We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent time at The Carlyle”
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved every minute of our vacation at The Carlyle! The staff is awesome and we took advantage of the stay at 1 play at 3. We liked the beach at Sandals Montego Bay and spent most of our days there but loved going back to the Carlyle at night where it was small and quiet and we were able to hang out with the other guests. The staff at the Carlyle are far more friendly than the other 2 Sandals in MoBay. We really enjoyed going to the bar where Lamar, Orecco and Floyd were very friendly and attentive. The food was great, we did have to mention to the waitstaff to cook our bacon crispy if you want it American style. We also took advantage of the 24-hour room service which was excellent as well. Make sure to make any restaurant reservations far in advance since they fill up fast (especially The Royal Thai). We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review, Jennifer!
It's wonderful that you had an incredible time at Sandals Carlyle Inn and enjoyed getting to know our wonderful staff members. We are pleased that you also enjoyed visiting our other beautiful properties and experiencing everything that they have to offer. We hope to welcome you back again soon for another fabulous Jamaican getaway!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

555 - 561 of 1,774 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had the pleasure to spend my 50th birthday at the Carlyle. This being our 3rd visit, seeing all the wonderful staff again was a delight.Can't list them all here as I would not want to leave anyone out!!The food and service cant be beat. Any need is always resolved with a smile. We love everyone and everything about the Carlyle. Plans to return in November. Cannot wait!!

The lobby need a big beautiful ceiling fan to move the air in there!!

Room Tip: we love seeing the action on the public beach so we like the end units!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jo-Ann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Hello there Jo-Ann,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Sandals Carlyle Inn and for letting us be a part of your 50th birthday celebrations! We are delighted that you enjoyed your third visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back home in November! Happy Travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel has brilliant staff who cannot do enough to make guests feel welcome, the food and service are very good particularly Kimberly in the Bay View and Lamar at the bar.
This hotel is a good base to use the facilities of the two larger resorts but has a more intimate atmosphere to relax in at night.
The only negative we have is the ground floor rooms are a bit poor, but we were moved to a balcony room without any problem.
We will more than likely return because we enjoyed our stay that much.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If you are looking for an intimate resort that is friendly and remembers your drink orders, this is your place. We bought the package to use the facilities at the other Sandals resorts but truly the food at Carlyle was the best. Even if you stay at Montego Bay Sandals, book a dinner at the Carlyle Restaurant because you won't be disappointed with your fine dining experience. Montego Bay is the party resort. We went there or one of the other resorts for the beach because Carlyle doesn't have it's own beach. The pool is wonderful though. Our room had a balcony overlooking the pool area so we watched shows from our balcony. Being small you got to know the others staying there and it was like having an extended family for a while. There is a fire "pit" at night that you can sit around that is very relaxing. We very much needed a relaxing vacation and so appreciated the excellent service that was given. As we were told, "Don't worry, let us do the worrying for you." They mean it and deliver on that promise. I could go on and on about what a wonderful time we had.

Room Tip: Pick one with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Hello Renee,

Thank you for your review of Sandals Carlyle. We're so glad that your recent stay with us was such an wonderful experience. We love to meet and exceed the expectations of our guests and it's great to hear that we did just that during your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from a week long vacation at the Carlyle. We had a fantastic time and especially loved Dennis and Kenisha. Both butlers were fantastic - they met and exceeded our every need. We loved the option to be able to travel to the other resort locations. Our room was great and the food was fantastic.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Jeannie,
It's wonderful to read that you had another fabulous vacation with us at Sandals Carlyle Inn. We're happy that you were pleased with our high standard of service and attention to detail. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful experience with us.

We can't wait to welcome you back for more fantastic memories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I traveled to Montego Bay, Jamaica for our honeymoon, and while there, stayed at the Sandals resort 'Carlyle Inn'. We were there for 11 days, 10 nights, and enjoyed almost every minute of it.

There are 3 Sandals Resorts in Montego Bay - Carlyle, Montego Bay (Mobay), and Royal Caribbean. Staying at one of these resorts gives you free access and transportation to the remaining two and all the amenities that they offer. With it being all inclusive resort, that held true whether we were at Carlyle, Royal, or Mobay. We stayed at Carlyle because it was the cheapest of the three, which meant we could stay longer.

The lasting memory of our trip would definitely be the food. There are 18 restaurants between the 3 resorts, Carlyle has 3, Mobay has 8, and Royal has the remaining 7. Some of these require reservations which are done through the front desk of the resort that you are staying at, and some of them require guys to wear pants with closed toe shoes. All of the food was amazing and the variety that is there makes it so you don't get tired on anything. My wife and I were able to eat at all of the available restaurants during our stay, and our top 5 in order is something like this:
1. Cucina Romana (Mobay)
2. Royal Thai (Royal)
3. Tokyo Jo's (Mobay)
4. Le Jardinier (Royal)
5. Eleanor's (Royal)

My tips regarding the restaurants is to book your reservations EARLY, and make sure you double check the dress code.

The entire honeymoon was fantastic, and my wife and I have already discussed going again for our 1 year anniversary. So below I wanted to share some stories that took place while staying at Sandals.

1. As I mentioned earlier, we ate at all the restaurants, and this required us to eat 2 dinners at two different restaurants, at two separate resorts, on the last night. We have reservations at Mobay to eat at Orleander's, and we knew we didn't have a lot of extra time to catch the last shuttle to Royal before the shuttles took their dinner break (7:30-8:30). But after eating dinner, we ran to where the shuttle picks up and realized that we did miss the shuttle by 15 minutes, meaning we'd have to wait 2 hours for the next shuttle and by the time we would arrive at Royal where our second dinner was, our last restaurant (Eleanor's), would be closed. This was our last night and so my wife and I stood there trying not to get disappointed on our last night about coming up 1 short. Sometime during our discussion on what to do next, an employee approached us and asked us if everything was alright to which we replied to him by telling him our story. He then proceed to pull out his phone, call a private shuttle to come pick us up and take us directly to our last restaurant, all for no extra charge to us. Neither of us could believe it and so I got his name before we departed and he replied "Stovall....the Butler'. This guy was a Butler, not a manger, or anything, but a simple Butler. Long story short, my wife and I made it in time to finish our goal, and since then I've made it known to all the manager's at the resorts, and the Head Butler, the deed that Stovall did and how incredible it was to see such customer service and care.

2. On that same night, once we were finished with our last dinner, we took a shuttle from Royal Caribbean, to our resort. This was our last night in Jamaica, and while on the way to Carlyle, our shuttle was rear ended by another vehicle in the middle on the highway! This was around 9:15pm and we were all exhausted and ready to be home after such a long day, but now we were sitting in the middle on a highway all shocked that we were just rammed from behind on the shuttle. It didn't take up 10-15 minutes until another shuttle, from a Tour company that works closely with Sandals pulled up to take us all home.

When the accident happen, my wife's neck jerked to where she felt like she tweaked something. So when we arrived at Carlyle, spoke with manager on duty, described what happen, and told her about my wife's neck being sore. The manager was obviously concerned from the beginning and repeatedly asked my wife is she could do anything or if we need to go to the hospital, to which my wife replied that she would just fill out the required paperwork, sleep on it tonight, and then go in the morning. But we were scheduled to leave at noon the following day so the manager said that she would have a bus ready at 6am the following morning, that would take us to Mobay where the Sandals nurse and doctor are located, and that she would make sure we would get everything checked out in time to get us to the airport and catch our flight. Sure enough the next morning, we woke up, the bus was there waiting, took us to the Mobay resort where the nurse and doctor were waiting on my wife AND they had already spoken to our manager and knew all that happened, and they were done with her in less than an hour after doing a very thorough check to make sure my wife's neck was okay. In fact, after it was all done, we still had time to grab a bite to eat before we headed to the airport!

Overall like I said, I would highly recommend Sandals Carlyle to anyone, the resort itself is alright, but the staff is amazing, and while there isn't a ton to do at the Carlyle resort, it's just a 5 minute free shuttle to either Mobay or Royal where all the water sports and big activities are at. It was totally worth the money and we are definitely going to go back one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lucas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for your review, Lucas.

We are so happy that you had a great honeymoon in Jamaica and enjoyed your stay at Sandals Carlyle! Our staff members truly are a group of wonderful people and we are so pleased that they were able to step in and assist when situations arose. We hope to welcome you back again soon and we look forward to delivering an even better vacation experience in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed two days one night....reason no beach but if that is not an improtant issue then great value for the area. Staff is wonderful manager "Doreen was very sweet and accomadating. Also Damien our personal make sure everything is OK guy was great!!! All the staff made you feel like you were part of the family. We transfered only because its location is in an older part of town and no beach at our disposal. You do have shuttle service to the other resorts so it's not hopless but inconvienent.

Room Tip: all room about the same view is the big difference..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren B, Online Review Coordinator at Sandals Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Sandals Carlyle Inn.

We are happy that you did enjoy the time you spent at our resort and that our staff did a fantastic job at making sure you were comfortable. We appreciate your kind remarks and respect all the opinions you expressed. We look forward to welcoming you back at one of our beautiful properties.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
2.2 mi away
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
Sunscape Cove Montego Bay
#13 of 63 in Montego Bay
1,372 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
2 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#8 of 63 in Montego Bay
5,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.5 mi away
Sandals Ochi Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,627 reviews
0.1 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#24 of 63 in Montego Bay
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £224 - £512 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandals Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing