We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most Relaxing Tour Ever!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Martha Brae River

Martha Brae River
Book In Advance
More Info
US$79.00*
and up
Martha Brae River Rafting From Montego Bay
Ranked #3 of 72 things to do in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Holly Lake Ranch,TX
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Most Relaxing Tour Ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Rafting down the Martha Brae is almost like stepping back to the beginning of time. After a the bus ride from the pier, we were greeted by our raft "captain," Cleve, a very tall, affable Jamaican. We were seated on a 2 seat raft that Cleve poled along the slow moving, beautiful tree-lined river. The scenery was spectacular, with the flowers, trees, and birds. No sounds whatsoever except those by Mother Nature herself....absolutely serene! Cleve was in total control, (except when he let my wife steer) as he tells the history of the river and the local culture. It was our 50th anniversary and Cleve carved a calabash pod signifying the event, with names and date. Priceless!!! If you visit Jamaica, this trip is a must!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Butch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    752
    346
    92
    19
    15
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, OH USA
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Wonderful relaxing tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This tour was close to our hotel, the RIU in Montego Bay, which was a plus. It was very relaxing to float down the river and just sit back and listen to your guide explain about the local vegetation and history. We wore our swim suits under our clothes and were allowed to roll off the raft and swim in the cool water or hang onto the raft as your captain paddles you down the river. You get about 1 hour and 15 minutes of pleasure floating before it has to end. However one bad thing about this that no one told us about was at the end. The captains have a special talent of carving coconuts, gourds or bamboo into different useful items. Our captain carved a beautiful cup from a coconut that we purchased from him, then bought 2 ashtrays and another cup from another captain. They were very nice, but when we came back to the states and through customs they were confiscated. They are classified as "plants" and not allowed back into the United States. So we spent good money on these items and weren't even allowed to keep them. So if you want to support their talents, just donate the money to them, or be prepared to have to go through all your luggage at customs and hand over your trinkets. :-(

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank burbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice relaxing ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This was a nice way to spend an afternoon. The bamboo raft is unique. Our captain was personable. Scenery was nice and river is clean if you want to swim. Overall recommended but it is a little overpriced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank monica m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

A very peaceful quiet ride down a slow moving river. If you are looking for excitement, this is not for you. But I definitely recommend, especially for couples as each raft seats only 2 persons.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An authentic, romantic and beautiful river tour!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We absolutely loved every moment of the river tour! The beautiful surroundings and informative guide gave us an authentic look at what Jamaica has to offer. Make sure to bring cash for the gift shop and to buy the hand carved coconut shells the guides have to sell. One love!!!! Would suggest this tour to everyone!!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martha Brae River also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Martha Brae River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing