We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Deer Lake
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Exceptional Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

From Arrival at the Airport to departure back to the Airport, everything was excellent. We travelled as a group of 4 all with different tastes, however none of us could find something to complain about. My room was perfect for our stay for the amount of time you spend there, closet a bit small but workable. Our travelling companions were in a club room which gave them a little more space than we had. Housekeeping done a wonderful job everyday.

The food, while we all had different taste buds, we found the food to be very well prepared and tasty from the morning buffet, the beach grill and pizzeria to the evening dinner. not one bad experience in any restaurant. A little long (2 hours for 4 people) in the O'leander but it is fine dinning.

The beach was maintained perfectly and more than met our expectations. While the pools are small they served our purpose. This is mainly a beach resort, pool side is limited.

All the staff from all parts of the resort were very friendly and helpful in all aspects of our stay. The welcome back reception and dinner was very informative and appreciated.

The only excursion we did was one that is not offered by the resort but is called the Blue Hole (Secret Falls) in Ocho Rios. I have also written a review for this (http://www.tripadvisor.ca/Attraction_Review-g147312-d1997485-Reviews-Blue_Hole-Ocho_Rios_Saint_Ann_Parish_Jamaica.html) Check it out worth it.

We did take the opportunity to visit the other 2 Sandals resorts in Montego Bay but never spent enough time in either or utilized the restaurant facilities to really get a feel for them, but on appearance we felt we chose the correct Sandals resort in Montego Bay.

DO NOT concern yourself with the fact that you are beside the runway.. after day 1 you will not even notice the planes.

Overall I would return and would recommend this resort to other travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeerLaketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for your great review of Sandals Montego Bay. We're so happy to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. It was a pleasure hosting you all and we look forward to welcoming you back for another amazing vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,331
    1,125
    408
    221
    146
See reviews for
170
3,931
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our stay in this hotel was based on a Butler package in the Bay Roc Village.

Transfer from another Jamaican Sandals resort and reception into Montego Bay was handled impeccably. Following the usual check-in modalities we were orientated by our Butler and shown to our room where the features of the hotel were explained.

For various reasons we stayed in two different rooms (and categories) on the Bay Roc side of the hotel, both of which were of the usual Sandals Standard which is high although showing some wear and tear, which is typical of most Caribbean resorts. The chief benefit of the Bay Roc village, besides Butler service, was its ambience with all rooms being adjacent to the sea and a peaceful atmoshere. Housekeeping throughout the stay was excellent with both Pauline and Camara seeing to all needs punctually which included operating at our preferred times consistently to allow maximum enjoyment of our day. All room drinks and toiletries were of the highest quality with a decent quality vin mousseux being provided when required and the usual very good Sandals house wines being replenished daily. The only downside to the village was the distance to the main facilities – the price paid for its tranquillity.

Bar Service throughout the hotel was excellent both in terms of availability and service. Food was generally very good (although see note below) with breakfast being both varied and also offering a quieter a la carte service three time a week at a different venue. Lunch was served as either buffet in the main restaurant on a daily changing themed basis or beach-side with both local items, fast-food and excellent pizzas. Dinner offered four formal venues plus a stir-fry restaurant and extended hour food service at the ‘pub’. Both Cucina Romana and The Oleander Room could be classed as high quality dining with most of the entrees cooked to order. Our only disappointment came with a single meal at ‘Stewfish’ – we did not return. Here the food all appeared to have been ‘prepped’ well in advance and not always as described on the menu; local fish stewed in coconut milk and okra was in fact served with (substituted) green peppers and being told that the okra had ‘melted or disappeared’ in the cooking, did not impress. It was a pity because at other Sandals resorts the equivalent venues were usually very good (at Sandals Negril, its equivalent ‘Barefoot in the Sand’ can be rated excellent).

The Red Lane Spa service was totally professional – well recommended. Check-out and airport transfer were unproblematic. Management constantly ‘walked’ the hotel and chatted with guests.
All of these points made for an excellent stay; however the Butler service we received from Andrea and Danesha (and at times their colleagues) raised the whole experience to a new level. They catered for and anticipated every need. They provided a service second to none and Sandals needs no better ambassadors (nor salespersons) for their product other than such individuals. Everyday brought new surprises and, at times, excitements which they thoughtfully arranged. They ‘made’ our holiday and will ensure our return.

Room Tip: Bay Roc are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jefferson City, Missouri
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We have traveled a lot, but this was one of the most relaxing and fun vacations my husband and I have been on. The entertainment staff was a blast and the snorkeling was incredible! The resort was clean, fun, and relaxing. They took care of us from the minute we arrived at the airport to the time we left. We had the most basic room, but they upgraded us for free when we were there. The only complaint I have is that the restaurants were booked that required reservations. Book your reservations as soon as you book your trip. We showed up at the restaurants and waited for a seat, but it took a while. We went to the Royal Caribbean while we were there, but the only thing that was even remotely better was the snorkeling. I WILL be back to this resort!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tberendzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenolden, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I just came back last Wednesday from a wonderful 5 night stay. We were there for our friend's wedding which was beautiful! I have to give some love to my favorite Playmakers who were fantastic! Mikel, and Hartlon! It amazes me how hard these guys work! They go out of their way to make sure everyone has a great time. They are there all day long doing different activities with the guests and then all night showing their incredible talents in the shows and then on the dance floor at the cricketers! They do not stop! My husband and i got married at Sandals Grand Antigua and I have have nothing bad to say about there either but we didn't have Playmakers so it was neat to experience something different! Overall we had a great stay, a ton of fun and delicious food! We wish we never came home :-)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darialyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sk
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed Nov.1-7, 2013

Beach 4/5
Sand was soft, lots of chairs, palapas, trees, shaded areas and reservable beach beds. The beach was where the majority of the guests could be found.

Pool(s) 2+/5
Not a highlight at this resort. Both are small with limited seating around them. You would not come to this resort if you were after an amazing pool. There is a swim up bar.

Rooms 3+/5
Standard hotel room with traditional Sandals "tropical" decor. Full bottles of liquor, stocked mini fridge, digital safe and free wifi if staying in a concierge room. No elevators, but only 3 floors. Our room did not have blackout curtains, so it was VERY bright in the mornings. Although the room had A/C, the bathrooms only had vents. Robes in the room.

Fitness n/a
Although we didn't use it, it was available 24hours. It was large and spacious with a good variety of modern equipment.

Spa n/a
Treatments were very expensive.

Dining 3+/5
Some reservations required. Enjoyed ability to dine around. Cricketers was our favorite place to be. Food was alright at most places we tried. Atmosphere was okay...we dined at the Thai restaurant at Sandals Royal Caribbean were we listed to "Bad Boys" and Shaggy's "It wasn't Me" - I know we were in Jamaica, it still seemed a little off.

Other:
There was some construction going on. It did not bother us as they usually only worked during the day. Water main break while we were there (no water for 24hours). We did receive a call apologizing for the incident. The stay at 1, play at 3 option was nice. Lots of activities available throughout the day. We were pleasantly surprised by the variety of ages. Didn't expect so many young people or the friendly outgoing atmosphere. This resort is adjacent to the airports runway. It caught us off guard when we first arrived and heard an airplane taking off. It was VERY loud. Although I got use to it and found it fascinating, some might find it annoying and disruptive of their vacation time. Just be aware. We enjoyed our stay, but I think we would try a different resort before returning to this Sandals.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fricknzorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Overall it was a perfect honeymoon! We stayed in a honeymoon beachfront walk out room.
I give value and room a 4 due to the over priced pictures. $70 to put 4 pictures on a cd. I feel the bathrooms/tubs should be luxurious for the price; not motel looking. Though it worked for showering!
Staff was very friendly. We did a private snorkel excursion and it was worth it! We loved Tokyo Joes! We didn't leave our spot to see other island or resorts. We loved Montego Bay Sandals! Food was amazing. Dirty Banana abd Jamaican Smile were our favorite drinks! I miss you Jamaica!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t123dawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Hotel was nice, staff is excellent, very helpful and accommodating. Restaurants were delicious and beach was awesome. However, there is no ATM on hotel property, if you need cash you will have to hire cab to take you to an ATM. The tour company there didn't have a lot of tours for things around MoBay. We ended up hiring driver,Mr. Ricardo, who was great. Took us where we wanted to go plus gave us a tour of town and educated us on Jamaican history. Hotel advertises all kinds of water activities but several require classes, like snorkeling or hobie cats. All classes are at the same time so you can only take one a day. You may want to set all water activities on your first day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tj615b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
7.9 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Destinology, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing