We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun-filled relaxing vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fun-filled relaxing vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

We spent 6 nights at Sandals, our first all-inclusive resort trip (we've done resorts, but never all-inclusive) and it was great. The concierge service was very helpful, they always had the answers we needed! It wasn't too shabby to be greeted with a glass of rum punch upon arrival either! The food was OK - Bayside breakfast was a buffet - nothing special, but the breakfast at Cucina Romana was much better - cooked to order and more options. By far our favorite restaurant was Tokyo Jos, while there isn't a ton of variety, the food was consistently delicious and they put on a bit of a show (similar to hibachi, just not at your table).

The snorkeling is great (definitely bring your own gear if you have it, germophobes won't like reusing the snorkels - plus they tasted like soap!) if they talk you into doing the $30 per person snorkeling to Margaritaville, bring your own alcohol, a soda and mixed drink w/ the 2 souvenir cups was $35 USD!!!! They also take you to a duty free shop - the "sales associates" will follow you around and try to get you to buy anything you look at for more than 2 seconds, but know that you can definitely bargain with them.

Point to note: bartending at Sandals is NOT consistent. The bartenders in the main building (near the sky dome) are some of the best, and use real glassware. The beach & pool bars use jugs of pre-mixed cocktails and drinks were very inconsistent. BRING YOUR OWN INSULATED MUG. The cups they give on the beach are cheap plastic, many with cracks so they leak. The ice melts too fast and sand can get in your drink. Pack a LARGE (12+ ounces minimum) insulated mug, take it in the water, the sand, anywhere and you will save yourself a lot of time and energy running back to the bar and waiting in line.

Also - you WILL NOT get used to the planes flying overhead. Some reviews said it wasn't noticeable, I have no idea how you don't notice it. BUT, the staff waves everytime a plane flies overhead, so they have a good sense of humor about it!

Other than that, sit back and ENJOY! Its beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slick_Tracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We're thrilled to read that you had a great vacation at Sandals Montego Bay. We strive to create stellar vacation experiences for our guests. Therefore, we're disappointed to hear your comments about some aspects of our vacation package. Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future for a 5-star experience that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,274
    1,114
    398
    219
    144
See reviews for
165
3,868
19
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,208)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

A special thank you to Alford who greeted and spoke with us every day. The extremely friendly staff made us feel so at home. We loved the Bayside Restaurant especially for breakfast. Reney, Kemisha, Courtney and Tameika and the rest of the staff always made sure we had everything we needed and more. We liked the chance to go to all the different restaurants throughout the resort and found the food delicious. Hartland and the "playmakers" kept us laughing with games, dance, singing and nightly entertainment. Satchwell (Owen) was hard working, friendly, and always checking to see if you were happy and enjoying your day. It is a lively resort where there is never a dull moment with so much to see and do. The beach is gorgeous. Our rooms were beautiful and clean. This is our third trip here from Nova Scotia, Canada. It has become our home away from home. We look forward to returning when we can and see our extended "family.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are great. We prefer the Seagrapes building for the view and because it is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We're so happy that you enjoyed your wonderful vacation at Sandals Montego Bay. We always strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and it seems our team was able to make your stay an exceptional one. Thank you so much for your review. We hope to welcome you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

My husband and I toiled over where we would spend our honeymoon given our budget and vacation preferences. Having vacationed in Montego Bay, Jamaica while we were dating we knew we wanted to return to someplace familiar. The last time we went to Jamaica in Oct 2012 we stayed at the Hilton, love it but wanted a place for adults only. We took a chance on Sandals Montego Bay - 5 nights, 6 days - Butler Village Jr. Veranda Room and what a GREAT decision that was.

Upon arrival we met with the red cap service and relax at the MoBay lounge at the airport. Our butler gave us two P-mosas (pineapple with champagne) which has become my favorite drink right now. We arrived at the Sandals, we were greeted by one of our butlers, DORIAN. A charming and warm young lady ...I felt we became close sisters right away! She escorted us to our Jr. Veranda room. It was a gorgeous set up...two bottles of champagne...someone else knocked on the door to give us another bottle. We were in awe of the double sinks and a separate Jacuzzi tub ( we must have this room type for our follow up visits to Sandals). Later in the week, DORIAN and housekeeping staff surprised us with swann made of towels, chocolate-covered strawberries and rose petals that led to a warm bubble bath! Very romantic!!

Later that evening we met our 2nd bulter, GLENROY, who is the head butler but we did not know until later that week. Very humble and genuine man who could talk to us like we've known him for years. When we missed "Jamaican" food day because of our day trip to Negril, Glenroy brought us some authentic Jamaican dinner for 2 to dine inside of our suite. Every morning we ate breakfast on our balcony. It was so quite on that side of the island, I didn't want to miss a moment. We woke up to waves crashes on the shore every morning. On the last morning, Glenroy prepared breakfast on the balcony without alerting us until the appointed time. He must have scaled the walls to the second floor!

We experience our 1st couples massage at the Spa...which was so relaxing and enjoyable. I would recommend. Thank you Andrea and JASMINE.

The housekeeping staff, ANNETTE and ESTREAN, were the absolute best at what they do. I remember tearing up when we had to say goodbye to ANNETTE and she encouraged me that she wanted to see me with child one day. SO Super sweet!!

Overall, if you stay at Sandals MoBay you will get Service and Professionalism...yet the entire staff allows you the space and quietness you seek without being imposing. That's not easy to do but they do it well at Sandals.

Next time we return we will do the MoBay rdtrip VIP check in service to expedite our way in and out of the country.

We met great people there, Derald and his wife Pat, who have become part of the Sandals family. They are encouraging us to return for the New Year's Eve party...why not???!

Oh and my favorite part...the candlelight dinner on the beach. Our servicer arrived with a rose for my husband to present to me (lol). The food was amazing. The waves came covered our feet once and it was so spontaneous and romantic. I can't wait to return to Sandals. I would visit other resorts but this was a great first time experience with butler service and we would have to ask for this service everytime!!

Thank you all for making this the most memorable experience (next to my wedding)!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review of Sandals Montego Bay. It was an honor to host you for your honeymoon and we're so happy that our team took excellent care of you. It seems you had an incredible honeymoon stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you for another memorable vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We just returned from a week's stay at SMB. It was once again Fabulous!!!!!! We had butler service, we were spoiled by Craig & Cordia. They are professional, but are also so much fun!
Anne, Karma & Katrice in the gift shop are fabulous, we love them dearly.
Dalton, Robert, Celene, Simone in the restaurants were great! Dawn Smith, the hotel manager is a very kind, wonderful lady, who cares that you have a fabulous vacation.
We have booked a 2 week stay over Christmas & New Years. We cannot wait.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pat t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review. It sounds like you truly had an amazing stay at Sandals Montego Bay. You enjoyed every minute of your vacation spent with us and we couldn't be happier to hear it. We look forward to your return for another awesome visit in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

This was our first to an all inclusive resort and we loved it. From the very beginning, and throughout our whole stay the staff was extremely friendly and engaging. Something we have never experienced before. Most of our time was spent at the beach under a palapa with the occasional dip in the warm water or out on a paddle board. Our favorite server, Tiffany, somehow knew when we were ready for our next drink and even had fun encouraging us to try new drinks that we might enjoy. She was the highlight of our entire trip. Another huge shout out to the rest of the staff at the Beach Bar. Demar (the trainee), Omar and Demar were always there for us.

The food was wonderful, enjoyed trying all the restaurants. Especially enjoyed the breakfast buffet. The only let down was the Italian restaurant.....no wow factor and the food was terrible.

Hope to see you guys again next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you so much for posting about your amazing holiday at Sandals Montego Bay. I'm so glad that we were able to make your stay so wonderful. It´s great to know that we met your expectations and made this an incredible experience for you!

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGH
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Lies lies lies!!! Worst resort ever!! This was our 3rd sandals and last! We were talked into getting the sandals credit card and booking a trip at the soon come back and we were told we would get enough points to get $200 off. Lies!!! I am so livid that I am telling everyone about this! We planned a trip for us and 2 other couple to go a different sandals in a couple months but we are all canceling and trying somewhere new. This resort was horrible , you couldn't get in to any restaurants, even though they were clearly not busy, the staff was rude. We paid for internet ( business reasons) an it was always down. Bar tenders any addressed you if you tipped them. That is not the sandals way. I could go on but I'm just done with place an I am going to let everyone know!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
10 Thank Stinkerbell1131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
We're so sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your stay. This is certainly not our standard and we would like to correct the situation and make things right. We hope that you will afford us the opportunity to turn this around and offer the luxurious experience for which we are known.

Thank you for your feedback. I look forward to making contact with you regarding this matter very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangeville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was our 3rd year in a row coming to Sandals Montego Bay. This time we took my husband's parents as well. We can't say enough great things about SMB! Our concierge, Marvin, was excellent as always. Anna-Kay kept our room sparkling clean for us, and David and Damar were always on the beach to bring us our favourite drinks. My in-laws had Mykal and Nasha as their butlers and were pampered every day! We went to our daughter's wedding at Grand Pladium and couldn't wait to get back to SMB! As my husband likes to say, "A beach is a beach, and a room is a room. It's the people that make us come back again and again." My in-laws felt like a king and queen, and we were the prince and princess. The food at all the restaurants is top notch! I never have to worry that the food won't be cooked properly, as every meal is a joy at SMB. I just can't wait to go back to SMB in January! Being greeted like family and pampered like royalty! Amazing, wonderful, beautiful vacation!

Room Tip: Every room at SMB is nice. The butler rooms are really gorgeous, but I don't think there is a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mamabear1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Sandals Montego Bay. We love to read about how much we impressed our guests, especially our return guests as you are already familiar with the high Sandals standard. We're glad that we're still able to exceed your expectations! This is truly encouraging feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you home very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
8.9 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
3.6 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#10 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,084 reviews
28.2 mi away
Sandals South Coast
Sandals South Coast
#1 of 1 in White House
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,556 reviews
7.9 mi away
Round Hill Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag and Destinology so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing