We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel with an abundance of good cheer”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #15 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Small hotel with an abundance of good cheer”
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel is smaller than the other Sandals in Montego bay but it gives an excellent personal service. Ive just come back with my partner in April of this year( 2012) and although there is a new general manager the standards are still high, our 6th visit and looking forward to our next one. The food is well presented and of very good standard. The staff as always welcomes old and new guests with a friendly atmospheric smile. There is a central pool but if want the sea its just literally across the road if you dont mind. You can visit the other two bigger Sandals hotel in Montego bay with transport provided by the company from morning 'till late evening, no charges. There is nightly entertainment and different activities daily for your interest. A well aired- conditioned quiet room for you to sit and read if you so desire. See you there next time. Bath, Somerset.

Room Tip: Rooms at the two front sides are occassionally noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forever1england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    416
    137
    75
    58
See reviews for
71
1,327
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We had the pleasure of returning to "The Inn" on 26-30 April 2012, following ten nites at Sandals Grande Riviera, Ocho Rios.

We were warmly (and jubliantly I might add) greeted on arrival and ushered directly to the garden bar where friends awaited. Within minutes staff from all over the hotel came to "Welcome us Home", including the new Manager Mr. Lance Parish. Mr. Parish assured us directly he was not the Lance Parish of major league baseball fame. During our stay I observed Mr. Parish chatting early in the morning with arriving staff and others who might be in the area. We were hugely impressed with that. Such a manager, such a gentleman!

Eventually with Paul-One taking care of our bags, we were ushered to our room. Within minutes housekeeping staff came to again "Welcome us Home". Zedrine actually "teared-up" which touched us immensely. Charlene, our housekeeper in the past, sent greetings from downstairs. Such a nice feeling.

We had quite a few laughs around the bar with staff and guests but our visit was capped by dinner in The Carlyle Restaurant on our final nite the 29th of April. Craig was "the man" who took care of the four of us. He had excellent knowledge of the menu and was prompt to add or remove unnecessary cutlery after our orders were taken. Dining in Jamaica is not like going to McDonald's in the U.S. or Tim Horton's in Canada. It's leisurely done and for that we were grateful to have spent a good hour and a half under Craig's care. He was prompt with our wine selections and his white-gloved serving was done with humor and dignity, not necessarily an easy task. He was a real joy and we take this opportunity to thank him....and the chef.

Thank you everybody, we're already counting the days 'till April 2013.

Room Tip: Ours is 211 on on he 2nd floor which is in the middle of the hotel and directly facing the ocean whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I loved it there. The staff was great. It was a lot smaller than the other resorts but the price we paid, for the most expensive room at Carlyle was the price for the cheapest room at Royal Caribbean. I like to get a good deal, so we chose Carlyle. The outside neighborhood isn't great. But you really just need a place to sleep & put your belongings. You can play at Montego Bay & Royal Caribbean. So it's great! We also had a butler. He was so helpful & was great to us! We had our wedding at Royal. So beautiful. We are definitely returning.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sophiathao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Stayed here for 1st time in January for my birthday, have stayed at other Sandals resorts in the Caribbean, this was by far the best service we have received,
Please read the reviews before you book, there are a lot of bad comments left by people who did not realise the beach was across the road!!, do these people not do any research??
We spent most of the time on the beach with the locals as the pool gets to hot at times.
Staff are first class that was the main reason for us to return 7 weeks later for another 2 weeks of sun and fun .
our March review will follow shortly

Room Tip: top floor garden view if you like it quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Ontario
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

What can we say, we love this place!! So do the people we have taken there. All four couples we have taken over the past 4 years have returned to stay again!! No lineups for anything, lots of pool space and chaise chairs. Best of all, personal service from all staff!! I could list them all by name but it would take up so much space!! The Manager Lance and Asst. Manager Lisa take great care of you all week. They are always stopping to say hi and see how your day is going. Food was great, and they have added a new service...poolside drink service!! You won't find this at any other Sandals in Mo Bay!! Noise issues are few, Friday and Sat. nights the locals still play loud music out of their cars, but earplugs solve that, and the rest of the week is fine. The plane noise is barely noticeable, unlike Mo Bay and Royal Carribean where it is very loud.
Nibbles is still the best jerk chicken around!! Bartenders were warm and fun! We were upgraded to a balcony with ocean view, fantastic!! Rooms are older but still fine, beds are comfy! We love to go to RC to the island one or two days and to Mo Bay once as well. Shuttle service is easy and handy. The $ you save by staying here is really worth it. We have turned down free upgrades to Mo Bay twice since we tried that once a few years back. It just isn't the same as the personal service you get at the Inn!!
The returnees dinner is always intimate and well done at the Carlyle. It is a very special nite!! I cannot recommend it enough, the Carlyle is home.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coylie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

The Carlye is in need of a major renovation. A major renovation will not help the location of this resort, it is nestled between 2 roads with very little grounds to shelter you from the constant city noise. The rooms are worn out. THERE IS NO BEACH! (DO NOT believe the photos from Sandals with the beach chairs).

The staffs wonderful! They do their best to deal with this old property. The food is excellent (the best authentic Jamaican that we have had at a resort).

We moved to Sandals Negril after 1 night (review to follow).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farmerinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The only good thing about this place is the staff, they are great. This motel is located in a bad part of Montego bay, that is why the exchange program is so hyped. The building is old and dirty, it needs a major renovation just to be habitable. It is located on a very busy street with a tiny public beach like structure located across the street. There are NO beach chairs and no place to just relax. Not only is the noise from the jets unbearable but the locals tend to blast thier car` radios all night. The car alarms tend to sound constantly and because of its small size you will hear the staff doing their prep for breakfast at six am. Forget about comfort, the small window unit air conditioners are loud and they designed to turn off when you open the door. The rest room has a louvered window to the hall and the door is also fixed louvers. Bugs have free reign of this place and the rooms are small with dirty carpet on the floor. Caulk is used to patch and hold this place together,Sandals should do the right thing and take their name OFF of this building. I could only do one night, This is not a vacation resort trust me. Most of the guest leave as soon as the sun rises and go to the other resorts. AVOID THE CARLYLE! YOU will be dissapointed! Chose a different resort. You will go wrong with this Sandals property.

Room Tip: Choose a different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SRICS, Manager at Sandals Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Warm greetings from Sandals Resorts International! You are very important to us and we welcome the opportunity to speak with you. Please e-mail us at (customerservice@sandals.com). We look forward to hearing from you. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
7.9 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,279 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,019 reviews
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,226 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandals Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing