We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sandals Carlyle is Awesome”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2011

This was our 6th time back to the Sandals Carylye ,Cheryl Brown and her fabulous staff had certainly out done themselves this year. The staff is so friendly and helpful, they make you feel like family. The food at the Carlyle was delicous, our compliments to the Donovan Williams, the head chef and his staff. This trip was our daughters' first time to Jamacia and we would like to extend a special thank you to Ms. Brown and Lisa Gardner for showing them the true Jamacian experience. The Carlyle Family has certainly made this trip a very special and memorable vacation for us all. Dolphin Cove was awesome

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdisenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,756)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2011

This is a great hotel and the staff is wonderful, It is on a public beach but you can ride a free suttle to 2 other resort with private beaches. It is like a big family by the time you leave. We get to know so many & stay in touch with a lot all year. Unlike the larger hotels you see a few people you know, but here everyone know everyone, on a first name basis. You need to try it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank couponsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Although the Carlyle is the smallest of the Sandal's properties, it is big on service and personal attention. Amenities are lacking, but you can easily get on the shuttle bus provided at no cost and visit the two other Sandal's in Montego Bay. We renewed our vows at the Carlyle, and it couldn't have been more perfect. Everyone at the resort did everything they could to make our special day memorable. The Carlyle's smallness is actually a welcome change from the larger properties, it's a great place to unwind and get away from the hustle and bustle.

Room Tip: Get a non balcony room. Balconys are noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerryb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I recently spent a week at the Sandals Carlyle in Jamaica with my husband. We had previously stayed at other Sandals resorts, but were not sure what to expect. I should have known that if the name was Sandals it would be great! We enjoyed every part of our stay. We had a beautiful room .(thank you Kaveen) The food was delicious, and as usual, plentiful. The Carlyle is a very small hotel compared to the other Sandals, but it did not lack for much. The only thing this hotel doesn't have is a private beach. The beach is across the street and is public. I have to say I didn't really mind. When we wanted to go to the beach we just took the hourly free shuttle to one of the other Sandals close by. The staff was welcoming, helpful, very attentive, and fun. We met some great people (visitors and staff) at the bar and restaurants. We had a great time and will be returning VERY soon!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamaicagirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We had the best holiday ever here in Jamaica, but we think we should have paid the extra and stayed at the Sandals Montego Bay resort.

We felt the Carlyle was awesome but not for us. The staff were really lovely and friendly but there wasn't much going on and service was pretty poor.

When we arrived at 3pm we had to wait an hour and a half for our room to be ready, yet on the way home we had to check out at 10AM even though our bus to the airport was at 4pm.

We wern't given any information on arrival, just taken to our room and were a bit apprehensive of the week ahead. Noone advised us to book reservations for the restaurants at the other resorts because they book up VERY quickly.

Food was very good but again service so poor. The breakfast was A la carte, but the whole process took over an hour because food took so long to come! And only on the last 2 days did a waiter inform us that there was also fruit and pastry that we could help ourself to inside while we waited!!

The whole holiday was made fantastic by the Sandals Montego Bay resort. This was easily accessible but you had to make sure you were ready on time for the hourly shuttle bus - which did not run all throughout the day, it stopped during lunch time and evening meal time. Also if the bus was full you would be left behind to get the next one or if that was the last of the night -spend alot of $ on a cab!!

The Montego Bay resort was amazing, beautiful beach, food, free watersports, amazing staff and great night time entertainment.

We had an amazing holiday despite the bad points above which were annoying but not a massive problem.

The only thing I wish I had complained about was the maid service/housekeeping. She came between 5 and 6.30 pm in the evenings. Just at the time we were getting ready for the evening, so very very annoying, especially when you are on a schedual to get the 6.30pm bus to another resort!!

I found the housekeeping and shuttle bus was my only stress of the holiday and I would definately go again but to the Montego Bay Resort!

Room Tip: Do restaurant reservations immediately on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stayinsync
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

This is for Cheryl Brown, Lisa Gardner and their incredible team of sandals employees.From the minute you arrive it becomes all about you.We stayed over the Easter Holiday and into re-union week.We are loyal sandals family members and have never experienced a re-union week of this caliber.This sandals property knows how to host a party,and whats even the best is they know how to party,no guest was left out. Hats off to Shane and Lisa for keeping us entertained at poolside.Devan and Chef Donovan kept the Restraunts and kitchen just a hoppin.Clinton and Xavior, Khieffer ,Mark wow no other bar tenders that week could hold a candle to the amazing drinks and entertainment And a special thanks to Paris who kept the pool so clean and never let the guests drinks sit empty for more than a minute or two.To Nadine and Nichola our rooms were kept in imaculant fashion.You feel the positive energy of this mighty little property there is an extreme amount of value with this property,from the hip strip to chatting up with the locals who enjoy the beach out front,hats off to the gent who fresh roasts peanuts daily on the beach,to our newspaper guy,who always had our paper ready..This is the first Sandals property we have been to that as you walk off the grounds you tell the security officer we are walking to Margaritaville for lunch and they say have a great time. Then if this is not enough you have two other properties at your finger tips.To sum it all up if you are a Sandals family member you must put the Carlyle on the list of future properties to visit and if you are a first time guest to Sandals Carlyle it maybe the only place in Jamaica you will want to call home.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cycloneHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

This was our second visit to the Sandals Carlyle Inn in Montego Bay. Our third trip is already booked for next year. All staff members were very accommodating, friendly, and caring. The Sandals Carlyle Inn was small, clean, fun, perfect!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannestisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
7.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £219 - £475 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandals Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing