We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Inn
Ranked #14 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Nova Scotia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We've just returned from a great two weeks stay at Sandals Carlyle Inn (Jan 21-Feb 4) and had a wonderful time. We had stayed there last year for one week and loved it so much we booked again for this year.

The people were all fabulous as always. We were treated very well by all staff. We want to say hello to Cheryl, Lisa, both Paul's, Richards, Wolfe, Crazy Ray, Elvis, Omar, Shorty, and especially Andrew. The food and service at both restaurants (Carlyle & Bay Window) was great.

If you're looking for a resort right on the beach then this would probably not be your first choice as this resort only has a small public beach across the street. By the way at night the street can get fairly noisy. This year I happen to have a pair of ear plugs which helped reduce the noise.

There are free shuttles which run hourly to take you to the other two Sandals properties in Montego Bay which are both beach front properties. You can use all of the restaurants within the three Sandals resorts in Montego Bay. Based on our opinion the top five restaurants were the Carlyle & Bay Window located at Sandals Carlyle Inn, Le Jardinier located at Sandals Royal Caribbean, Orleander and Cucimana at Sandals Montego Bay.

Before we end our review we just wanted to say we had a great time with all the returning guests and hopefully we'll get to see you guys next year.

In summary if you want a small resort with great service, great food and are prepared to take a shuttle to get to the beach then this resort would be for you.

Would we go back again - absolutely. We're going for another 3 days at the end of March 2010.

Steve & Ginette
Halifax, NS Canada

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovebirds20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,012
    407
    132
    76
    58
See reviews for
71
1,301
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
olds alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

i love my family at the carlyle inn. they were courtious, friendly and cater to your every need. they are very friendly and helpful, whether its finding you a fresh towel or telling you the best place to purchase real gold jewellry--thanks again cheryl!!!
all the staff from cheryl, lisa, doreen, to the bar staff: wolfe, and richards,to the front door staff, the restaurant staff, the pool staff like roy, elvis, paul, omar, antoinette, and leroy etc.
the free shauttle program is awesome. it gives you a chance to go to the bigger resorts on a sandals shuttle for free. shuttle leaves from each resort once every hour. they make it easy to see the other sandals resorts!!!
this was our 3rd trip to that same resort and i think it gets better everytime!!!-if thats possile!! and before we left there (the end of jan 2010) we were booked for the next one. yes definately we are going back again next year. i can hardly wait!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamaicaforever_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temiskaming Shores
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

Sandals Carlyle Inn was a wonderful vacation that offered personal villa -like service after a busy day visiting nearby sister resorts and her beaches. The Carlyle's luxury backyard like pool and patio made for a relaxing sun soaked afternoon. If action packed busy beaches were craved, a short shuttle over to Montego Bay and the Royal were easily accessed. Where reservations and line ups for dinning have been the norm for other Sandals locations, the Carlyle's Bay Window fare was graciously always ready to satisfy. Quickly seated and given the choice of four entrees was never a disappointment.
The newly renovated bed and bath for our ocean view room was emaculate! Although the high bed was a nightly challange to mount, sweet dreams always followed once nestled in. Thanks to all the staff that made this trip a personal yet private experience.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

This is our 3rd holiday at this hotel and we still love it.The upgraded rooms are perfect .The staff are so helpful and friendly and make you feel special.Many thanks to Cheryl Brown general manager for her special attention .Not forgetting Lisa and Doreen who are always buzzing around.The service is second to none and the wedding we attended was beautiful.Dont forget when you visit this hotel, you also have access to royal caribbean and montego bay on free bus .What more would you want.Lots of love to our special gang of friends who meet up every year.Hope to see you same time same place in 2011.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oliverking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

Our stay at Sandals Inn was heavenly. The customer service was the best I have ever experienced anywhere. The food was incredible. It was like dining in 5 star restaurant every day. The hotel was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly. We loved that staying in a smaller hotel allowed the staff to get to know us and the service was improved by that. The staff was always looking out for our comfort and questions were always answered. We loved the piano accompanyment to some of our dinners. The reggae band that played were awesome as well as the singer that came in. Especially would like to thank Omar, Rashanne, and Antonette for their friendliness and hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinnipegDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

We take an annual trip during the month of January and we usually try a different location each year. However, we will return to the Inn again next January. The staff are genuinely interested in making your vacation the very best it can be. Starting with Dalton giving you all the necessary information to make your vacation a success.
The rooms are very clean and the renovations have taken place firstly on the third floor and were completed and the second floor is to follow starting this year. We arrived after a red eye flight and it was nice to sit at the pool and relax. The snack bar located by the bar was open until dinner so we grabbed a snack and a cocktail. The Bayview Restaurant opened at 6:30PM for dinner and we were delighted by the service we received and the quality of our dinner.
The next morning after a workout in their maintained fitness centre we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast where we met Elvis, Annette and everyone serving us at breakfast with a smile. The selection at breakfast was everything you could hope for.
The shuttle was next, on the half hour and always on time and we enjoyed exploring the other two resorts.
We always were greatful to return to the Inn which we considered our home. We were always made to feel we were important.
We participated in the Jamaica Native Tour where we also were welcomed to enjoy the Sandals Negrill Resort. We snorkeled, shopped, watched cliff jumping and a beautiful sunset and also learned quite abit of the history of the Island. A word of caution however, two people were hurt at the cliff diving so best left to the cliff divers who have been doing this awhile.
Our dinners were top notch, we tried all of the reservation required restaurants. The service and the food were first rate. We also enjoyed lunch at Mo Bay every day at the Bayside Restaurant and special thanks to Kaven and the wonderful girls that we met at lunch coming around with a tray of cocktails readymade.
To complete our journey and whom we would also like to thank are; Doreen, Cheryl Brown and Ray the Entertainment committee, Wolfe and Orville at the bar, the cleaning staff that made the wonderful swans, and everyone that made our holiday perfect...........see you next year!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_Tammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2010

We went to Sandals Inn for our belated honeymoon in January 2010, and we would go back tonight if we could! The staff at Sandals were AMAZING and treated us like their own family. What we liked so much about Sandals Inn was the small size, and by the end of the week, almost every one of the staff members knew us by first name. The service was incredible, and the entertainment staff went above and beyond to make sure we were having fun. We had full all-inclusive amenities at two other Sandals resorts in Montego Bay, Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay, which was great because we were able to enjoy their private beaches and other things not available at the Inn. The food was out of this world, and the service at the restaurants was very impressive. We enjoyed many different water sports available to guests, such as sailboating and kayaking and snorkeling. We will definitely be coming back the Sandals Inn, and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone seeking a fabulous vacation in Jamaica. It was the most relaxing and most enjoyable week!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A2hockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
7.7 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Montego Bay
#9 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,149 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Half Moon
Half Moon
#2 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,986 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,927 reviews
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#4 of 6 in Rose Hall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Inn

Property: Sandals Inn
Address: Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandals Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•A romantic, intimate atmosphere with personalized service.•The real Jamaican experience; Jamaican smiles and attentive service to make you feel at home instantly.•Small in size yet big on charm and large in value.•Close proximity to Montego Bay 'Hip Strip', where you will find duty free shopping, restaurants, bars and clubs.•24 hour room service for all room levels.•Butler service available for our newly renovated, top category room, the Carlyle Club Ocean View Penthouse.•Complimentary shuttle bus to Sandals Royal Caribbean and Sandals Montego Bay “Stay at one play at three”, where you can enjoy eighteen dining experiences.•Voted Sandals “World's Leading All-Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row.•Voted “Caribbean's Leading Hotel Brand” 18 years in a row. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sandals Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Carlyle Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Hotel Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Jamaica
Sandals Jamaica
Sandals Montego Bay
Sandals Inn Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing