We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on your needs!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Reviewed 12 January 2014

They charged extra for more than two people in a room although we book with them knowing the number. It was an extra $30 a person charge, other than that it was OK not bad not great. The bar was great

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 243 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

years ago, this was the place to stay in Montego Bay. No more! it's shabby, the staff is mostly surly, you have to pay to use the beach… It's a pity to see a once special boutique hotel turn into a place you cannot wait to leave. We would not go back, and neither would another guest we met who was also shocked at the decline of the place.

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Located on the hip strip close to beaches and restaurants. Rooms are very basic with no internet access - WIFI only available in the lobby. No iron nor iron board was in the room, no kettle for hot water. I've only available from the bar. Pool uninviting - could do with a paint job, luckily good beaches are close by.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed with my family for 7 nights for Christmas break. Room was small but clean, however, the shower didn't work properly. We did not get hot water for two mornings in a row. After we complained the first time, the staff told us that they would 'restart' the boiler. The TV remote broke 3 times and on the last night, the TV stopped working altogether!
The hip strip isnt what it used to be, a lot of the bars had adult only nights so there was little to no entertainment on the strip or inside the hotel for families. If you have young children, its best to stay at an all inclusive. As this was a last minute trip, we decided to stay there as it was within our budget.
The staff are very friendly and were very kind to my children. We enjoyed the gardens and slept well, even though the A/C unit was very old and noisy, I had to stand on a chair to turn it off as it was not remote controlled. We were given a room at the back of the hotel so we did not hear any street noise. Parking there, however, is awful. The car park holds about 6 cars total and we had to fight to get a parking space. On the last night, we had to plead with the front desk to ask the manager to move his car for us to park as we didn't have a permit to park on the street and would of gotten clamped and towed.
The bartender seemed bored with his job and was a little short when I asked him to make chocolate milkshakes for my children, which he made with ice and milk instead of ice-cream so they did not taste very nice.
The hotel isn't related to the Beach Club, so you have to pay to enter that beach but we found it over crowded and expensive so we went to Cornwall Beach which is a 2 sec walk in the other direction, much cheaper a lot cleaner and better.
The location is excellent, within walking distance of all shops. If you have a car, go for a drive into the town centre and you will find other fast food restaurants if you are sick of Burger King or paying a lot at the restaurants.
The manager was extremely friendly and nice and made our stay comfortable.

I would go back alone for a stop over but not for a long holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Rooms there are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kp19810317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Rooms are clean
friendly staff
small breakfast included (toast, butter, cheese, jam)
Dr. Cave Beach is not so far (entrance 3-5$)
ambiance wouldn't be enough, that I would like to stay longer than 1-3 nights - not "best hotel ever"

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

I'm not big on spending money on expensive hotels. If you're looking for a resort, this is not for you. If you're looking for a place to sleep and go do things away from the hotel, it's great. The hotel was quiet, bar was dead, and the staff was fine. The only things I should note, "free breakfast" is toast and coffee, nothing else. Also, Do not use the hotel's "authorized driver" that the hotel staff recommends. He tried to charge me 40$ to drive down the street. Use a red license plate taxi while visiting Montego and always bargain the price. Bathroom and room was clean. TV, furniture and room was outdated from the 90's, but again clean. There is only WiFi in the lobby. Bar is open until 10PM. The shops nearby are very expensive for food, and trinkets. Staff is friendly and offered advice all the time. The pool is very small, but if you're in Jamaica, go to the beach. There is two beaches you pay to get into. There is two public beaches farther walk away. There is a few restaurants a short walk or cab drive away. If you take a cab from the airport it shouldn't cost more than 10$

Room Tip: There is two kinds, pool side or garden... dont waste money on the pool side, it faces the street an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wojdacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I was on my first ever trip to visit Jamaica alone, middle-aged woman from Canada. Having a small budget for my trip, I wanted a hotel in the centre of Montego Bay, with secure parking for my rental car, at an affordable price. I was fully satisfied with Doctors Cave Beach Hotel. The room was simple but clean and comfortable. Only downside was a noisy air conditioner which I had to shut off to get to sleep. Breakfast was toast, banana bread and coffee or tea. Additions of juice and a few hot items would be great. I felt totally safe and for the price I paid, I felt I got very good value. You should note it is on a busy street, not the beach. All staff were helpful and very pleasant and friendly. I would return if I visited Mo Bay again on the same budget!!

Room Tip: You may wish to listen to the volume of the air conditioner in your room - perhaps I just had an esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 322Josephine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
83 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#22 of 63 in Montego Bay
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#26 of 63 in Montego Bay
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range: £85 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing