We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Best Jerk Chicken on the island”
Review of Scotchies

Scotchies
Ranked #1 of 130 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The Best Jerk Chicken on the island”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

A visit to Scotchies is a must when you visit Jamaica. They have the best Jerk chicken and festival break. There is not one negative thing that I can say about Scotchies. The location was not too far from Sandals and it was easy getting a driver to take us there.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Live_Luv2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,677
    653
    175
    45
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Loved it. Fantastic local jerk shack that is well loved by the locals and tourists. I will definately return to Scotchies.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JFishman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst Customer Service.”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Never been so insulted in decades. Went there with a group of 12 and we were offended with the way they served us. Had placed the order, paid for it, we were so upset we did not pick up part of the order.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KrazyKooK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“4 out of 10”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

The food was okay and quite cheap but nothing special. I've had better, spent most of my time chasing the flies away from my plate, very annoying but to be expected for an outdoor establishment.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Jerk Chicken ever!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We asked our friend and driver, Orville Muir of Real Taxi Service (orvmuir@yahoo.com) to take us to a jerk restaurant that the locals frequent and this was the place…from the moment we stepped out of the van the aroma hit me and I was in jerk heaven!!! Definitely a must stop for any vacationers if you want authentic jerk chicken or pork!!! Also, for excellent transportation service to and from the airport or sightseeing tours, contact Orville Muir!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank panamadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotchies also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scotchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing