We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandals Montego Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Sandals Montego Bay”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here just for 1 night with work.

The resort is in a great location, a very short transfer from the airport which obviously means for some loud noise from planes landing & taking off very close by.

My room was spacious & clean. Nothing spectacular but had a lovely comfy bed & I was Club level so had the minibar stocked with drinks & use of the club lounge which is well worth it.

I dined in the Oleander Room which was really lovely. The atmosphere was slightly sedate & a bit quiet but felt like a lovely posh evening out. The food was delicious! All 3 courses I tried were truly wonderful, probably the nicest meal I had out of all the Sandals hotels I visited on the island.

The entertainment was slightly naff...it was fashion show night which was a little cringey! But the steel band & dancers they had on afterwards were excellent. The resort had a young, party feel. I enjoyed the Cricketers pub after the entertainment.

Overall it's a great all rounder. A great beach, fab restaurants and excellent service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samcheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,425
    1,154
    423
    224
    147
See reviews for
180
4,053
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The staff at Sandals Montego Bay made the trip such a memorable experience. Everyone was cordial and the service was top notch. The resort was immaculate and the staff were always service driven. Special thanks to the following staff who made our stay one of the most memorable ever! "Big Al - greeted us at the door upon arrival. His signature rum punch was refreshing and oh so noteworthy! The playmakers- Anatasia, Michael, Shawnta and team were the best! We danced the night away! Restaurant team- Melissa, Jonnel, Simon, Peter and chef Dwight and Dionne! Bon Appetit! The bar team- Keylon and Kenneth never let the ice in the drinks melt! The Frititni was yummy and the service impeccable. When you visit, the Bob Marley drink is not only a good presentation with its festive colours, but this drink keeps you smiling! One Love Ma'an...the beach was so beautiful and we met awesome people from around the globe! Everyone, from the staff to the guests made the week a 50th birthday to remember! We would go again without reservation!
Mike and Deb Wallace - CA

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Wow! Thank you for your great review, Mike and Deb!
We are honored to have hosted your 50th birthday celebrations and it's so great to hear that it was perfect from beginning to end. We are so pleased that you returned home with so many incredible memories of your trip to Jamaica and that all your expectations were surpassed.
We look forward to seeing you again and we ask that you "soon come back"! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Well we returned for anther great visit this year. This is number 11 with Sandals 9 in Montego Bay. Noticed a few changes. They have a new GM seems to have cracked down on employees horsing around. Even bus driver told people to not tip. There are a lot of new employees. Miss some of the old. did not meet the new GM. Decided not to go to returning guest since it was the last night. However, you would think he would be around to ask questions. We did like that Joseph was always around. Only negatives is consierge did not seem to helpful. We did not get our T-shirts they did not have our size large and XL all week. Also, we had to ask for them and our Sandals. Not a real big deal for us we have many. However, for new people this used to seem like a little recognition. The new GM should work on the small things like this. Also, main hot tub never worked all week.

I have to say otherwise a great time was had. Place was clean. Never waited for drinks. called maintenance once and they came quick and fixed us up. Still love Mo Bay and making plans to return soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Hello Bill,
Thank you for your review of Sandals Montego Bay! We are happy that you had a great time and noticed some improvements in term of service. We also appreciate your suggestions in terms of concierge and your Sandals select perks. I will share your comments with the resort management team for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We look forward to seeing you again and to delivering a truly 5-star experience on a future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just back from a fantastic week at Sandals Montego Bay. While we loved our holiday and it suited us perfectly we felt it lacked sandals quality and standard ....more like and 18-30 version!! But in saying that, we loved it as we are a laid back couple who love to laugh and have a good time! This is a review taking in to consideration that it is meant to be sandals standard. We had a great time and would return.

Upon arrival we were taken to Club Sandals lounge where we were welcomed warmly with champage and friendly staff. We were given a quick breif of the hotel (by the resort manager who didnt seem very interested) and what they offer (restaurants, bars, room service etc.) then taken to our room within 20 minutes of arriving, all went smoothely.

We were very disappointed with our room. It was on the bottom floor on the very end of the resort, the front door seemed to be below ground level!! it seemed dark and dingey although quite spacious with a big king size bed. The terrace opened up to the ocean front, no beach there though, just highly unmaintained grass and a path along to the main part of the hotel. We were also next to what seemed like the electricity vault for the hotel, mega noisy!! Regardless of all that we unpacked and went to explore with the hope that the rest of the resort would have the sandals wow factor that the room lacked. However, upon arriving back to our room we decided to ask to be moved, we didnt like it at all.
The next morning we went to concierge and asked to be moved and they arranged this for us no problem. We were moved to the 3rd floor (top) and had spectacular views over the caribbean ocean! Right above Tokyo Joe's restaurant but that didnt bother us at all. So all in all ...our rooms was perfect once we moved! Double sinks, massive kingsize bed, huge balcony and big walk in wardrope.

Having been to Sandals Royal Caribbean in Montego Bay a few years previously i couldnt help but notice the lack of luxury throughout the hotel. Everything just seemed too laid back (which we liked! Just did not expect from Sandals) and dated. Yes i know this is the oldest sandals and i did expect this. There was constant loud music round the pool and beach, constant games going on that sometime got a tad innapropriate! Even in the evenings, when you were sat trying to have a romantic meal at Bayside, Tokyo Jo's or the italian, you could ALWAYS hear the entertainment going on in the skydome. Which did ruin the ambience of the restaurants. We never watched any of the entertainement ...it all seemed a bit cringeworthy! We spent most of our evenings at the firepits on the beach with some champagne or danced the nights away in the cricketers pub with some cocktails!

We liked how chilled out it was and that everyone was up for a good time, it just wasnt what we were expecting from sandals. We met a lot of older couples (50+) who were not enjoying their stay as they had booked a luxury inclusive holiday and felt they got the 18-30's version. Where as the younger people we chatted to seemed to love it. The feelings were mutual between people who had previously visited other sandals resorts ....this one simply just does not compare.

Had this hotel not been Sandals, i would of rated it 4 out of 5 ...but because it disappointed on the sandals front it had to be 3 out of 5.

As a travel agent i would never sell this property and a luxury all inclusive to anyone, would not sell as a honeymoon and certainly not a wedding destination. Maybe to a younger couple who have not stayed at sandals before, have not stayed at other 5* accomodation and older couples if they have been before and do want to return.

I cannot stress enough that we DID enjoy our holiday, but if you want sandals standard please go elsewhere to avoid being disappointed.

Travelled as a couple ages 23 and 33.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ALM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for your review of Sandals Montego Bay.

We were happy that overall you enjoyed your stay but we regret to hear that we were unable to meet all of your expectations. Because of that, please accept my apologies. As hoteliers we realize that there is always room for improvement and feedback is crucial in this process. Therefore, your comments have been passed on to the relevant departments for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We thank you for your input and hope that we can welcome you back in the future for a vacation that exceeds your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dixon, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This stay was absolutely amazing, the beach was beautiful the rooms great, the room service was awesome, but what made this honeymoon that much better was the amazing staff. They were the most caring, fun, welcoming people I have ever met! We can't wait to go back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaniswalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lees Summit MO.
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Transferred from the Carlyle due to no acces to the beach areas. Much larger facility more expensive but it's all here for your enjoyment. Staff very friendly, felt like we were part of the resort family. Bay Resurant very good, food and drink readly available and almost anything for the asking. Great service, amazing bar tenders and wait staff. Wonderful spa experienc ask for Andrea if you go, one of the best message experiences i've ever had. Room are very nice and comfortable, most rooms are the same the big difference is location and view. Many swimming pools to choose from and lots of water sports activities at your disposal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My husband and I recently went back to Sandals Montego Bay after 20 years! This was our 5th visit there but with having kids it took us awhile to get back. I was nervous that it wouldn't be as great as we remembered, but we were not disappointed. It was just as wonderful as we remembered. We brought another couple with us and they continually remarked how clean the resort was and how great the food was. I especially liked the waiter/waitress service on the beach and around the pool. We will be bringing two more couples with us next year!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,334 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing