We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Memorable Anniversary”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Ranked #7 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Memorable Anniversary”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This was our first time at a Sandals resort. We went to the Royal Caribbean for our anniversary. We love to scuba dive and with scuba diving being included, it made Sandals very competitive with other resorts where you had to pay for your diving as well as meals and drinks. Sandals Royal Caribbean has a very nice Newton dive boat and a professional crew. They also provide instruction and PADI diver certification at an extra cost. My wife and I took advantage of this and received our "Advanced Open Water" certification while we were there. We completed the PADI eLearning prior to our arrival.

We were pampered from the start. When we reached the Sandals lounge at the Sangster International Airport in Montego Bay they took care of our luggage (including scuba gear), loaded us in a car and whisked us to the resort. We were brought to a special lounge where we checked in. Our butler then arrived at the lounge to give us a quick tour of the resort while our luggage was brought to our suite and gave us a cell phone to call if we needed anything at all. While we grabbed a bite to eat while our butler unpacked our luggage, neatly storing it in the drawers, closet and prepared for our suite arrival with champaign and or devours.

We chose the Walkout Swim up Crystal Lagoon Honeymoon Butler Suite for our accommodations. It was a beautiful suite with a patio in front where you could step into a small fresh water swimming lagoon that ran along the suites. We loved relaxing on our patio enjoying the great weather after a morning of diving. We also enjoyed a light breakfast on the patio each morning before we started our day. After lunch we would coordinate our dinner preferences with our butler and enjoy our time before dinner at the pool, beach, or lounges around the resort. Our butler would meet us at our suite and escort us to dinner each night. The food was excellent. We especially liked Le Jardinier and The Royal Thai restaurants. We really like Indian food and for our last evening, our butler coordinated transportation to a great local Indian restaurant (a separate review). Our butlers were outstanding providing us with more than we could asked for. On our departure they repacked our luggage and had it brought to the front of the resort.

Overall the Sandals Royal Caribbean is a great resort. A true heartfelt thank you to our butlers, Danae and Sherry-Ann, our dive instructor Brian, the boat crew and so many others who made our anniversary a truly memorable experience. We will definitely return and try other Sandals resorts as a result of our stay at Royal Caribbean Montego Bay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,640
    1,099
    361
    199
    141
See reviews for
178
4,344
12
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,431)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

This place is way over priced, the air conditioning was broke and they wouldn't fix it, the location was okay, and the wedding we attended was unorganized because SANDALS couldn't handle what they had going on. I've been to Jamaica and stayed at the Grand Palladium....amazing place and half the price. Sandals is a joke. Will never stay at one again!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LizzyL19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review, Lizzy.

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Sandals Royal Caribbean. It seems that we did not meet your expectations during your visit with us and for this, we do sincerely apologize. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We appreciate your input and if you have any further concerns, please feel free to contact our Customer Care Team at 1888-SANDALS for assistance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our 10th visit to a Sandals resort (twice to this one). Everything was great as it was the first time we were there. Staff go above and beyond to help everyone. We stayed at the Clarence building, swim-up suites. These are very nice and close to everything. You won't have a view of the beach so if this is important to you get the rooms on 2nd and 3rd floor or pick another building.
Spoke to several people who were also staying here and they also had visited this resort more than once! We would also like to come back for a 3rd visit soon!!!!!
I mentioned in my last review that this resort is small everything is easy access. If you want a big resort you might look at Ocho Rios Grande.
This is a place to come relax and enjoy every single day!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ap0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Royal Caribbean!
We appreciate your loyalty over the years and we are truly honored to hear how much you enjoy your time with us. We are delighted that we were able to exceed all of your expectations again and we enjoy creating these lovely memories with you.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

As it is my only experience with a Sandals resort, I cannot offer a comparison. However, I loved it so much that I went back again the very next year. What is most impressive is the people. Some even remembered us a year later. The whole team works very hard to ensure your complete satisfaction. It is the "no problem" attitude brought to life!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Kensington were quieter but same great view and pool of its own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Joanne,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience at Sandals Royal Caribbean with us! We are delighted to hear that your staff did an excellent job at seeing that you had a fantastic time in Jamaica and they will be grateful for your kind mention.
We hope you return soon, as we look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

At the risk of sounding boring, we just returned from another fabulous trip here. As always every single staff member made our stay so special. Although we can only mention a few - every person deserves thanks or their warmth, smiles and service which were outstanding.
Watersports/sailing are always a highlight - special thanks as always for Andrew who went out of his way to provide lots of fun - but the whole team are fantastic at making sure the activities and pools are fantastic for the guests. Food as always fantastic - desserts had certainly changed and stepped up a level - fabulous creme brulee at the French and the chocolate fondant with ginger at the returning guests dinner was great - coming back for that please.
Thanks to Nicole and Nickae for a great anniversary day on the island in our cabana and a very romantic dinner on the beach which we will never forget.
The bar staff remain as entertaining and attentive as ever - thanks Dom, Courtney, Rohan, Rodane, Roderick, Michal, Verna, Big bird and Cleveland (and all the others I didn't mention sorry!) - and Odane and Tracey-Ann win the biggest smiles awards as ever. Not to forget the dining room staff - Shelley-Ann and Denise brightened up breakfast every day and again everyone looked after us fantastically.
Great day on the Reggae Cruise snorkelling, sliding at Margaritaville and drinking way too much rum on the way home. Lovely time at the Red Lane Spa being pampered.
In sort another fabulous holiday - we feel at home every time we come back and will continue to do so - it may not be the biggest or fanciest resort in the Caribbean but if you want to be looked after and spoilt in a beautiful location this would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam and John x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your thoughtful review, Pam and John.
It was very kind of you to take the time to mention the people that made your recent stay at Sandals Royal Caribbean so special! Our staff will be delighted to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with them and returned home with happy memories of your most recent holiday in Jamaica. We hope you will "soon come back". We cannot wait to welcome you back home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weirton, West Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Got married at Sandals Royal Caribbean on April 26, 2014! The grounds are Beautiful and the ceremony was perfect!! Nigel, the Wedding Captain, was AMAZING!! He made sure all the little details were present in each of our pictures, while making sure the guests were having a great time! I will Never forget his Smile!! It is very contagious!!! My Wedding Dinner was perfect and arranged by very a very caring woman working the front desk that was determined to make my day special! The nightly entertainment is fabulous and I have to say that Chico and Kermit do a Wonderful job at making everyone feel comfortable joining in the activities! My Aunt, who recently lost her husband of over 40 years was hesitant to participate in some of the activities, but Kermit really brought her out of her shell! :) I will be forever greatful to him for helping her have a vacation of a lifetime!! The food is EXCELLENT!!! And the variety is endless! During our 10 day stay we had the pleasure of meeting so many great bartenders and servers, but Domique really stands out as my favorite bartender! Domique took the time to learn our names, and show us some "tricks" he has learned along the way! It shows that he enjoys his job and he made sure we always had a drink in our hands! (Gotta try his Island Vibe!) I cant leave a review of this hotel without mentioning ODane!!! He is by far the BEST Employee Sandals could ever hope to have!!! NOT once did I see him without a giant smile on his face!! ODane spreads cheer wherever he is going and was always so attentive to any requests we may have had!! I guess what I am trying to say with all of this is that SRC really impressed me and has made me a believer in perfect vacations! I will look to stay at Sandals facilities in the future as I have never had an all inclusive vacation that was as impressive as this!!! Thank You SRC and Staff!!! Hope to see you all again soon!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a Butler Suite during our trip to SRC! I would recommend to everyone do the same!! Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanielleS4262014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Again another wonderful resort, and the Jamaicans made it great !
We only has a lead in room and missed our club facilities so recommend the Club or Butler Level rooms. Quiet pool was a hit and very popular but with limited sunbeds on the beach area and pool it stayed quiet so perfect for us. Grill/Pizza area at lunchtime was excellent good variety. Main swim up pool not our favourite but can't fault it. Private Island was ok...it has a clothes optional area....but I believe they are making changes to this area water villas I hear but not confirmed. Entertainment was at its best because the Jamaicans are proud to be Jamaican.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Club Level or Butler Level, for a private balcony you need to book and upper floor otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
53.1 mi away
Jamaica Inn
Jamaica Inn
#1 of 35 in Ocho Rios
1,294 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,340 reviews
6.2 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,404 reviews
6.3 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island

Property: Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Address: Mahoe Bay, Montego Bay 167, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island 5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•7 exquisite dining options, with world-class culinary cuisines.•Only Jamaican resort with a private offshore island, housing an authentic Thai restaurant.•Magnificent, swim-up crystal lagoon suites.•24 hour room service as a part of our concierge service.•English pub offering an authentic pub dining experience.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Royal Caribbean Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Montego Bay
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort Jamaica
Sandal Royal Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing