We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value - Great Location”
Review of El Greco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Greco Resort
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We spent five nights at the El Greco and, overall, a very pleasant stay. We were in the two bedroom suite. It was very large and could have held more than the three of us that were traveling. Bedrooms each have a full bath and there was a half bath downstairs. Furniture fits the 'beach' location and small TVS in both bedrooms and the living area.

The location is fantastic. A quick elevator ride puts you on Hip Street and right across from Doctor's Cave Beach (hotel provides day passes). The beach is truly beautiful, don't miss the Sand Bar for a meal (ask for Eva).

Service is good, restaurant is OK. We had breakfast there one morning (included with the room) but after the first time went down to a nice hotel restaurant right on Hip Street for breakfast. The lunch they served was much better than the breakfast.

We used Solomon, the taxi driver who is at the hotel. Excellent driver, even stayed up into the wee hours of the morning to bring us home from Sum Fest.

Improvements: AC is a bit weak in the bedrooms, though the living room AC was just fine. Some trouble getting on WiFi but we were out so much it didn't really matter.

Overall, a great place for a family or larger group traveling. It isn't an all inclusive but makes up for it with its pleasant atmosphere and actually gets you out to enjoy locals and the various their various craft shopes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

If you want close proximity to the beach, and an amazing view at breakfast this is the place. We only stayed here the one night, but thought the food was decent, and the staff very friendly. It's a cool walk to the beach, down through some apartment complex in front of El Greco to the street. You get a beach pass with your accommodation to Dr. Cave beach which is an amazing beach with lot's of good food around as well. All in all, good value for a quick stay, and would go back again.

Room Tip: Eat breakfast facing the beach in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FromKanata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

I've been to Jamaica twice and both times we stayed at El Greco (it's been a couple years, but it was great). The first time, my sister and I went by ourselves and stayed here, absolutely LOVED it. The suites are clean and you have a full kitchen if you choose to cook (we never did, but the refrigerator helped as we stocked up on the delicious local fruits!). Security is good, there is a guard on every floor at night. As we all know, Jamaica can be VERY dangerous, so I would advise against anyone, male or female to be walking around at night. The staff was amazing and they even helped with arranging tours, letting us know the best sites to see etc. All in all, we had a great time, and the second time we came, we brought our parents with us. The hot breakfast was incredible and I looked forward to my ackee and saltfish every morning. My father is from the Caribbean so he enjoyed the breakfast very much as well. I highly recommend El Greco to anyone visiting Jamaica.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymous P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is a dated property that has poor air conditioning and only in the bedroom of the suites. The furniture is not comfortable, so you may sit on an old uncomfortable wicker couch to watch television in a hot sweaty room or go to the bedroom (no TV) and HOPE it cools enough to sleep comfortably. The staff are mostly nice and they keep the place pretty clean. Most of the rooms have the bedroom facing a busy street which is noisy with traffic all night. If you do stay here, insist on Bldg. "D".

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank despradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at El Greco for a week. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great value, clean rooms. staff very approachable and helpful. would highly recommend. Enjoyed the variety of Jamaican breakfast and if preferred there was the American version, e.g., eggs, bacon, etc.

Room Tip: Can be hot in living area as there is no AC only a ceiling fan which isn't much good. Found tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

My wife and I were part of a touring choir-group that stayed for one week at El Greco. We were most impressed with the quality of service and generally welcoming and helpful attitude of the staff. Our room was comfortable and we enjoyed good local fare in the restaurant. An emergency occurred when my wife discovered on our return home to Trinidad where we live that she was missing her wallet containing all her documents including credit cards, driving license, ID card etc. We phoned the hotel hoping it might have been left there. Within the hour Simonetta, the front desk receptionist, called to say she had personally checked the room and found the wallet. This has now been shipped back to us. The El Greco staff, generally, could not have been more helpful. We are happy to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Block A is close to the road and at night traffic noise can be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Great location, the beach is downstairs ( they give you free pass everyday), you just need to know how to go down into the street from the elevators( very easy), when you go down you will find shops & restaurants ( margaritaville is really close for water game or nightlife, ricks cafe is also not far). Safety is really good, there is a policeman inside the resort, also they give you wristband to prove you are guest, but I never used it. The free Breakfast is good with beautiful view on the beach. there is a small shop inside the resort to buy things if it late and you do not want to go out. The room very spacious with nice balcony, full kitchen with couch for 4 people and TV. our room was with two twin beds ( for two people). I recommended this resorts for singles, families, and couples.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank quick_backpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 63 in Montego Bay
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#26 of 63 in Montego Bay
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco Resort

Address: 11 Queens Drive, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £69 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Greco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your El Greco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Hotel Montego Bay
El Greco Montego Bay
Montego Bay El Greco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing