We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Montego Bay Wedding - Nigel the Wedding Captain”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
West Hempstead, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sandals Montego Bay Wedding - Nigel the Wedding Captain”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Attended one of my best friends weddings a few weeks ago. I have to give a big shout out to "Nigel the Wedding Captain". He was friendly, courteous, and unbelievably attentive. You couldn't ask for anything more. He made sure everyone was absolutely taken care of and definitely knows hot to get the party going. Sandals MoBay was very good but Nigel made it excellent.

Thanks for the good time Nigel. If anyone is having a wedding or event, Nigel is your guy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Layton G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,394
    1,140
    418
    224
    147
See reviews for
175
4,010
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This trip really exceeded our expectations. I heard Sandals was great, but I didn't expect it to be this amazing. It started with an amazing welcome from Alford or (Big Al). He really made us feel right at home. He quickly got our room ready and tracked us down on the resort to get us settled as soon as possible. The next biggest player was your playmakers. Kadeon Kelly was so fabulous. She really made us feel like a part of her family. She was entertaining and fun. She did everything that she could to make us have so much fun. Jacino and Remellda were amazing as well. We also really appreciated the server at Bayside, her name was Sharine. She was so sweet and really did everything she could to make sure our meals were great when we dined there. If i had to complain about one thing, it was that they didn't clean up empty glasses often enough. The swim up bar pool was littered with empty drink cups and no one ever came around to pick them up until late in the day causing there to be a lot of insects. Also, plates and other things were left siting around the pool table area. Also, our neighbors ordered room service and they left the plates there for a while. Birds started picking at the food. Also, when they did finally pick up the plates, they left the food the birds were picking at right outside the door, causing there to be a whole lot of ants crawling around outside our room. Other than that, it was relaxing, beautiful and the food and drinks were great.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just got back from Sandals Mobay and have had an amazing holiday. The complex was beautiful with some of the best keep and picturesque gardens I have ever seen. The beach and sea are lovely. Could not fault the cleanliness of the rooms, bars and Restaurants. We visited all of the Restaurants whilst we were there and the food was amazing in all of them.
Would like to say a massive thank you to Renay and Palmer our butlers you looked after us so well and was always so pleasant and happy.
The only thing I was slightly surprised at was the entertainment was not as good as I was expecting. I thought there would be some really good shows and performances but did not see any :(
Would defo recommend going to Jamaica and Sandals Montego Bay.
Thank you for a lovely holiday :)

Room Tip: If you would like a quiet room go down the far end of the resort past the watersports centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HLeader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delaware
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A really great vacation! Had a wonderful time but had a few negatives we want to point out for anyone traveling there. Overall, this was a luxurious, pampered, well rested vacation. Food and drink quality was great. Quite a number of couples got married there during our stay.

The staff is super friendly and upbeat. But they're not allowed to accept tips, but are very appreciative for them.

Rooms were great, open bar in the room, included, sodas included, food included, toys for the beach area such as snorkel and floats NOT INCLUDED! come on guys, had to pay $90 for snorkels, really?! Snorkels are reserved for people going on the snorkeling excursion. Still, there's more included than on most cruises! Beware of the water sports booth, they really try to push you to the not-included, expensive activities! This is separate from the island routes desk inside the main building.

The resort is right next to the airport, but with very limited take-offs/landing, it's really not an issue. You won't notice the planes.

No ATM on site, costs a $20 taxi round trip. They want you to stay on the resort, but bring in vendors that only take cash,, go figure.

Some advice, rent the cabana for a day, it's worth it! Beware of the sunset dinner, bugs will eat your husband alive, and the bug spray doesn't help!

And you can't catch one of the lizards, they're too quick!

Room Tip: check the map carefully, the Caribbean village and Honeymoon estate butler village are a long walk f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 917jill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This was An amazing vacation. Everyone was outstanding. Hats off to the beautiful Nicquette at sandals lounge and for the great resort tour. Chantal- bar only you could perfect Denis's drink, Kirk - bayside and Tokyo Joes you were great, and Camille ( number 1) on the beach bar. If u can take the scuba certification so worth it and you can get closer to the fish than snorkeling. The dive shop - Misheal, Rochelle, Stewy, Terminator, Termi, Flip, and Winston had the best time with all of u. Donavan "Big D" tks for the scuba training above and beyond mon.. Will see u next year proud to be your new dive groupies.! Ps will bring son Jesus lol. Johnny B you rock, the private boat tour.... The best and so worth it. Impressive snorkel dive to recover a lost newly weds ring!!!! Food was so impressive highest quality hats off to all the chefs and those who help and serve it your doing an outstanding job and appreciated it. Javed at Cricketeers pint, fish and chips a must have. The ladies who cleaned our room, wow you work so hard tks for the heart shape towel on the bed, beautiful. The in room fridge thanks for going above and beyond for cranberry juice and tonic water. The gym - sauna, steam room, and state of the art equipment. Love that secluded jacuzzi, shhhh it's a secret. The beach was gorgeous, soft sand, warm water, lots of lounge chairs. Since I tend to burn lots of shaded areas. I can see why Sandals Montego Bay has the most return guests (I've become one now), keep up the outstanding work and will see u all next year.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful rooms!!! There is a room style for every type of couple, and I recommend you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Sandals Montego Bay was the absolute perfect mix of romance, relaxation, fun, laughter, and adventure. I planned this trip as a college graduation gift for my boyfriend, and although I think we were the only non married couple there, it was the perfect vacation.
The luxury of Sandals began right at the airport in the Sandals lounge where you could relax and get a yummy cocktail, or a red stripe of course. Our shuttle arrived very quickly and our luggage porter was very friendly. The shuttle ride was only about 10 minutes, and as soon as we stepped off the shuttle we were greeted with welcoming smiles and a cold towel.
Big Al helped us with check in process and took us into a beautiful lounge, and got us both a cocktail, I believe it was a rum punch, but it was the tastiest cocktail I had the whole trip! (I wish I could have tracked him down later to find out what it was!) He had a fantastic personality, and he also upgraded our room for us. After the check in process, Orville took us on a tour of the property and showed us our room which was in the Sea Grapes building. Orville was also full of personality and made us feel very welcome. Orville also delivered my luggage later when it arrived at the resort (someone had mistakenly taken my luggage at the airport)
Our room was on the second floor, and it had a gorgeous view of the ocean from our balcony.The bed was incredibly comfortable, and we also had a fridge stocked with juices, water, and sodas. The housekeeping staff kept the room incredibly clean, and restocked our fridge every day.
We arrived on a Monday, and that evening they had a beach party, which was one of the most fun experiences of my life!! There was great food, entertainment, and lots of laughs! The Playmakers at Sandals do a fantastic job of entertaining the guests and getting them involved in the party.
The restaurants at the resort are all wonderful, and it was great to get to try many new foods. Dinner at the Oleander Room was great, and our server, Junior, did an impeccable job.
During our stay we did snorkeling, and my boyfriend also did the scuba diving both of which were included and a great time!
We also booked a tour through Island Routes, we went to Mystic Mountain and did the zip lining, and bobsled, and also to Dunn's River Falls. It was a great time, and our tour guide, Patrice, or Momma as she asked to be called, was wonderful, she was very informative and honest with us.
Our trip was far beyond our expectations and we hope to return soon. I highly recommend staying at Sandals Montego Bay, the staff will make your experience memorable, and you will have the perfect blend of romance and adventure to keep your relationship spark glowing bright. You will not be able to get enough of this resort, so I recommend booking for a longer trip!

Room Tip: A room with a balcony gives you a nice place to drink your morning coffee, or to relax before going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ejltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The staff at this resort is the best we've ever encountered; let me be specific...the maids are the best...the front desk personnel are present but just never seem to get any requests fulfilled.
The maids do an excellent job...are friendly and personable and honest and efficient. Our room was always clean with extra touches tossed in by the maid.
Oleander restaurant is GREAT and a bonus of having "white glove" service AND no reservations required. The food there is excellent....didn't care much for the other restaurants and when they had a beach party and cooking outside the birds were picking food off of the buffet tables...not very hygenic at all.
The pool (with the swim up bar) is too small to accomodate more than a handful of people and the bigger pool near the restaurants is too crowded to have any fun in...and you can never get a chair unless you get up at 5 am to reserve one and even then someone will "steal" it unless you sit on it permanently...who wants to do that?
The beach is terrible and dangerous....there is sea grass on the bottom and it attracts sea urchins....step on one and you are in pain for weeks to come.
They have a staff member go out in the morning and snorkle over the sea bottom but he does a poor job and it's only once a day that I could see....so I took it upon myself to snorkle over the area and toss any sea urchins out past the roped off swimming area so that no one would get injured....the one day that I didn't do it some woman got hurt.
I would never pay the premium price to go back to this resort, instead we went to the Palladium in Lucea and had a better time....it's too bad because the staff is so great and Oleander's is so good...I"ll miss them.
One last thing....the shopping on this resort is next to 'nil...overpriced and lack of choice and the gift shop personnel could use a lesson in customer relations...they really have a bad attitude...I mean, if you don't like your job...move on and get another that's NOT in the service industry.
So, in summary, The pools are too small, The swimming area in the ocean is less than desirable, The food is mostly average, except for Oleander's, The grounds are kept perfectly, the maids are the best in the industry, our room was exceptional but then again we had a little bungalow near the tennis courts and not located in the big buildings...oh, and the coffee was terrible...day in and day out the coffee was really bad....it sat heating in those big urns all day long.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank darnhardworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post about your stay at Sandals Montego Bay.

We regret to hear that we did not meet quite your expectations for service and quality. We are grateful for all feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to identify our strengths and weaknesses. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We want to ensure that we are presenting our guests with the best vacation package and we are always willing to make the necessary improvements. We do hope that you give us a chance to redeem ourselves during a future stay. We would love the chance to host you at one of our resorts and offer the true Sandals luxury experience for which we are known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,276 reviews
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,030 reviews
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Expedia, Destinology, Ebookers, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing