We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needed trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sandals Montego Bay
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“needed trip”
Reviewed 14 April 2007

The weather and the beach were GREAT. You only need a few bathing suits and something to cover up with. Ladies only need a nice summer dress or two and sandles for the evening. Men you only need nice pair
of slacks with a nice short sleeve shirt. Most of the time you are in your suit. The food is good you have alot of thing to do all the time. I was on the beach with a book in one hand and a drink in the other hand most of the time.f you do anything make sure you have the massage it was GREAT. It is nice that everything is included with your stay. Food and Drinks anytime you want them. The room was nice. The only thing I didnot like was the location of my room it was to close to one of the main food areas. My husband and I hope that we can go back this year. It is a grreat place for all ages and if you just want to do nothing or if you want to be busy all the time. Before you go call to get as much information on what to bring or not
to bring. HAVE FUN

  • Liked — The Beach And Everything Included In The Price ( food and drinks )
  • Disliked — Room Location
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank l1960f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,448
    1,161
    424
    225
    148
See reviews for
182
4,082
21
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

Let me begin by saying we always have a good time where ever we stay! And this was just an added bonus! This was our 3rd trip to a Sandals resort and by far our favorite so far. We stayed at Dunns River and Ocho Rios in the past and will never again make that hour & 1/2 bus ride! We are always treated first class and honestly the people are magnificient to "come home to". We saw the "bad" reviews before we booked but we decided to move forward and book anyways. NEVER will regret doing it. We loved we were only a few min. from Sangster and the planes...who cares! Mon your on vacation. Deal with it. It's a 3rd world country. They make do with what they have!

Greeted @ the airport with the usual. Cold drink at the waiting area, cold towel & drink @ the resort, ate lunch, got upgrade to sensational room {man, with a to die for view}, & then off to the beach. Great days & evening, met a bunch of super new friends, grounds are lovely, did photo shoot which was fun acting goofy with my darling hubby and they turned out beautiful {not cheesy per say } as a few reviews had mentioned.

Food: Breakfast was always delicious but I am partial to that meal anyways. Dinner at the Italian resturant...WOW DON'T MISS THIS. Have the lasagna!! Didn't munch at the Thai place. We had reservations but never made it. I guess we got caught up in having to much fun at the time! Everywhere else..OK corral had great fajitas. Yum yum! Activities...well, most of our week consisted of lying on our beach lounger and looking @ everyone else! We heard they were fun. We did the booze cruise...so much fun. We have seen plenty of Margaritavilles so it wasn't something new for us but others had a blast. Little souviner vendors on Tuesdays in the resort. Just walk away if not interested. We like to do most our shopping with these people because we know what they offer and how to barter. Also, the vendors that swim up in their little canoes and surfboards..harmless and can be annoying but just tell them to back off. It's just their way and Sandals can't make them go away. They can just prevent them from coming on the property.

We had 3 little old Jamaican guys singing outside our room one day...we didn't mind because it happened to be our anniversary and they were singing a good song! Just tipped them a few bucks. Tipping: take your dollars. $1.00 per bag before the resort and then we always take our own bags at the airport once we leave to go home so we never have a problem but others have complained they have had bags lost and things stolen in the past.

I can talk forever but I won't. Just to stress we LOVE going to Sandals resorts because we have the greatest time and solitude we sooo deserve after working hard many months to get there! We are treated very well. Mo Bay is the oldest resort and they are in the process in doing some "renovating soon".
This resort is just not for smoking, tattoo sporting, overweight people as per say in a few previous reviews. We are all of those things. My husband & I are both 9-5 professionals by trade and make enough money to go to more expensive resorts than this one but why when we know for a fact no matter which Sandals we go to we are always going to be treated like royalty. We got married @ Sandals Ocho Rios 5 yrs. ago and have to admit they let the lower part of the resort go since then but if your not happy management will do everything to take care of the problem.

We of course plan on renewing our vows next year @ Sandals Mo-Bay and hope to have an "Alumni" meeting with some of the people we met along the way. Can't wait until we can "go home".

Also, just want to throw a "HELLO" out to Duncan @ the piano /pool bar (Dennis Brown) rocks! Damien, you better get your education before your 80 and thanks Caroline for the lovely "surprise" in our room. You guys are sensational!

Please email me if you truly want the real low down on what to expect! Trust me because you won't regret it!

Take care.

Susan Rednak
Pittsburgh, Pa.

  • Liked — Everything!!
  • Disliked — Snotty people!!
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lousue369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penna
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2007

Can't say enough about how wonderful it was. The resort was beautiful, the staff went out of their way to make sure you were having a great time and relaxing. If you needed anything at all you just had to ask and you received. We enjoyed it so much we are coming back on May 12 2007. We can't wait to see everyone again.


Betty Gale

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank BoopPenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

This year it was our 7th trip to Sandals Mobay travelling from England we always stay for two weeks . Once again we met up with all our friends who we have met at the resort over the years. Sandals is about the people, both staff and guests.The restaurants are good and you can dine around at the two other Sandals hotels nearby.The rooms are very comfortable and the beach is the best. There will always be aspects of any resort that you dont quite like but we have always said to the people we have taken with us over the years, enjoy what you like and ignore what you dont. They are catering for so many different tastes. If we were all the same life would be boring. I would also say yes there is aircraft noise but it does not bother.This is a lively resort if you want peace and quiet go to Sandals Royal. Please remember that Jamaica is a third world country so some things dont happen as quickly as some people demand. Your on holiday so it does not matter.We are planning to return again next year and all our friends who have travelled with us before have asked to join us. Mobay has so many returning guests we can't all be wrong. Be laid back and enjoy!

  • Liked — Comfortable and clean
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank squashboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

Our trip to Montego Bay's Sandals Resort was our first all inclusive trip. We both found it to be the best value because we didn't have to concern ourselves with a budget. Our stay was beyond anything we could have imagined. The resort staff was absolutely the best in every thing we did. We loved the food and the different variety of food they had to offer. We loved all the different activities they had to offer too. The excusions were equally as fun and affordable. We can't wait to return to another Sandals resort.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank soccermom33Nebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

We chose this resort for our 10 th wedding anniversary, and we had a fantastic time. We had read about the planes taking off nearby, but after the first day, you hardly notice them. In fact, we were looking for them to take photos.
The staff was the best we've seen in our travels. They went out of their way to get to know us personally, and went the extra mile to make our stay wonderful. Everyone was friendly and smiling, and always helpful.The entertainment staff, especially Ann Marie, was great, lots to do if you want, or you can just relax on the beach.
Compared to other Sandals resorts, this one is more lively and there is more live entertainment in the evenings.
The beach was great, well maintained, and the included snorkelling trips were fun. Lots of other free watersports too.
The Sandals tour desk staff were excellent, and went out of their way to ensure you were satisfied with your tours and excursions.
The food was delicious, good variety. Take a dressy casual outfit with you, as a couple of the restaurants have a dress code, no men's open toe sandals. Tokyo Joe restaurant food was just so so, not actually Japanese food, despite the name. The beach grill restaurant at lunchtime was great, as were all the other restaurants there.
The resident photographers take your photos and you can choose which ones you want to purchase or not. This was a great service as it's difficult to take photos of yourselves as a couple. We found Devon, a photographer there, very friendly and helpful.
We loved our week at Sandals Montego Bay, and would go back there in a flash. It was romantic, and laid back or lively...whatever you are in the mood for.
Very highly recommended...you won't be disappointed !

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank naloe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2007

WE spent out honeymoon there. It was our second visit and we loved it just as much the second time around. The resturants and nite life was great! Hospitialy was even better. We told them we were celebrating our honeymoon and they upgraded our room. It was just a very pleasant expereince and everyone was like if you want something "No Problem" everything is "No Problem" and you really start relaxing and thinking I've been stressing to long relax .. mon.. No problem mon! Live and enjoy life! and we did! I"d highly recommend it, Rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank liznatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
4.6 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,349 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
4.6 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
8.8 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
54.2 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Montego Bay

Property: Sandals Montego Bay
Address: Montego Bay, Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 100, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandals Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Largest private white sand beach on the north coast •The entertainment capital of the Sandals brand with nightly professional shows and upbeat, active, fun-loving daytime activities. •Six exquisite dining options•Complimentary transfers to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Carlyle. Enjoy all the luxuries included in our “stay at one, play at three” concept offering 18 dining options •Air-conditioned departure lounge•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Destinology, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Montego Bay Sandals Hotel
Sandal Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing