We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Love this place. Would come back every year. White soft sand in between ya toes palm trees Jamaica music flowing walking up looking out told balcony and seeing beautiful light blue ocean can't get no better than that

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompies1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,388
    1,139
    418
    224
    147
See reviews for
175
4,003
20
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,259)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We just returned from our stay at Sandals, Montego Bay. Our trip was amazing and the best vacation we've ever had. The staff from the groundskeepers to the front desk were extremely friendly, courteous, accommodaing and obviously well trained. The room and facilities were beautiful, clean and well maintained. The entire experience was delightful and we are already planning and looking forward to our return trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rwmoscicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I renewed our vows at the resort. Everything was beautiful. The ceremony, restaurants, rooms, etc. Were more than I expected. The staff were awesome. We are looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WattsGivens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory Hills, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We just came back from Sandals, Montego Bay. This was the best vacation ever! Great service, very friendly and helpful staff. They made me feel like I was at home just way better. The rooms were very clean, the view was breathtaking, wish I would have booked a longer stay

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank jeffreyadcock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

All the staff at Sandals Resort defiantly have made an amazing impression on us, as regards to their exceptional service to make us feel at home.

However, we feel that the following man went out of his way to make our stay an exceptional one!
We give a spacial thanks to Mr. Menka, who works at the Cricketeers Pub at Sandals Montego Bay Resort. He is a proper gentleman, brilliant, well-groomed, charismatic person. Whom you definitely would love to meet, as he really knows how to make your each visit at the Cricketeers Pub at Sandals Montego Bay Resort a great one!

Many Thanks & Regards
James & Joanne
From Malta

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James_Muscat_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We were fortunate enough to spend a day at the Sandals in Montego Bay while in Jamaica last week. We had met the Hotel Manager, Dawn Smith, while staying at the Sandals in the Exuma's and she invited us to come and see her resort when in Jamaica - so we did - and we are so appreciative of her generous nature. The resort is absolutely stunning - the grounds are immaculately kept; the rooms are beautifully appointed; the staff is beyond helpful and gracious (Gerdine at the outdoor grill and bar is a sweetie); and the meals are delicious and top-notch. Don't hesitate to stay at this outstanding resort! We even got to spend 2 hours on the Sandals dive boat and see Montego Bay's gorgeous waterfront. The staff on board think of everything too! Thanks again for a wonderful day! Wish we could have stayed longer - but we will soon come back!

Room Tip: The airport is in your backyard, so be prepared for the jets taking off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

About Us:
We are a married couple early 40's/50's. This was our 14th trip to Jamaica, 1st to Sandals Montego Bay. We are Diamond tier Sandals Select members.

Arrival/Departure:
We had a Sandals private transfer from Montego Bay airport to the resort. When we reached the Sandals lounge, they tagged our bags and we went inside to wait for our car and use the restrooms. It’s good that we were keeping an eye on our bags because they grabbed them and put them on the cart to go with the normal bus. We had to step out and have them removed from the cart so they could stay with us. I’m sure they would have made it to the resort with no problem but we didn’t want the worry. That was the only hitch. After about 10 minutes, we were escorted to our car and driven straight to the resort. Overall, there were no major issues with arrival or departure.

Accommodations:
We had booked in a Beachfront Grande Luxe Club Level Room. When we arrived, we were offered an upgrade to a Beachfront Walkout Club Level Room. We requested to see the location and because it was so close to the entertainment pavilion and beach snack bar, we were concerned about noise so we elected to keep our originally booked room. We did like the idea of the walkout and we would have accepted the upgrade if it had been in a better location. As it was, our room (#708) was on the 3rd floor with a beautiful ocean view over the Stew Fish restaurant. The room did show its age but we had no major complaints. One minor inconvenience was that it took a very long time (5-10 minutes) for the water to get hot in the morning. This only seemed to be a problem very early in the morning before most people were up. Any other time during the day, the water temperature was fine. Another issue was the bed. While DH found it very comfortable, I found it difficult to sleep on and woke up each morning with severe back pain. Not really sure what else to say about it except that people's bodies will react differently to a change in their usual sleeping conditions.

Food/Beverage:
We know that food is very subjective so please understand that these comments are simply our opinion. In general, we thought the quality of the food was quite good. For dinner, we particularly enjoyed the Oleander Room Restaurant and the Carlyle Restaurant (at Sandals Carlyle). The Bayside Restaurant was also quite good. Cucina Romana and Le Jardinier (at Sandals Royal Caribbean) were both good but not to the same level as Oleander. Also, the mosquitoes at Le Jardinier were terrible. We rushed through dessert just to get out of there. We definitely recommend insect repellent if you are planning to eat there. Be aware that all of the restaurants mentioned are outdoors except the Oleander Room which did not have good air conditioning, so either eat later in the evening when it cools down or plan to sweat through your meals. And, if you do choose to enjoy the restaurants at the other two Sandals resorts, note the shuttle bus schedule. Twice we had relatively long waits for the bus to return us to our resort after our meals were over. Breakfast at Bayside was very good considering it was buffet style. Lunches were very good especially the pizza from Dino’s. To our surprise, the chicken alfredo from the room service menu was also quite good. The self-serve ice cream at the Mariner Grill was very good too, not like the ice-milk type stuff you get sometimes on cruise ships or other places. Drinks were hit or miss. Most were made well but the many pina coladas ordered throughout the week ranged from very good to completely undrinkable. Never did figure out why.

Activities/Entertainment:
We didn’t take part in much of the entertainment activities. The purpose of this trip was pure relaxation. Most of our time was spent in the beach cabanas that can be rented by the day. The first day, we were in Cabana #1 but we moved to Cabana #3 for subsequent days because they were able to bring out some portable steps to make it much easier to get into and out of. Cabana #1 is very high up and they cannot place steps down for that one because they would float away in the surf. The cabana butlers take great care of you but sometimes it was quite a while in between visits. I think they do that on purpose in order to allow you to relax so if you want them to come by more often, you’ll need to ask. We did enjoy the charity casino night. We both played at the poker table and were still alive when they shut it down. We didn’t win any of the prizes but we had fun and it’s nice knowing the money goes to the Sandals Foundation charity. We watched a little bit of the staff talent show at Sandals Royal Caribbean while we waited for our bus after dinner. The performers weren’t very good but the crowd was very supportive. We were glad to see that because it takes a lot of guts for them to get up there and perform for us. It did seem like the evening entertainment was well attended so we can only guess that the shows were good. We also attended the weekly returning guest dinner. Cocktails were served on the Almond Terrace and the dinner was set up where the Bayside Restaurant normally is. They did a good job with the award presentations during the cocktail hour. It was a lot of fun.
Red Lane Spa - We enjoyed a 50 minute couple’s massage in addition to our complimentary 30 minute couple’s massage that comes with our Diamond status. Both Andrea and Nardia were fantastic.
Fitness Center – Nope. Not this time. LOL

Tours:
We did not do any tours on this trip.

General Comments:
As many have mentioned in previous reviews, there did seem to be a bit more action at this resort than we are used to at some of the other resorts. And, a lot of the guests were younger and many were on their honeymoons. Even so, this was not a problem for those of us who wanted to just laze around. It seemed to be a very good balance overall. We did not see any issues with a lack of beach chairs or pool floaties like we’ve seen at other resorts. I can see why they use the “original” Sandals for training.
Regarding the internet connection, be aware that the basic Wi-Fi that is offered free to club level and butler guests is very slow. Even basic web surfing can be tedious. So, if you need to stay connected, you will want to upgrade to the premium Wi-Fi service ($42.99 per week). According to my speed test app, the premium Wi-Fi was about six times faster than the basic free Wi-Fi. It was not even close to the speed I get at home but it was fast enough to stream programs from my home TiVo, although the video quality was not great.

Although he is new to this property, Carl Beviere is doing a fantastic job as General Manager and we really enjoyed getting to know him throughout the week. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and will likely return in the future.

Room Tip: We loved the view from our 3rd floor room in the Palms Block but if you have difficulty with stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sandylovnsandals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,271 reviews
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
3.5 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#3 of 63 in Montego Bay
2,029 reviews
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Destinology, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing