We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandals Montego Bay
Nearby Hotels
Secrets St. James Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$488
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$535
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$517
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$220
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Round Hill Hotel & Villas(Hopewell)(Great Value!)
US$357
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$336
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$519
Iberostar.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$415
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Half Moon(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$577
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$542
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay(Montego Bay)(Great Value!)
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$267
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall(Rose Hall)(Great Value!)
US$1,666
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,794)
Filter reviews
5,794 results
Traveller rating
3,716
1,220
459
237
162
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,716
1,220
459
237
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspalms buildingoleander roomour honeymooncucina romanaalmonds buildingbig altokyo joesstew fishpiano barbutler servicebayside restaurantsea grapesroyal caribbeancafe de parisclose to the airportmain barwater skiing
Filter
Updating list...
4,101 - 4,106 of 5,794 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Our overall experience was incredibly fantastic. Everything was perfect. We can assure you that we will come back to this hotel in a near future.
We also would like to address the warmth of all the Jamaican people working at the hotel, in particular Alford (Big Al), our maid Jennifer and the barman at the piano bar, Desmond (don't forget to try the "Jamaican Smiley" made by him!).

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erica73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We went for 11 nights in Jan `10. Worst holiday ever. Having spent a lot of money for a luxury holiday with friends it was such a let down. I would liken it to a 3* hotel. We booked for here after visiting Sandals grande Antigua Jan `09 which was excellent. We decided that it was worth paying in excess of £4200.per couple as we thought that it would be as good as Antigua Sandals. How wrong can you be. We had also upgraded our flights both ways to premium economy with Virgin, this was a waste of money also, what a rip off.Virgin agent told us we would be in the upper bubble as there was room left and he would put our name on them.When we got to Gatwick not only were we not in the upper bubble we were not even sat with our friends even though we were all on one booking.Had to hassle the check in supervisor to agree to move us all so that we were sat together.THE ANNOYING THING BEING THAT THEY HAD A ROW OF 4 SEATS TOGETHER THAT THEY WERE STILL TRYING TO SELL THAT MORNING.
Service satndards were very poor and some of the cabin crew were quite rude. Not what we expected at all.
When we reached jamaica we sat on the transfer coach in the airport carpark for approx 45 mins waiting to go 5 mins down the road to hotel. Not what you need after 10hrs flying. We checked in having both booked adjacent rooms in the Penthouse concierge beachfront suite. There were no refeshments whilst checking in and the general level of service was poor. We said these rooms are next to each other and she said NO. 12 rooms between us. Our friends stayed in 3 rooms during the 5days that we stayed there.
The standards in the hotel are very poor. Food is very basic and cold. Staff not very friendly unless they think you may tip. Managers very un interested if you raised issues. Furniture in some areas very shabby and torn. No coffee machines anywhere to get a good coffee whilst relaxing in the public areas just old fashion hot water boilers with coffee in that stand there stewing all day long. After 5 days we decided that enough was enough and having had to complan every day about different things we contacted the Virgin rep.She didn`t seem surprised with our issues and said that the hotels customer relations manager- Sheldon would come to see us.after a quick discussion we were moved to Ochi rios Sandals.It was also very poor. 1st room was a cibony villa with pool. It stank of damp and cat pee and when it rained water ran down the walls. Only stayed 1nt had to complain again. What a holiday. Moved us all to Romeo and Juliet suites these were better but wouldn`t reccomend anyone pay the amount to book these. Private pool to cold to go in broken tiles in and aroud edge. Jacuzzi freezing not repairable until new part arrives. Having had such a terrible "luxury included" hotel was so glad when it was tie to go home.
Raised all these issues with Virgin Holidays when we got back and having paid in total £9000.00 for this holiday they think its acceptable to offer me £250 in virgin holiday vouchers as compensation. What a joke.Have proceeded to take the claim to arbitration as they shouldn`t be allowed to rip us off like this.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cazotter71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We were welcomed to Sandals at the airport and never looked back. We had amazing service from the Sandals staff. Our room was very clean and had the complete caribbean feel we were hoping for. The grounds were fragrant with gorgeous trees flowers. Each night as we walked to our room, we would pass a beautiful honeysuckle tree that just carried that gorgeous smell all around. We loved the food at Sandal! Each restaraunt had a great view of the resort and/or ocean. Our favorite meal was at Tokyo Joes where we were seated at 6PM and had a table right at the edge outside overlooking the quiet beach and we were enraptured by a fantastic and romantic sunset...it was the last night of our trip and truly wrapped up an amazing getaway! We went snorkeling every day and did the private snorkel. It was such a memorable experience to be taken to a reef and have an hour to explore...we saw all kinds of tropical fish and stingray and Jermaine, our tour guide was fantastic! He took us to the private royal caribbean island and it was gorgeous...it was nice to stop and get a drink before heading off for private shopping...no hassles and we were given coffee while we shopped. I would highly recommend Sandals Montego Bay to any couple looking for a complete escape...we will be back next year for certain!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jenveg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2010

The Sandals Montego Bay is a wonderful resort for couples looking to relax, have fun, and not stress! The only negative is also a positive - the proximity to the airport! The airport is literally across the street from the resort which means you don't have to spend an hour or more traveling each way but also means that you hear every plane taking off! The staff cheerfully wave at each departing plane and after a day or so you find yourself doing it too! The airport does a good job of scheduling the flights for the daytime so it doesn't affect sleep. It really is NOT a big deal.
Otherwise - try the scuba lessons Big D does an awesome job with the nervous scuba students and the dive sights are interesting (and only 25 feet deep) with plenty of sea life and amazing coral. The Watersports team was terrific - we enjoyed Hobie Cats, snorkeling, and scuba.
Food - very good. We enjoyed our meals at the Bayside, Tokyo Joe's, and Stewfish (which replaces the cowboy themed restaurant on the beach).
Service - wonderful. All of our needs were met in a timely manner with cheerfulness.
Outside trips - we did Dolphin Cove (great fun and swimming with dolphins and sting rays), Dunns River Falls (climb up a waterfall), The Negril trip (bus trip to Negril Sandals, shopping at local craft and other stores, Rick's Cafe for fun and cliff diving, and a nice sunset), and the Lover's Rock Sunset Catamaran Cruise (fun and a beautiful sunset).

In short - GO TO THIS RESORT!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melodyajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2010

I went to Montego Bay Sandals with my hubby and two other couples. The resort employees are friendly, welcoming, and entertaining. Find Patrick, he handles water sports. HE IS AWESOME! The food was delicious. Only problem would be the portion sizes of food. They are kind of small but you can always ask for more. Bartenders were for the most part, fabulous! Mosquitos are bad at night, so bring some OFF spray. Highly recommend ziplining, horseback riding and venturing to Negril to see Rick's Cafe. Our room was meticulous, view from our balcony was breathtaking, and the entertainment was fabulous. I can't wait to go back!!!!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suzyfizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews