We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still The Best Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Scotchies

Scotchies
Ranked #1 of 129 Restaurants in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
224 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Still The Best Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Spicey food may not be your thing but Scotchies is the best place to sample the local jerk pork, chicken or fish. Rustic and very well priced for lunch or dinner.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank LongIdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,641
    646
    172
    43
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Georgetown, TX
Level Contributor
283 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great Island Favorites at a reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

If you're looking for fancy linens and a big fancy menu, you're in the wrong place. If you're looking to experience Jamaican food at its best, in a very relaxed and laid back, non-pretentious atmosphere, then this is the place for you. We ate here twice on our 4 day trip, and the food here was the highlight of our trip. Jerk pork was so good - very flavorful. Chicken was milder, but very tasty. I had steamed snapper for one meal, served with okra and onions, and while it has a heavy fishy taste, it was excellent, perfectly cooked. We tried Bammy and Festival, and of course Red Stripe, as well as a few rum type drinks, and we were not disappointed. The staff is very friendly, our waitress took the time to explain what our options were and what the different foods were and how they were cooked. We made it a point to stop at the cooking pits on our way out to compliment the guys smoking the meats, and they were gracious, appreciative of our compliments, and took time to explain to me a little about how they smoke and cook the wonderful foods. Try it, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You MUST eat here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We met a cab driver, "Sugar Daddy", who told us about scotchies. It was SO delicious, great service, fast cook time, unique atmosphere, and reasonable prices. Dont miss out!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank buddhanmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Hidden pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

The jerk chicken is excellent. I wish I had brought some back with me. I can still taste it. The yucca was good but a little overcooked.

Helpful?
Thank Koko A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Under the corrugated metal you will find......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

When you see smoke from far away you know what's ahead. When you arrive you get out and notice the open pits of meats covered by corrugated metal....normally used for roofing. The smoke and aroma strikes your saliva glands as you find your chow spot and order up your favorite beverage. Red stripe says nothing but true pure cult classic. Many items are available in addition so if you don't know what they are...ask! Try one of everything if your craze is there. Very quick service and well taken care of from the servers. It was midday and just a bit warm and humid but well worth the visit. Relax and chat with the locals and have an experience you'll remember. You might encounter a older gentleman outside soliciting his fine works of art. Gave him 5 bucks and he blessed us. This was a great stop from just getting off the Great River Bamboo tour with RealTours.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank daysofthunder0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scotchies also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Scotchies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing