We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Color is important”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Gautier, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Color is important”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I accompanied our best friends to the resort and I must say the view is breath taking, weather perfect, water warm, and excursions great; especially Dun's River Falls. However,our trip soon took a negative turn in the following areas; service, employee interaction, respect, attitude, attention to details and race. The lighter your skin complexion the better you are treated. Service was below expectation, employee interaction below par in most cases down right deplorable. Over the course of our five day/ four night trip, we soon learned that race made a difference how you were treated. Actually we where stunned that we had to track down servers to get our drinks refilled, get service at our table, and on a few occasion we had to demand that same treatment as the rest of the guess with lighter skin complexions. The attitudes of the employes toward us at times was disrespectful and I had to asked several times what was the problem because the last time I checked, we paid the same amount as the other guess. On one occasion the bartender tried his best to refuse to sever me drinks because " he was not open", but had just severed another guess of a different color. Not to harper on all the negatives without recognizing three positives events. The young lady working the pool area was great. She made sure she treated all guess equal. The young lady who maintained our room was impeccable. Fresh towels, bed turned down each night, and room remained clean and fresh. We managed to encounter one young man working the bar who actually knew how to make a drink and had a great personality. Moving on to the other negatives. Music was awful. We went to Jamaica to enjoy the Caribbean music, food and way of life. However, the music was tailored to those who love my achy breaky heart and lost on key largo. The food was strictly American focused like pizzas, burgers, and chicken wings. We actually complained and finally received some authentic Caribbean food, which was excellent. Oh I have to mention the other restaurant Tokyo Joe's, and two others, one which served Italian and the other French cuisine. Who goes to Jamaica to eat Asian, Italian and French cuisine. REALLY. I brought each issue to managements attention and was given the most insulting response " no man we treat everyone equal" No Worries. They are right when they say there are no problems in Jamaica, just situations. This situation was my last at a sandals resort.

Room Tip: Try another location
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ashby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Montego Bay, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hello Ashby,
Thank you for reaching out to us about your recent stay at Sandals Montego Bay. We are truly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your time with us and if you felt that you were treated unfairly any point. This behavior you described does not reflect our high standards for customer service and we apologize if you felt slighted in any way. We value all of our guests without exception and we were saddened to hear that you had this experience. We are known for providing high quality vacations with top notch service and we sincerely apologize if we did not meet those expectations. I have sent your comments directly to the General Manager for immediate evaluation and action as needed. We encourage you to contact us at 1-888-SANDALS so that we may address any concerns that you have regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,425
    1,154
    423
    224
    147
See reviews for
180
4,053
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I just got back from Sandals Montego Bay and let me say, it was fantastic. Hands down the friendliest staff. From the moment we arrived everyone was great. "Big Al" checked us in, and every time after that he asked us how we were doing and remembered our names. All of the spa staff and restaurant staff were fantastic. Robert from the Oleandor Room was wonderful to us. Also all of the guys from the water sports desk were awesome. Very helpful. I would suggested snorkeling!! Excellent time.
The "let's go native" tour is a must if you want to see more than just the resort and want to learn about the culture and some history of Jamaica. Dalton was an excellent tour guide!
I thought all the food was great. The girls in the gift shop were helpful and friendly!
There were a few things that were not perfect. The music and entertainment in the sky dome was way too loud sometimes so much you couldn't hear what they were saying. We had problems a few times with our keys and safe in our room but every time we did have a problem, someone was always very willing to help. Some people complained about the airplanes flying over head. Yes you can hear them. I didn't think it was that distracting though.
I thought everything was well organized with check ins and departures. Super easy to figure out what was going on each day and there was always someone to ask if you had a question.
Besides the few glitches I have no complaints. This resort is very laid back and I think that is why I enjoyed it so much. The staff really made the trip!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I never felt like crying on the last day of my vacation like I did saying farewell to Montego Bay. The Sandals Resort staff took care of my wife and I, as if we were personal guests in there house. Karma in the gift shop always greeted me with a smile and assisted me on picking out the perfect Jamaican shirt to wear. Robert in the Bayside restaurant always remembered us and shook my hand no matter how far he was across the dinning room. Everybody, including the guest service manager, always checked on us to ensure we were having a wonderful time. Our turndown service always was spot on and included a cute towel fold with flowers. Our personals were alway folded neat and tidy (which is great when you have been drinking all day). Vanni, the entertainment director chased us around trying to get us involved in all the games. Never a dull moment. Never a moment lacking romance. Never an unfriendly staff member. We loved the resort, the island, and the people. I promise we are coming back and recommend to anyone looking for a perfect vacation. Thank you!

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dustin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati OH
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We celebrated our 40th anniversary here last month. Our butler level suite was exactly as pictured on their website. Our butlers gave impeccable service, and the food is amazing. The drinks are top shelf and surprisingly strong! Every employee is happy to help you. It is truly paradise. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieCincinnatiOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

My husband and I came here for our Weddingmoon. Perfect!
From the friendly staff, beautiful rooms & beaches to the wedding planner and the restaurants, everything was wonderful. Our butlers got to know us and personalized the details of our vacation to meet our needs. Room service was fast and friendly. The entertainment was fun & kept everyone involved!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arboyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carle Place, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We went to Sandals with a large group. It was great for the couples and plenty to do for all. It's not perfect for the singles in our group but they seemed to have a great time also. The same group went to the DR a few years ago and the food was awful, which made me hesitant to go to another all inclusive. The food at Sandals was very good and in some cases great. The pizza at the beach was a lunch highlight, diner was excellent in all 4 restaurants we tried. A few in our group tried diner at another nearby Sandals with the same great results. The pool bar was great with a nice fire pit at night along with a piano player that kept the crowd singing. The staff was fine with a few being outstanding. The convenience of being close to the airport was worth hearing an occasional plane over head. Sandals is a true case of you get what you pay for, sure it was a more then other places but well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobD974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, IN
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at Sandals Montego Bay this past winter and had an awesome vacation! This was our first experience with Sandals, so we weren't sure what to expect. Our room was spacious, the view was excellent, and the location was fantastic. We aren't really the types of people to spend the entire day laying on the beach, and we were really impressed with the number of activities included in the stay! There really is something for everyone. I can't say enough about the staff too -- they were incredible nice!

The resort is directly behind the airport, as many previous reviews state, but we hardly noticed it. We took advantage of the free transportation to one of the other Sandals resorts on Montego Bay for dinner one evening, which is a great feature of Sandals in this area! We really felt like our money was well-spent at Sandals.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,340 reviews
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
31.0 mi away
Sandals Negril Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Destinology, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Holiday Gems, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing