We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A relaxing afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Martha Brae River

Martha Brae River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Martha Brae River Rafting From Montego Bay
Ranked #3 of 74 things to do in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A relaxing afternoon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

This was a really nice way to spend the afternoon - chilling out on a bamboo raft, being guided down the Martha Brae river. The scenery is beautiful.
There were local craftsmen who followed us along the riverbank trying to encourage us to buy their goods, but there wasn't any pressure. Our raftsman also had products to show us, and we bought a fruit bowl from him as it was beautifully crafted.
Make sure you bring some cash with you - a tip is expected and there are no ATMs nearby!!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianne44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    782
    353
    96
    19
    16
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McDonough, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing, Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

The one hour trip down the river on the Bamboo raft was fantastic. Our guide Massam, was very kind and answered all of our questions. We went on a very calm day, the river flowed very smoothly, which was nice and allowed us to enjoy the scenery. There are a few independent contractors, as I like to refer to them (they're actually locals selling their goods), along the river selling some very nice items. One of the funniest things to remember about Jamaica in general, is that nothing is ever really free. When someone hands you something and says, "This is a nice gift for you beautiful lady", they really mean is, soon as you accept it, I'll tell you how much people usually pay me for it and hope you will too. Way too funny, I just give it back politely and keep it moving. There is a guy that throws a cute little hand-made duplicate raft and tell you it's a souvenir, than the next guy will ask you for $5. The place is beautiful and the people are extremely nice. I'd recommend it as a nice calm afternoon excursion.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank bjsellers85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“beautiful, relaxing ride down the river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

A wonderful, relaxing trip, we found our river captain was just perfect for us! we were lucky to have captain number 95, E Sewell, who only went at dead slow. We had a very informative trip about the country, river, wildlife, plants with him answering our many questions. We were joined half way down by another couple of rafts who all joined in together to sing to their passengers. It was a great experience which i would repeat. At the end he asked if he could show us his craftwork, but there was no pressure to buy anything. The stalls along the bank were full of friendly people where there was no problem if you didnt want to stop, they just waved you on by.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank dfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
87 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

We used Jamaica Tours...the driver rushed us and we got only at most a 3 minute tour of the herb garden from him...use another tour company or take private transportation!

Our gondolier was great, we bought him a coupla' beers, gave him some smokes and tipped him at the end. He did try to sell us carved gourds but we told him just take the money and sell the gourd to
someone else. The ride was beautiful and peaceful. There are vendors, but I was thirsty so we were glad they were available. No pressure and no forced stopping at all. Everywhere you go daytripping there are going to be vendors at some point...but they are just trying to make a living! No problems!

Helpful?
2 Thank gbaylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“not as pleasant as it should or could be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

In theory this could be your best ever ride but in practise is just an excuse for your raft captain to pressure you, to buy his latest carving or for his mates scattered every 100 metres or so down the riverbank to offer you something else..If you can relax by being hassled every 5 minutes go for it , if not you have been warned

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank rhosegood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martha Brae River also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Martha Brae River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing