We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Jamaica's Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Altamont West Hotel
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Miramar, FL
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Jamaica's Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We returned yesterday from our stay in Jamaica and I had to post this review as soon as possible. Our purpose for travel was the funeral of an aunt. Upon learning of the death finding affordable, safe, clean accommodations was top priority. I was referred to the Altamont by a cousin who had not stayed there but just heard of it. The Altamont West surpassed our expectations in every possible way. We were a sizable party of not just US travelers but UK travelers also, ages ranging from late thirties to early eighties, and the consensus was all "thumbs up". The staff was attentive and very friendly; they understood the purpose of our visit and ensured that our needs were more than just met; we were made comfortable; happy, and rested. The accommodations were immaculate, fresh linen each day. At a rate of $110 - $140 per night, dependent on occupancy; the rooms had beach and garden views. There were complimentary Jamaican breakfasts at The Native two doors down. The hotel faces the beach and a short walk from the Hip Strip. I must mention even the security guard would often assist us in crossing the busy street to the beach during the day. There is a day spa there where one of our party members suffering for a neck injury was able to go and get two great massages and I personally enjoyed a wonderful facial and manicure. The in-house restaurant "Wine with me", owned by Cecile Levee; a name not soon forgotten; was "AWESOME". The staff catered well and took the time to get to know us. The food was very well prepared; the ambiance was inviting, warm and homey. We were able to gather together with our local friends and family there on two occasions; the first was the night after the funeral, Cecile allowed a pianist in our party to play and staff and guests joined in. We also had an afternoon of traditional Jamaican "Saturday Soup" and dominos. Special accolades to “Courtney” a master server who compliments owner Cecile in her practice of excellence as hostess; he worked in step with her image and expectation of service. The synergy with Ms. Levee and her staff cannot go unnoticed and I would me amiss in not mentioning.

It is apparent; I am excited for this establishment as it’s definitely an undiscovered gem. Too often travel experiences leave a lot to be desired, so when one has such a positive one, the word must get out.

For those looking for an affordable place with great amenities, Altamont West, Montego Bay is the place to visit!

  • Liked — Comfort, class, professionalism, affrodability
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank epistrophy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    50
    33
    6
    6
See reviews for
23
35
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Altamont is a nice hotel - decorated nicely in common areas. LOTS of stairs - from street to lobby and lobby to rooms. Room WAY back in hotel - very hot and stuffy corridors - maybe a converted or added on to building? Basic room - nicely tiled floors. Air worked well. One small window into hallway.

Breakfast included at The Native next door - across a parking ot and up another flightof stairs. Good food and excellent service.

  • Liked — close to hip strip. good for early fly out next day home.
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lifeisgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

I'm so glad this hotel now has a place to post a review. When I stayed there last year in August they didn't have a place to post one. This hotel is located on the "Hip Strip" near the Brewery. Walking distance to Pier One, downtown straw market and Margaritaville. The hotel decor is beautiful and the front desk overlooks the "Hip Strip". The view is worth the stay at this hotel.
Now if you desire to get some sleep at least one night while you're staying at this hotel, DONT get a room close to the entrance. Upon arrival our room was near the entrance but after one night, I vowed to clean the entire hotel just to get another room in the back. The wine bar is a place for singles and lovers in my opinion. You can eat, smooch and love on each other! The pool is located in the back near the wine bar. Overall we enjoyed our stay so much, we just booked our room again in July for the Sum Fest.
Jamaica never disappoints me and this hotel was 5 stars in my opinion.

CandyCanDo

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Disliked — Absolutely NOTHING!
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank candycando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston,
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2008

I am a native Jamaican living in Kingston, with many accommodation options in Montego Bay. But since 2007 I have limited myself to just the Altamont West. Why? The Altamont West is simply the prettiest, smartest boutique hotel in Jamaica.
A brightly painted exterior welcomes you to the lobby, furnished with modern pieces, Jamaican art and antique treasures. There is a small pool, but the major attraction is that the hotel is located on the main road through the town, facing the unspoilt beach with its turquoise water. The view is simply breathtaking.
Best of all is the hotel's signature restaurant "Wine With Me" operated by Cecile Levee, one of the city's social queens whose guest list is a who's-who of the island's and world's celebrities. Winner of the 2007 Award for Best New Restaurant, the menu offers gourmet dishes and a vast wine cellar, coupled with impeccable service, all supervised by Cecile whose effervescent personality makes each evening's dining a festive occasion.

Rooms have all the amenities -- plasma TVs, phones and huge beds, and there is a business center and spa.
One optional feature is that if you're lucky, you will catch owner/manager Donahue Jarrett playing the grand piano in his off-duty moments. Trust me -- it's a bonus worth waiting for!

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank jamediapro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.3 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 62 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.5 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#37 of 62 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 62 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
0.7 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.7 mi away
Montego Bay Club Resort
Montego Bay Club Resort
#32 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamont West Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamont West Hotel

Property: Altamont West Hotel
Address: 33 Gloucester Ave, Montego Bay, Jamaica (Formerly Belvedere Beach Hotel)
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altamont West Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Altamont West is a newly refurbished 31 room boutique hotel located on Montego Bay's "Hip Strip". Situated across the street from the Walter Fletcher white sand beach, and home to the much sought-after "Body Bliss" Spa, the hotel has a swimming pool and free wireless internet. Rates include a Continental Breakfast. All rooms have air-conditioning, CD clock radio, 32" wall-mounted flat screen TV, iron, safe, and hair dryer. A conference room is also on property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Altamont West Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing