We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location... OK service but....average for the area... Not good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location... OK service but....average for the area... Not good”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

This hotel is directly across the street from the world famous Doctors Cave Beach so I was expecting a lot more. Room was pretty spacious but bla.. Not dirty but a little more attention to detail could have made a lot of difference. Place was dead day and night. Maybe it was because of my expectations from knowing of this place for so long but I was less than impressed. Ok to stay if you have to be on the strip last minute but. Check out the Wexford down the road. Cleaner and less expensive.. I moved there the next day.. The beach is still a very short walk away.

Room Tip: Book an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Souloaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    61
    68
    36
    34
See reviews for
47
66
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Picton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Upon checking in at the hotel we were told they didn't have a reservation for us even though it was made, paid for & had a reservation number months in advance. After a while we were able to check in & Dwayne took us upstairs to our room. The garden below looked lovely but I was not so impressed with the room. It was a little tired looking but clean & okay for the night.
We spoke to him about wanting to see Rocklands Bird Sanctuary the next day so he arranged a driver for us.

We really liked the location of the hotel, close to stores & the beautiful beach that we got a pass for since the swimming pool at the hotel was under construction. We walked up to the Pork Pit for dinner & got to see a lot of Gloucester Ave.

We came back to the hotel & used the free wifi which was available in the lobby but more peacefully by the games room.

The next morning when we went for our included small breakfast we were told it was Jamaican buffet & wasn't free. I told them I chose this hotel because a toast & tea breakfast was offered & that's all we wanted so after a bit of back & forth we were cheerfully served it by the pool.
I changed some money at the desk & that went well.
Glen picked us up at 10 & we checked out & went on our way to see the birds.

If we ever returned to Montego Bay we would probably stay here again if the price was right & we had a nicer room.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2cruise2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I, Canadians of Jamaican birth, stayed at Doctors Cave Beach Hotel over the Christmas period last year. We were very impressed with the management and staff of this hotel who constantly made sure we were enjoying our visit. The hotel offers good value for what we paid. We felt as though we were among family. We enjoyed the location on the strip, the wicked free rum punch drinks made by the famous bartender Kenny, and the friendly morning chats with Miss Bev who has worked for the hotel for 42 years. We ended up cancelling some of our reservations at some of the more popular all-inclusive hotels so that we could spend more time at Doctors Cave Beach Hotel. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Jamaica.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I gave the hotel 3 stars because the employees were so nice and helpful. The rooms are ok.

The pool is very small and gets very little sun due to the location. The beach is almost directly across the street; however it isn't associated with the hotel so you have to pay to access it.

I only paid $10.00 per night after I used my points from Travelocity and for this cost it was good.

Room Tip: Check out Hotel Gloriana instead. It is a better value and has a restaurant and a better pool. Loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauderhill, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Doctors cave is the worst place ever the place is filthy an the service is very poor, I went there on the 6th of January and because the place was dirty,doors were shaky,the air condition was old and broken,cob webs decked the walls I could go on for days, I requested a refunded and I'm still waiting on the refund today the 17th of January! When I called all the managers there knew nothing the so called general manager Ted Simpson knew nothing after I had been calling for days and repeated ignored my calls, when I did speak to himit was completely pointless he had nothing to say and acted as if he couldn't fix the problem when. They should of returned my money! I can tell you this they will never get my money or he money of anybody I know

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sloanewuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montego Bay hotels

Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

They charged extra for more than two people in a room although we book with them knowing the number. It was an extra $30 a person charge, other than that it was OK not bad not great. The bar was great

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

years ago, this was the place to stay in Montego Bay. No more! it's shabby, the staff is mostly surly, you have to pay to use the beach… It's a pity to see a once special boutique hotel turn into a place you cannot wait to leave. We would not go back, and neither would another guest we met who was also shocked at the decline of the place.

Room Tip: don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.5 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 63 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caribic House
Caribic House
#33 of 63 in Montego Bay
79 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 63 in Montego Bay
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#31 of 63 in Montego Bay
514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 63 in Montego Bay
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doctors Cave Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doctors Cave Beach Hotel

Property: Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Address: Gloucester Avenue | PO Box 94, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Doctors Cave Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel is centrally located on Gloucester Avenue, locally referred to as the "Hip Strip" because this is where you will find many of the shops, restaurants, beaches and nightlife that Montego Bay has to offer. The hotel is moderately priced and offers clean rooms, friendly staff and all the conveniences of a full service hotel, such as a pool, Jacuzzi and a small fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Doctors Cave Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Doctors Cave Beach
Doctors Cave Beach Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing