We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time at Sandals Montego Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
San Angelo, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time at Sandals Montego Bay”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Holy cow, went to Sandals Montego Bay and it was wonderful. From the service to just relaxing my fiancée and I had a wonderful time. After doing extensive research on where to go on vacation Sandals Montego Bay did not disappoint. The most favorite thing that I liked about Mobay was that you could do whatever you wanted whenever you wanted and nobody was going to tell you different. If you are thinking about going on a vacation with no worries Sandals Montego Bay is the place to go!

Room Tip: Book a catamaran cruise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to create amazing experiences for our guests and I'm so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay.

We can't wait to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,448
    1,161
    424
    225
    148
See reviews for
182
4,082
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,275)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My significant other and I spent a week at this resort in mid-April 2014; our overall experience was generally positive. The staff service was excellent; the facility is beginning to show its age - bathroom in particular needs a make-over; the nightly entertainment was fair. The quality of the food at the various restaurants was at best fair - the best meal we had was on our last night at Tokyo Joes, however the service was poor. We felt that the spa service pricing was misleading in that we were led to believe that there was a12.5% tax when in fact it was a service fee added to the total for the therapists -had we known that in advance we would not have tipped the $40. Special appreciation to the club concierge staff and to Romaine (waiter in the Italian restaurant) for the excellent service. Given the costs I'm not sure I would make a second visit.

Room Tip: Beachfront Walkout Club level are well located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nebraska
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were on our honeymoon and we're supposed to have rose petals and cold champagne in the room upon arrival...no rose petals and somewhat chilled champagne. We also paid for the VIP departure lounge at the airport in Jamaica but never got the tickets and we weren't really told much about it and what we needed or where to go so we just sat in the crappy seats for two hours at the airport waiting our flight. Other than being out those things it was a good time.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonersNeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Methuen
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

The first Sandals Resort my wife and I visited was Montego Bay in 2005. The first time was plenty of fun and that was the draw to be repeat guests throughout the Sandals Resort. This second time around at Montego Bay we were anxious to see if/how things at the resort have come along. We were not disappointed.

Restaurants. The addition of the Pizzeria and the Mariner for lunch in addition to Bayside provides plenty of options depending on your taste for the given afternoon. The pizzeria created a variety of personal pizzas or by the slice. Excellent taste, very creative and great display.

The Mariner offered many options. The burger, french fries, and coleslaw were fine with me.

The self help ice cream machine outside provided a quick snack in the afternoon.

Bayside has different lunch themes. Some days the food is appealing to one's taste buds, another day you might want to pass. Therefore, having options ensures you will alway enjoy your lunch. The desserts are always delicious though.

Dinner:
The Oleander. Reservations required. The presentation of the meal was appealing. The service superb. The taste and quality of the dinner exquisite.

The Italian Restaurant, Cucina Romana. Reservations required. Some dishes were Italian, while others did not fit the theme. No problem however, as it is understood foods are offered based on availability. Again, presentation, service, and quality were outstanding.

Tokyo Jo's. Expect a wait, but well worth the wait. This restaurant offered a different cuisine from the others - a nice change.

Bayside For Dinner: Did not do. This is the restaurant of choice for many people by default.

Breakfast at Bayside: Plenty of options including fresh fruit, danish, eggs, and just about anything.

Suggestion: The coffee served in Bayside is soooo strong. Just outside the restaurant where couples wait to be seated, there is a coffee canister. The best coffee. Make yourself a cup.

Beach Party: Monday Night. I always like the beach party early in the week. You are surrounded by good food, great entertainment, and you see and become acquainted with many of the people you will meet during your stay. Outside vendors are brought in to sell their goods.

Entertainment: There is nightly entertainment. The entertainment has since improved from 2005. Previously the night life was boring. Now, there is something to look forward to each night. MoBay offers a great selection.

I almost forgot, Cricketeers Pub: New since our last visit. Although we did not go in this time around, we have eaten at the pub on other Sandals Resorts and never have a complaint. In speaking with some guests, they really enjoyed the dining options and tastes. This is the place to be for those who like to be up late into the morning hours.

Activities: Many to choose from. We took only 1 excursion which was offered through the water sports. For 120.00/couple you will be taken by the smaller boat to Margaritaville. Expect to purchase a drink (at a high cost), 20.00 for 2 frozen margaritas. You have the option to visit a local vendor a few doors up from the bar. There is a gift shop at Margaritaville as well. No shirts or shoes required. You are then able to slide down the water slide at Margaritaville. At the top, the "lifeguard" likes tips - I gave a dollar second time around. Be sure to cross your legs, arms, and keep your head down. I lifted my head just a little - my first time on a water slide. It seems the tube is metal and the ride can be bumpy. I banged the back of my head fairly hard as I later learned. Suffered a slight concussion, but symptoms did not appear until late in the evening.

After Margaritaville, you go snorkeling nearby. From there you take ride back down the coast and visit Sandals Royal and the private island. Depending on the time of the trip, you might even have lunch at the Royal.

Now, these little stops can be done on your own, definitely a lot cheaper than 120. For example, you can take a cab ride to Margaritaville; Sandals offers free snorkeling at select times; and there is a complimentary shuttle to the Royal. However, this provided a one stop deal and it was personalized.

Arrival in Jamiaca: After you make it through customs, there is a Sandals Lounge that offers restrooms, drinks, snacks, sofas, etc. Very nice. When the shuttle is ready, you are taken to MoBay. When you first arrive, you are taken to the concierge lounge which was a new addition since our last visit. Very pleasant staff.

Overall: Our second time at the resort was a better experience with the new enhancements to the resort. The only downfall was the "chair wars." This is a new phenomenon within the last 5 years. In order to have seating by the water or under a tiki, you must get up at about 5am and place your towels. You can always pull a seat closer to the water at anytime, but it is nice to have shade throughout the day.

There is not a large pool as other resorts, so the bulk of guests remain on the beach.

Great staff, nice to meet other couples, food is good, the property is clean, great vacation.




Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackson nj
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I spent 5 days and 4 nights here for our honeymoon and loved every minute of it. Our room had an amazing view of the ocean. Every morning they left flowers and towels folded into swans on our bed. Our fridge was always stocked with beverages and twice a day they cleaned the room. The food was excellent. I highly recommend the jerk chicken down by the beach. And definitely ask each bartender to make you their specialty!

Room Tip: We had a second floor room in the Almond building. And it included concierge service which allowed u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
medina, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have been to Jamaica ten times now, and each time we leave loving the people and country more and more. This was are second visit to this resort, something we rarely do for fear a second visit may disappoint. We were not disappointed! We took our children on this trip, ages 26 and 28 to share our love of Jamaica. They too fell in love with the country and people, especially our daughter who is a biologist. Shout outs to our butlers Cordia and Craig who made our days fun. Special thanks to Cordia for stopping to chat each day with us about the customs and food of Jamaica. Also shout out to Courtney who kept my daughters coffee cup filled everyday at breakfast, a task difficult to do. Also to our waiter at Oleander and sometimes at breakfast, a quiet demeanor but awesome person. Also if looking for a driver to explore on your own give Clifton, aka yogi bear, a call as he will take you wherever you want to go. We did a craft market, quick stop at duty free for coffee and lunch at Scotchies. Scotchies is a local restaurant ( you order your food at the window) and they will bring it to you. We had jerk chicken, pork, sweet potatoes, festival and breadfruit...local food that is authentic and goooooodddd! We did not make it to our other favorite, the boat house where seafood is to die for...maybe next time. We will soon be back!
Beaches away, medina, ohio

Room Tip: We love the oceanfront butler suites. Our room this time was on the second floor giving us a huge p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beacheshockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

When we arrived that the lounge at the airport we were told we were going to Whitehouse, we said no we weren't, a bit of a disagreement, finally were taken to Mo-bay. Upon arrival we were told we would be going to the Carlyle on the 6th day of our 7 day stay. We also met others that got to stay ay Mo-bay their entire stay. We went to the desk everyday before we set out for the day to check on our status...nothing. I wasn't sleeping due to the not knowing, but finally on Sunday our 6th day Dawn fixed it so we could stay.
I want to give the biggest shout out to Dawn Smith the manager of Mo-bay, she is awesome and enjoys her work and her clients! To Mr. Chris thank you so much for the pleasure of meeting you and all your help. To Jo thanks for trying.
Our stay at Mo-bay was wonderful. The food was so much better than in December, service at Bayside with Richard was fun. He is a very funny man. My favorite place at Mo-bay is the Oleander Room. It is beautifully decorated and the service was impeccable with Petrulia, thank you. Jethro at the "Pint" is such fun to be around and a good waiter, thanks for the crown!
We were thinking of going to the Carlyle in December, but are rethinking about going back to Mo-bay! We hadn't been there since 2007 and it was a good time. Thanks for the support and help you all gave us. There were some things that could be addressed but I won't because it didn't matter.
At the Royal Caribbean our shout outs go to: My Jamaican husband Garfield, our daughter Simone, our son Velentine, and my favorite bartender Owen, and my husbands Jamaican wife Shelley Ann, you guys totally rock the Royal!!! Thank you for always making us feel special and welcome. Devon you have great people working for you, please take care of them. We LOVE YOU GUYS!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Sea-grapes are quiet and you have a front and back entrance. It is by the croquet cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa1918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,387 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
31.0 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Holiday Gems, Destinology, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing