We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you document all arrangements”
Review of Caribic House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Caribic House
Ranked #32 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Caribic House for 1 night on 30th July even though I booked 2 nights on booking.com, we told the receptionist on arrival that we weren't sure if we were staying the 2 nights or just 1. She (Sabrina) confirmed that it was OK for us to stay for 1 night and pay for that night, and if we wanted to stay the 2nd night, we could pay on that day.
The next day, we left for breakfast and got greeted by another receptionist (Tanisha) who demanded a cancellation fee which was not mentioned before. Long story short, she demanded we were cancelling or reservation even though we had paid for 1 night already, and then all of the staff started lying and going back on their word, telling us conflicting information. The manager refused to see us, and eventually, they threatened us with the police if the bill wasn't settled. I requested the police definitely get involved as this was a complete injustice.
Eventually the police sided with us and agreed that Sabrina should've informed us of any vital information and didn't follow correct protocol

I will never stay there again, even though the property is clean and the rooms are big and the location is perfect, what a shame

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
6  Thank Lee7337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Booked there to be close in to attend REGGAE SUMFEST WEEK ACTIVITIES... yes, they met my need of lowest possible floor room,but it was sooooo small and cramped-in feeling... The staff were very pleasant and helpful... very noisy locale...
Room had refrig, wi-fi, A/C... But it would have been a definite plus to have bottled water in refrig or at least on property... ice,no! forget that... How about a beach towel?
FREE PARKING WAS NOT TO BE FOUND...

Room Tip: Really can't say...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank CharchaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night as we had an early flight the next morning. The hotel is certainly in need of some TLC-staff are not particularly friendly. The walls are very thin and we could hear people coming in and out late at night. There are a lot of hotels in Montego Bay to choose from, so keep looking!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yazu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I had to go to Montego Bay, Jamaica for just a night, and was traveling with my wife. I wasn't too keen on spending a hundred bucks, and was looking for a budget location, which would be clean, close to the beach, market and other restaurants. Caribic house didn't disappoint me at all.
The room was pretty much as I imagined but it was clean. It had a LCD, an air-conditioner, and the basic stuff.
I booked it through booking.com, which advertised like 10% taxes, but the Caribic house folks didn't charge me that part, so that was nice.

The hotel was right by the beach, with Doctor's cave beach just a minute walk away.
Overall, if you're looking for something reasonable without any frills, this is the place to be. I'd recommend this totally to a budget traveler.

Room Tip: Take a top floor room since it has a good view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveljunkie_ash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Mit Empfehlen von mein family and friends,i must say this small hotel is for any person small or large budget.overlooking the Doctor's cave beach and very comfortable,one can not eat there,but the room are big enough and has aircondition.

Room Tip: There are lots or restaurant in the near and upstairs rooms are awesome!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BishopPatricia8048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Montego Bay and the Hip Strip are notorious for jacked up prices for all the tourists. There are several big resorts in the area - which were beyond my budget - and lots of smaller hotels nearby. My friend and I found this hotel - while not the nicest I have ever stayed in - to be all that we needed to enjoy Montego Bay. The rooms are pretty basic and non-descript. Two twin beds, small refrigerator, chair, desk and that is all. Towels were provided for the shower which was small stand-up only shower. Basic walls, nothing fancy but not too bad.

The price of approx. $60 USD and being directly across the street from the free beach at Doctor's Cave is what makes this an excellent choice! Most of the beaches charge $12 per day and access to a free beach is perfect! On this beach is also free padddleboards, Wi-Fi and easy access to Bigg's BBQ restaurant where you can easy order food and drink all day. There is a roped off swimming area and dock. The snorkeling is excellent and the water absolutely beautiful ... all directly across the street. So worth staying in a lower quality place for all this!

There was a security guard there at all times and free Wi-fi available. I do, however, recommend locking up any valuables either in their safe - which I did not do because the front desk was closed at 7 pm - but certainly in your bags in your room. Although I didn't have any issues, you just never know...

All in all, cheap, easy place to stay directly in the middle of the Hip-Strip...all you have to do is walk nearby to anything you need.

Room Tip: You can pay about $10 more to go to a Superior room with beach views ...otherwise you face the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stephanie021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Enjoyed our stay there but beware... make sure to bring locks for your suitcases....bags that were not under lock and key were privy to whomever entered the room even after telling them we did not require housekeeping. Yes, SEVERAL items went missing including gifts brought for family in Jamaica.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank nymtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.4 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 63 in Montego Bay
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#24 of 63 in Montego Bay
214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribic House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribic House

Address: 69 Gloucester Ave, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £49 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Caribic House 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Caribic House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribic House Hotel Montego Bay
Caribic Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing