We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect.”
Review of Richmond Hill Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Montego Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Richmond Hill Inn
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect.”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Ahhhhhhhhhhh. My boyfriend and I splashed out and spent the last night of our Jamaica vacation at Richmond Hill. It was New Year's Eve. The entire experience was absolutely perfect. The view is amazing, the premises are stunning - great landscaping, cute decorations, lots of outdoor space to enjoy the pool, the view, or a book, the rooms are excellent (fridge, comfy bed, couch, balcony, nice bathroom) -
the restaurant, though it's not always open, "made a little something" for us on New Year's Eve which was one of our favorite meals of the trip (and was complimentary!). Great food.

The best part? All of the above pales in comparison to the warm-hearted women who run this place. They seem to get so much joy out of making their patrons happy. We loved them and their service!

It should be noted that the other couple at the hotel when we were there was a couple celebrating their 19th wedding anniversary - they had gotten married at Richmond Hill.

We had a very peaceful sleep and were told to keep in touch.

I highly highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great. Note - if you're fit, it's a quick walk from downtown - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    25
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
18
29
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

If you are staying in Montego Bay and want a wonderful experience away from the maddening crowd then stay here. This wonderful place is well worth finding. It is owned by a wonderful family who live on the premises. The rooms are delightful and the view from the main house is really awesome. You can see the entire bay from up on this hilltop. The house was originally built by the Dewar's (Scotch Whisky people) and the current owners bought the house a long long time ago and having lovingly taken care of it. You can tour the house. The home made breakfast is fabulous and they will cook you anything you want. The two sisters Gracie, Gayle and their mom are the most delightful and wonderful people.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

Loving Gracie, Gayle and Mom. Warm Hearts and support at my wedding. Respect! Really wonderful people. Firstly, the view is amazing and is a wonderful place for good lovely day or private event. Also, rates are reasonable and somewhere you would want to stay during vacation time or quite time. Definitely, staying there again soon. A lot of blessings!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank sirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Richmond Hill's beautiful setting along with a spectacular view of Montego Bay is Incredible. On several occasions while vacationing in Montego Bay, our driver have driven us to Richmond Hill where we're reminded of how simple and sweet life can be. The most memorable visit was when my fiancé proposed to me years ago. Richmond Hill has a special place in my heart.

Respectfully,

Debbie

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jamaica4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Mills, PA
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

Grace and Gail did a wonderful job of hosting a cocktail party that I set up for 20 coworkers and spouses. I told those attending the night would be memorable and it was. Great views, food, drinks, and ambiance!

Well done Grace and Gail!

Craig B.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cebakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I was last a guest at Richmond Hill in 1982 but my return was well worth it as we sipped our rum punch beside the pool overlooking Montego Bay for our final sunset on my recent visit.

The rooms were clean and we had a great view, breakfast was a selection of local fruit, toast and local coffee. We were made very welcome by Gayle and her staff who made sure we were well cared for, right down to helping us heck in on line for our flight

Room Tip: Top floors probably have the best views but it looked as if each room had a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JacquieMcD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new west
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We decided to have our wedding at richmond hill aka hotel grace because it has a great view, but that is the only thing good about it. First when we arrived two days before our wedding grace who ive been in contact with for over a year was nowhere to be found, and we had to speak with her 83 year old mother about everything that was supposed to have already been planned but she had no idea. Then the big day came and everything was a DISATER! there where 2 huge dogs walking around during my wedding, grace stopped me in the middle of my photo shoot to tell me i was rueing her dinner and it was gonna be cold so i needed to hurry up! then she got on the mic shouting at everyone. after the wedding i asked for my money back as i was no longer going to spend the night. thats when we were cursed and asalted. the food was soo bad no one ate it was not cooked or prepared properly we went to KFC after the wedding, they stole my wedding favors and when i asked for my knife and cake server i was told i should go buy another knife cause they were aluminum foil and not a big deal at this point i had to restrain my husband. My wedding day was a big disater thanks to grace, her mother and her sister even my guest are talking about how rude and lacking of customer service they are. dont let the view fool you like it did us the property is old and run down and not worth it. These people should be put out of business!

Room Tip: dont go there!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank saneka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.0 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
1.0 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 63 in Montego Bay
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
514 reviews
0.8 mi away
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
Polkerris Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 43 in Montego Bay
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Inn

Property: Richmond Hill Inn
Address: Union St, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing