We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no air conditioner in living area”
Review of El Greco Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Greco Resort
Ranked #31 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“no air conditioner in living area”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Location is excellent, I enjoyed the breakfast they served, I'm concerned that there was no air conditioner in living area, and the fan doesn't worked, checked out and spend some time in Kingston on our last day we were disappointed that the room we got comes with a smaller than an office refrigerator, but the staff found us one that we could used to keep our food frozen.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babs531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrecoResort, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at El Greco Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for your review. Our living rooms are not equipped with ACs, however, our staff will ensure that they do their best to make you comfortable. We are happy that you enjoyed your meals at the restaurant.

We hope to have you with us again.

Regards,
Ordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    208
    130
    53
    32
See reviews for
105
167
58
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed at this property over New Year's Eve for a night and it was pretty convenient being our last day in Jamaica before heading home after a great vacation in Ocho Rios! It's located 5 minutes from Sangster International Airport. My friends and I had just come from Ocho Rios at an all inclusive resort and this was a welcome break as we got to venture out more in MoBay.

The property is well maintained with some great landscaping. We felt safe as soon we got there. The staff were very pleasant and eager to serve.

The rooms were spacious and clean. The beddings were outdated but clean nonetheless.

It's not the Four Seasons so don't bring high expectations with you. It was just right for us as were only here for a night. We loved is also ample parking if needed.

The hotel pool is substandard and looked like the kind you would find at a select service motel. Good thing is there is a private beach within walking distance (from the elevator ride) and the hotel gives out day passes to the beach:)

I would recommend this property to someone passing through Montego Bay but not for a long term (2-10 days or more)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrecoResort, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at El Greco Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello,

We really do value your feedback. We will try our best to improve on the areas that you were not 100% happy with.
We are happy that it was an overall good experience for you. We look forward to having you again with us.

Regards,
Ordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisbech Saint Mary, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

A convenient safe place to stay after a long flight. car parking near to your accommodation.
A hearty breakfast to prepare you for the long drive to St Elizabeth.
this is the third time I have stayed here within the last twelve months.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrecoResort, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at El Greco Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to serving you again soon.

Regards,
Ordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Great stay from srart to finish! Great room for a great price. Free hot breakfast...Jamaican or American. Free private beach, shopping and resturants within walking distance. Great snack bar, resturant, and frozen drinks on beach. Chairs and umbrellas available. Beautiful view of shoreline and mountains. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 538SherryS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrecoResort, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at El Greco Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear 538SherryS,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. At El Greco Resort, We strive to deliver exceptional service. Thank you for rating our property. We look forward to welcoming you again!

All the best.
Ordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paramaribo, Suriname
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Physically look at the buildings, the garden and the parking spaces, the place looks old and dilapidated. Take a look at the annex building which house the lift to the strip. The bridge is falling apart and looks like a disaster in the making. The building is still not painted and the other buildings needs a paint job. The grass are not cut and the drive ways need paving

Inside the apartments the furniture and beds needs replacement. The bathroom also are in a poor state. This sort of accommodation is not worth more than $75 per night but they demand 125 usd.

Its impossible to get a room with the sea view. I stayed there before. This was my 2nd stay there. Seems like they give it to their friends or the permanent residence there.

The people working there are trying their best.

Room Tip: Good luck in getting a nice room; they give it to their friends. Even if you book one year in advanc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLM747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrecoResort, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at El Greco Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear SLM747,

Our grounds are well kept and we take great pride in ensuring that our property is always clean. Unfortunately, we have no control over how often the other properties beside us paint their buildings. Please rest assured that the walkway that leads to the elevators is quite sturdy. There has never been an issue with it in the past and our guests enjoy the view of the Hipstrip from there

All our guests are treated with respect and equality. I am not sure what you mean when you say we give the ocean view rooms to our friends. We do our best to ensure that our guests are satisfied. Thank you for mentioning that.

Regards,
Ordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

North Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The El Greco as has been reported previously is a 'find' for those who are a bit weary of all-inclusives. I stayed 9 full days and can't think of anything I didn't enjoy. The suites are equipped with kitchen, if you want to cook, but there is a bar and restaurant which serves excellent food. The staff from the front desk to the wait staff to the housekeeping staff are pleasant and helpful. I have no complaints whatsoever. The buildings are a bit dated but who cares. The bed was comfortable. The setting is particularly nice big forest behind, views of the ocean and beach in front. The hotel itself has beautiful gardens. Good restaurants are right at the bottom of the elevator which deposits you on the 'hip strip' with Doctors Cave Beach a few steps away and free to El Greco residents. There is a little 'commissary' on site and a convenience store at the bottom of the elevator which has very reasonable prices on everything from booze to nuts.
I loved the fact that you could choose to be active or just to sun at the pool or at the beach and return to your accommodation whenever you liked. There were plenty of tours available. The safety deposit is not complimentary. There may be some old information sheets around. I was very fortunate to spot a Doctor Bird, Jamaica's national bird who is an absolutely gorgeous humming bird with two long tail feathers. What a treat.
There was some partying on a weekend night but it closed down at a reasonable time. Otherwise very quiet and peaceful. I do plan to go back sooner rather than later.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor by choice but there are higher room with views. I have some pictures but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waterrat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed at this resort with my husband for a few days around New Years, and I was pleasantly surprised of the what you get for your money. No it is not all-inclusive, but they do have great breakfasts, free wifi and free access to the beach which is just across the street. The accommodation itself consists of a one bedroom apartment with a kitchen which we used to cook our own lunches and dinners. The grounds itself are very well maintained and the staff for the most part were quite helpful and polite. If you are looking for a home away from home, I would recommend this resort, although it is much better suited for singles or couples as outside of a pool, ping pong table and tennis court, there is not much to entertain the kiddies.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElGrecoResort, Sales and Marketing Coordinator at El Greco Resort, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Lorraine,

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your review.

There are a variety of games available at the front desk for children and adults. Our location makes it easy to access the beach and other attractions close by.

We look forward to having you with us again.

Regards,
Ordia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.1 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 63 in Montego Bay
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Montego Bay Club Resort
Montego Bay Club Resort
#34 of 63 in Montego Bay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Greco Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Greco Resort

Property: El Greco Resort
Address: 11 Queens Drive, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Greco Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Greco Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Greco Hotel Montego Bay
El Greco Montego Bay
Montego Bay El Greco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing