We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6 night Getaway to Sandals Montego Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was our 6th trip to Jamaica over 25 years, 4th to a Sandals, and 2nd to MOBAY. We found the excelled in some areas, very good in others, and and up short in others. But overall a very enjoyable week. We enjoy MOBAY area hotels because you do not waste preceious vacation hours getting around the island. Because we were upgraded to a Presidential Suite (with semi -private pool!!), we were in the hotel reception lounge within 20 minutes of receiving our luggage, as there was a private car waiting to take us to the resort. Our friends who did not have that service were not far behind and enjoyed a Red Stripe in the Sandals Lounge at the Airport.
We were told it would be an hour wait for our room, which considering our early arrival (11:10 at the hotel) was not a big deal.. Used the time to re-aquaint ourselves with ourselves with the resort and have a few drink or two.
We had booked a Beach Front Butler Villa Suite and found we were upgraded to Presidential. Beautiful room with great living room, bar, and beautiful bedroom. Only complaint is lack of walk in shower, and poor water pressure. Have to be careful getting in and out of tub. Room location excellent. Semi private pool outside the door and just beyond that the beach. Centrally located on property so close to everything. Our butlers, Shoval and Shaniel, were outstanding. With a special shout out to Shaniel as we saw her more often.Always a smile on her face, and despite being constantly on the go, never made us feel ike we were putting her our or getting cheated anyway. She constantly checked up on us during the day, would surprise at the pool with tropical drinks to try, and would always spend time during the day chatting and getting to know us and giving us a laugh.
As I am now rambling will get into some simple bullet points:
-Food very good for the most part, especially breakfast outside at the Bayside! We love "brekkies" and never waited too long for an omelet and the buffet wast just fine.
Many options for lunch where you cant go wrong.
-If you are a pool person you may want to consider a different property as the pools are comparatively small, though I will say never had to wait too long at swim up bar, especially when servers got to know you and your drink preferences. That said, if you are more of a beachperson this is one of the biggest and finer beaches you will find at any Sandals, and they keep it very clean,
-The staff, with a few exceptions, were very friendly, especially the ladies in the gift shop. Despite the non tipping policy, did find some staff fishing for tips on our last day ( tipping of butlers is expected)
-By coincidence We just happened to be there on Reunion Week, and because of our Sandals history recieved some gifts and were invited to take place in some activities, most of which we chose not to participate in.. My only complaint about reunion week is that at the swim up bar and restaurants, you are surrounded by many "cliques", who can sometimes be a bit loud and obnoxious. I get it that they are there to have fun. We all are Some of them walk around like they own the place and feel the need to impart their resort wisdom on normal folk.
-Entertainment, though sometimes a little long, has been upgraded, with more outside acts performing and not the standard Playmaker shows.
Overall, we always have enjoyed Sandals and this time was no exception.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eisenser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,246 - 2,252 of 5,501 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

We cannot say enough about our recent trip to Sandals Mobay! From the ease of check-in, the excellent customer service, amazing food and friendly staff the entire Sandals experience was over the top!

Yes there are planes, yes they are loud but they only last a few seconds - you will get used it and it is really kinda cool!

Kudos to the Playmakers for keeping people entertained and involved during their stay...Shanna, Heartland, Michael and Kendria and the rest were all friendly and fun!
We loved getting to know the staff and my husband really enjoyed learning to speak Patois "Likkle mo, Wha ah gwan"

The food and service was AMAZING. Major praise to the fabulous chefs at Stewfish, everything was cooked to perfection not to mentioned it offers one of the most romantic places to eat and watch the sunset with your feet planted in the sand - we ended up eating there back to back nights!!!

Bayside omelette chefs were also amazing and offered up friendly smiles, chit chat and of course wonderful service!

The beach is wonderfully maintained. Although it can be tough at times to find a chair mid-day there are certainly tons of other places to sit around the resort and still soak up the sun! The pool bar is fun day and night! Huge SHOUT OUT to Tevin and Dane - these two gentlemen will keep your drinks flowing and will know your name and drink of choice after the first day!

The guys/gals at the dive shop are great! Big D was an amazing coach for my husband on his first diving adventures such a knowledgeable and patient guy who makes the whole diving experience fun, relaxing and safe! Macca keeps the snorkel crowds coming and going, he is a friendly face on those early morning snorkels out to the reef - remember only lookie-lookie - keep the touchy-touchy for the room :)

Omar is a wonderful photographer, we ended up purchasing a lot of his shots at the end of the trip at Snapshots to commemorate our 10th Anniversary. He is a laid back funny guy who really takes pride in his work and get the best shots possible. We enjoyed a good laugh with him while on the beach with the crazy girl heckling us - we even bought the photo of us cracking up!!! Great memories thanks Omar!!!!

All in all - our first Sandals experience was amazing and beyond our expectations! We cannot wait to try SWH next spring (and yet we already booked it)!

If you want romance, fun and sun Sandals Mobay will not disappoint!!!

Room Tip: The palms building (2nd floor) near the butler cottages provides a wonderfully unobstructed view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zohiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

March 22 to 29th. The grounds of the resort itself was beautiful and the food was excellent. (Robert you were wonderful). We had club level rooms - what a disappointment. The rooms were dated and the bathroom needed a complete overall. When you take a shower it would take forever for the water to drain from the tub and then the horrible smell that came afterwards. We complained but nothing was ever done. During our stay while my son was playing volleyball he had two pairs of footware stolen from the court. We checked with security, the front desk and managers on duty. Absolutely no help was given. I certainly did not expect this at a sandals resort. The excursions from the resort were very, very pricy. Also, I was told no tipping at the resort --- what a joke--some almost asked. I like to tip when I feel it is deserved - not because someone announces I like tips..!! Overall, our first ever family vacation came with a lot of disappointments. Some of the staff were friendly (Robert and Ms.Shaw) others were not!!! I would love to return to Jamaica but never to sandals. I should have been given some sort of compensation for the rooms. They didn't even offer an upgrade. Two rooms for four adults and our first every - very overpriced holiday. we have learned a lot. Shaw, Smith and Hubley.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Madonna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Wow, it was a wonderful experience. I wish I could remember more employees names because they all deserve a personal "thank you". These are only a few. Our butlers Carlene and Shelly. The catamaran crew - all of them. The Cricketeers staff-Jethro, Stanrick, Javed. The entertainment crew was so lively.
The reggae catamaran cruise is a must. Be sure and spend time in the swim up bar pool. The waiters are great. The beach bartenders are hilarious and love to sing.
We stayed in the Presidental Suites (a duplex) and had a pool on our patio. I definitely recommend this room.
I was so impressed with all the staff. They are so genuine. Always laughing with each other and the guests. So many smiles.
The jets taking off was no problem at all!!!
I'm definitely going back.

Room Tip: Presidential Suite with a shared pool. Oceanfront. Private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 393barbaram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The service is above awesome. Next time we come will know to bring bug spray. The first day we got here and the jets were flying out we thought it would be aweful but actually you get used to them and don't even notice. I can't brag enough on the staff. We have done the falls, zip lining and the lovers cruise (I highly recommend all of them). We have found our yearly anniversary destination.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candy1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your stay at Sandals Montego Bay. We can't wait to see you again and offer you an even better vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were expected to tip everyone at every location. The service was less than of good quality if we did not. They all openly asked for tips. We had issues with getting more cash from Sandals. They first said they could give us an advance for 10% then we were told they couldn't and we would have to spend $8 each person one way for a taxi+tip just to get to a close ATM and pay the fee at the ATM and a potentially unsafe transaction. After speaking with one manager and insisting that we are not willing to do this and didn't understand as to why they couldn't give an advance they finally decided to do it. Another manager came out and after appx. 30 minutes later they said they would only be able to pay in Jamaican Dollars. That morning we had already given them hundreds of US Dollars to pay for excursions so we knew they had US Dollars. They eventually agreed to do this. It was more hassle than we ever would have thought possible just to get cash to spend at their resort and for their activities that were offered. We were met by very many rude and bossy people at the resort. I've stayed at many resorts and this has never been an issue. You're treated above and beyond with hospitality. We were on our honeymoon and supposed to get rose petals, chilled champagne, etc. and this never came. One example with food is that we ordered pizza at Dino's Pizza and our order was first not taken correctly then was misplaced. We ordered when it was sunny and by the time we got our pizza appx. 45 minutes later it was pouring. They tried to give our pizzas away to people that had only just walked up to order within 5 minutes. The only reason it was resolved was because the younger gentleman working there took innocative and put our pizzas in and ensured they were properly delivered to us. The older, taller woman that seemed to be the manager of that area was speaking to him and all employees in an aggravated tone. All excursions we went on were closer to Ocho Rios which is over an hour bus ride away where of course you have to then tip the bus driver and the tour guides. My advice is to go to another resort if you're looking for great service. We look forward to trying another Sandals Resort but never Montego Bay again.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank setark1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

We always strive to offer amazing vacation experiences and anything less than perfect calls for improvement on our part. It seems we did not meet your expectations in a few areas of our service. We want to ensure that our future guests do not share the same experience. Therefore, your feedback will be sent to our General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed.

Thank you for your review.

Hopefully, we will get the opportunity to welcome you for a stay that exceeds your expectations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Holy cow, went to Sandals Montego Bay and it was wonderful. From the service to just relaxing my fiancée and I had a wonderful time. After doing extensive research on where to go on vacation Sandals Montego Bay did not disappoint. The most favorite thing that I liked about Mobay was that you could do whatever you wanted whenever you wanted and nobody was going to tell you different. If you are thinking about going on a vacation with no worries Sandals Montego Bay is the place to go!

Room Tip: Book a catamaran cruise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ryan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cassie C, Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank you for your review of Sandals Montego Bay. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to create amazing experiences for our guests and I'm so happy that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay.

We can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,562 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.8 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £411 - £1,221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Destinology, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Prestigia, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing