise, the food was excellent and the service was impeccable! We also shuttled to Cucina Romana at Montego Bay for dinner one night, which was good. Our favorite by far was Le Jardinier! The escargot, lamb and the beef were all excellent! Monday night was “white night” and Friday night “beach party”, both of which were very good buffets.
• Massage services were awesome! We both booked the tropical bliss 80 minutes, which was done as a couples massage.
• Gym equipment (although it was very contrary to program) and fitness opportunities were a welcome way to start the day. Aqua exercise was a great workout at 11 every morning.
• Reggae cruise!
Con:
• The actual rooms! For the level of service and price of the resort, the room was more along the line of Holiday Inn. Booking the beachfront grande luxe was a waste of money, as it was basically the same room as the lowest level. I would recommend either booking the lowest level room or going club level (which at least gets you a few more amenities).
• Charging a fee for internet access (which was very slow and spotty) unless you were booked concierge level or higher. Also be aware that if you are not booked concierge or higher, you do not have room service, robe and slippers, alcohol in the mini bar or much shot at getting a good chair at the pool (as the butlers all reserve chairs by name for their clients.)
• Although we were celebrating my birthday, and noted that at online check-in and again at arrival, there was nothing provided as an acknowledgement of the occasion. We have stayed at Secrets and Palace resorts over such occasions, and have received cake and champagne in our room from the resort. At the price point of Sandals, it would have been a nice touch!
• The cats and the peacocks. We are not cat fans, and to have them waiting by your table for scraps is a little bit of a put-off and they both made distracting noise at nights. One of the peacocks actually scratched a guest’s face (it looked awful – but I don’t have details of what actually happened, so I don’t know whether it was really the peacock’s fault!)

We enjoyed our time very much, and met some wonderful people (both staff and guests) and may choose Sandals again, but would probably try another resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mblackerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weirton, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We arrived from the airport and was greeted with a cool towel and a drink.Check in was fast and a tour of the grounds. It was beautiful.Then taken to the room. The room was perfect. We were on the beach with a view of the island. The grille and bar were just yards away. Really,who could go to the grille and get a cheeseburger in paridise at 2:a.m. in your nightgown. Awesome!!!! The staff was excellent. If you wanted anything, they would get it fast. I loved the entertainment. Annakay,Chicko and Kermit made my trip very enjoyable. I loved the sing alongs in the piano bar. Everyone was so friendly.I had lost my husband to illness a few months earlier and they helped bring me out of my depression and have lots of fun. Loved the swim up bars. The wedding of my niece was just beautiful. She was very happy with everything. The food was great. This resort was spectacular!!!!

Room Tip: It depends on if you like quiet or being in the thick of the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This resort is great for those that don't want the huge resort but all the amenities that come with one. You can do as much as little as you want. Booked club level and upgraded to butler building and enjoyed the extra space and private stairway to the pool.
Pros- everything is in close proximity, great for those with limited walking
staff is excellent, everyone wanted you to enjoy your stay and got a feel for your personality
stay at this resort and have options to 2 others for free
very close to the airport with minimum plane noise
no hassle on beach
lots of included things to do

Cons- the minimum plane noise may annoy some people
butler category rooms can get reservations at anytime, but others are left out if reservations are not made early in week. We arrived on a Wed and only got reservations for fri/sat. But all the food is good so you cant go wrong there.
unable to take long walks on beach

Tips: participate with the playmakers- you just never know what may happen and a great way to meet other couples
Eat dinner early if like to see the nighttime entertainment and relax
Most of the souvenirs were cheaper at resort gift shop and airport than the tourist areas
only needed cash (single bills) for transport to airport;
Raggae cruise was awesome and would do it again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrspickett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Thank you for your review, Mrs. Pickett!

We appreciate you sharing your wonderful memories of your time at Sandals Royal Caribbean and your photos were lovely! It's always our sincere wish that each guest returns home feeling happy and rejuvenated and we are so happy that this was true in your case.
We hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Overall we were very pleased with our stay at Sandals. At first we had a room that leaked during heavy rainfall but the night manager acted quickly in finding us another room and making sure our stay was comfortable.

I have to also add that the staff at this resort are exceptional, very friend and hard working. They are what makes this resort an excellent one.

The people who have made our stay the best are:

Dwight-evening manager
Jennifer- room maid
Yazreen-evening turn down service
Tremaine- Beach staff
Simone- Boat transfer
Jevon-waiter
Paul-waiter at Eleanor’s

Many more have made our stay a very pleasant one and I wish I could remember their names. The best restaurant by far for us and our friends was Eleanor’s, we ate there three times and was very happy with the service and the food. The Beach Bar and grill also had fantastic people working there, good fast service and great food.

I wish we would be able to tip for good service openly. For those people who work hard in that heat all day, everyday, they deserve to be tipped if people so wish to give them one. In my opinion anyone who can spend $2500. on a one week trip can afford to tip for good service. What happens is some people are afraid to take tips and others know how to take a tip in secret, so I think in all fairness I would like to see the rule change from No Tipping to Tipping Optional, your staff deserve that.

We only had one problem with one person and she was the one who was supposed to take us for a tour of the resort. We were told to meet her at the Piano Bar at 4pm on Sunday, we arrived at 3:50 pm along with 2 other couples, we waited for 40 minutes for her, we checked at the lobby to see if she was coming and was told several times that she would be there, so we waited. When she finally arrived, she told us that she was there at 4pm and there was only one other couple so she took them for a tour alone. We told her that was not true that we had been there 10 minutes early, again she stated that she was there on time and we were not. Now I know how long we were there for and I know she was not there at 4pm. I felt that she lied to us, she wasted our time, she was not there at the specified time and she tried to make it our fault, I did not appreciated that treatment so we did not bother to take another tour.
We will definitely be back at this resort and a bonus is the offshore island, it is a gem!

Room Tip: Rather than pick an ocean front room just pick a regular suite as these are also in a very good loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartineNJohnGetAways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hello Martine and John,

Thank you for taking the time to write are review. We are pleased that you had a great time at Sandals Royal Caribbean and we appreciate your kind remarks about the staff members your mentioned. We apologize for the unpleasant incident with the tour and we will look into this matter further with the resort management team so we do not receive similar feedback in the future. We hope to welcome you back soon for an even better time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

We celebrated our wedding anniversary there and it was spectacular. The service was amazing, the beach was a bit smaller than I would've hoped, but the resort wasn't packed so we had a great time. The food was great. One little thing that I wasn't too pleased with was the dining reservations; it seemed that it was always booked for every day; yet, the restaurant looked empty. Overall though, our experience was great! I would've loved to have been there a lot longer and cannot wait to go back :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hello there Lily,

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted that you had a fabulous time celebrating your Anniversary with us and that you returned home with happy memories of our time in Jamaica. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,282 reviews
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
9.6 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,232 reviews
1.9 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
52.9 mi away
Sandals Royal Plantation
Sandals Royal Plantation
#3 of 36 in Ocho Rios
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing