We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not As Bad As I Feared”
Review of Grandiosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grandiosa Hotel
Ranked #16 of 45 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 September 2013

After reading all the painfully negative reviews on the Grandiosa, I wondered if I had made a huge mistake selecting it for a one night stay at an inexpensive hotel near Montego Bay airport.

We arrived on the island at 7:30 p.m., the night before our check-in day at the resort we selected for our vacation. I called the Grandiosa after clearing customs and they dispatched a driver to pick us up. The shuttle is free during daytime hours, however a $15.00 fee is charged at night. Turns out it would have been faster just to take a taxi at the airport for the same price.

Check-in was fast and efficient and the front office clerk and bell hop were very pleasant. We stayed in room #5; located on the first floor and overlooking the swimming pool. The room was clean, we had warm (not hot) water in the shower and the air conditioning unit worked. The free wireless internet connection also worked, which apparently is not always the case (the hotel states that the connection is available in the common areas and not specifically in any room). Problems noted with the room included a warped bathroom door which would not close all the way and an outdated safe, for which a key was needed to operate but not supplied at check-in. We could hear some traffic noise from inside our room but it was not overbearing. There was no music noise at all, but it was a Sunday night (maybe a problem on Friday and Saturday).

Before retiring, we went to the bar and had our free welcome cocktail (rum punch) and a couple of Red Stripe beers. The bartender was friendly and gave us lots of attention as we were his only customers.

Before checking out, we had breakfast at the restaurant. My wife had a bacon, cheese and green pepper omelet and I had eggs, toast and a side order of pancakes. Our breakfast was O.K., but nothing special. Our bill was about $22.00 including coffee, service fee and taxes.

All in all, the Grandiosa was not as bad as I had feared. It's certainly not the Hilton, or even the Best Western for that matter; but it proved to meet our needs for a one night stay. Special thanks to Martha for handling my pre-booking questions and post-stay transfer to our vacation destination.

Room Tip: The closer you are to the swimming pool, the better your chances are of the internet connection work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sceneisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2013

The hotel was not as advertised , old bedding, outdated furniture and bathroom. I wouldn't stay there for an hour , my family checked in and then checked right out. The pool was nasty and the restaurant looked unsanitary . The only positive thing about this hotel was the staff and the Internet service.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flyfree2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

It is more motel than hotel. There is no elevator, not wheel chair accessible. Climbed 36 steps to my room on the 2nd floor. The room was spacious with a king size bed, small table and chairs and a refrigerator. The A.C. was nice and cold.The bathroom had two towels no washcloths. The shower curtain had mildew on it. The water pressure is very low and no hot water. The room was overlooking the pool which had what looked like moss on the corners inside the water, it needed a good cleaning. The pool didn't look clean like the pics on Expedia. Needless to say no one went into the pool. The food at the restaurant is pricey for 2 omelettes with toast, pot of coffee and juice it cost almost $30. It would be better if u stay at a all inclusive when u add up the cost of the meals plus the room. Also there is no entertainment so nothing to do at the hotel. It is true u get what u pay for. Cheaper is never better. This place is only suited for a one nighter or for someone who only wants somewhere to sleep. If u are looking for a fantastic hotel/resort this ain't it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamaica_Beach_Bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

My wife and I checked in for a 7 night stay. The room was clean and came with a fridge. Nothing to complain about other than noticing a few small ants in the room. Other than that The Grandiosa was a great hotel to come back to after running around all day. Staff was really friendly and helpful. Best budget friendly hotel in Montego Bay!

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Xavier X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Cheap and very simple hotel. We needed just one night to explore Montego bay, so was OK, views beautiful if you get a room overlooking the bay. Its high on the hill, you can walk down to the town, but up.... you will need taxi, which not that cheap there. Don't expect much out of this place. Try Jamaican breakfast omlet, I fell in love with it

Room Tip: with view, didnt see other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MalikaEp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Thought the price was good so check in initially for 8 nights, however checked out after 2 nights. I am not too bothered about thrills, but this hotel did not have the basics. The room i got was spacious but had no fridge, no safe or microwave and no wifi connection. After speaking to the team at reception they explained that a mini fridge would be an extra $10 US per night, no microwave would be provided and the wifi is accessible in the public spaces. For the 2 days i was there had to sit a pool side which was the only place that wifi worked, at the poolside was the main road loud noisy and disturbing. What really initiated the move from this hotel, was when I asked for my food to be warmed up in the microwave in the main kitchen and the request was refused.

I was moved from one room to another with a fridge at no extra cost, but the wifi problem persisted and the fact that they would not warm my food up, i felt this was not a place for me. I did not go back to the staff as I was of the opinion they thought i was being difficult, other arrangment where made through my agent, and my money was refunded

Room Tip: Get a corner room, for the beach get pool front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobzta-Bobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed at the Grandiosa near the Montego Bay Airport before arriving at our resort the next day. After traveling most of the day spending the night someplace easy to get to was our plan. The hotel is clean, courtious, with decent food. We stayed on the top floor as we wanted a view of the sea. No elevators were available. The staff was very helpful with the luggage. The restaurant is right on the premises and the staff is very helpful. The drawbacks were near a busy noisy road and no water pressure for the morning shower. They are trying very hard although not quite suitable for longer than a night.

Room Tip: Get the top floor although poor water pressure in shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MTNLVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.2 mi away
Deja Resort
Deja Resort
#23 of 64 in Montego Bay
199 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#29 of 64 in Montego Bay
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#40 of 64 in Montego Bay
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Toby's Resort
Toby's Resort
#27 of 64 in Montego Bay
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#24 of 64 in Montego Bay
575 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grandiosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grandiosa Hotel

Address: 3 Ramparts Close | White Sands Beach, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range: £52 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grandiosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grandiosa is a beautiful 45 room boutique hotel located in Montego Bay on the hill overlooking the ocean and airport area of Montego Bay. The hotel offers 40 beautifully appointed ocean view and garden view rooms, 5 lovely suites, full service restaurant and bar, conference and banquet facilities and other areas for formal or informal gatherings such as wedding receptions, family reunions, dinners and conferences. Live entertainment is offered during high season. Swimming pool and parking.The guest rooms have 2 double beds or one king with full bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grandiosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jamaica Grandiosa Resort
The Jamaica Grandiosa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing