We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best staff in Jamaica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best staff in Jamaica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This was our sixth trip to Jamaica. We have enjoyed every previous trip, but this one topped them all. We stayed on the preferred side of St. James.
Check in was not only a breeze, but the best greeting we experienced in our six trips. We came with a group of eighteen, and they had a small party ready for us on our arrival. Our flight had been delayed for four hours in Chicago, and the staff, armed with this knowledge, was ready and waiting. From the second we stepped off the bus, we were ushered straight to the lobby bar off of the entry. Check in itself only took less than a few minutes per room. While we checked in, they had someone playing the piano and a bartender on duty.
Don't know how there could be any negative reviews regarding the staff. Especially, hats off to the Colonel at the Manatee swim up bar! This bartender alone made every day fun and uniquely special. Thanks Ernie! He had some help from Donovan and Dr. Phil as well. Everyone of the staffed you passed, each and every day, gave a sincere greeting and smile.
I found the food and selections to be very good. We tried each restaurant and found something on the menu to please us. There was no one with a hand out looking for a tip. Even though we did tip those we felt provided exceptional service, the level of service did not depend on a tip. Drinks were far from watered down as I had read in a few reviews. Never used room service ourselves, but other in the group did and no complaints there as well.
Previous trips have included Negril, so the beach wasn't exactly as nice as we were accustomed, but it was still nice and got the job done. Plenty of sand, sun, and water.
The grounds and hotel were clean and comfortable. Can't stay that the mini fridge was cold, but we didn't spend much time in our room. Besides, there was a bar available about every fifty yards or so! There were no issues with housekeeping whatsoever and I wonder if others that had issues had maybe accidently left their privacy light on when they left the room.
The only downside to this trip was the upgrade to the preferred side. We were supposed to have the "Anniversary Package" with the flowers, fruits, and sparkling wine in our room and they were not. We did not complain, nor did we call to receive these items. We did get the welcome letter and the discount at the spa. However, what was disappointing was they pushed very hard (extra check in, reminders under the door, and three phone calls) to get us to take 90 minutes and attend a special presentation for their vacation club. I felt had they cared more about selling us additional amentities, they forgot to take care of what they had promised. I wouldn't recommend the upgrade to the Preferred rooms. Although the snacks and drinks in the lobby area were convienent, not worth the price. Preferred pools and beaches no more special but a tad more secluded if you are looking not to socialize.
The staff is what makes Secrets so special, and in the end, this is why we'll be returning.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floor rooms give an unobstructive ocean view and privacy vs ground floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 64Beemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,118
    1,339
    477
    139
    111
See reviews for
390
4,268
132
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,316)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

The day after our wedding we flew into montego bay and arrived at the resort we received a warm welcome from friendly staff and a cocktail to boot! We were there for a full week and enjoyed every day that we were there. The food was not up to our standards but the location, resort, beach, was. I would say taking a day trip to Negril to see Rick's cafe is also an excellent idea and someof the most fun we had while we were there. ENJOY MON!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morganmosley327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Went to the St James with several friends for a relaxing weekend December 8, 2011. There was nothing to disappoint at all. Rooms were beautiful,clean and perfect. We spent a godd amount of time at the the St James preferred pool which was quiet most of the time. The staff was attentive and friendly, the food was excellent, entertainment enjoyable. It is not too far from the airport so no long scary ride to deal with, all in all it was one of the best quick getaways I have had.

Room Tip: After looking it over I couldn't find any 'bad locations. The Wild Orchid side seemed to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greenlandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon here in August 2011. The resort grounds are beautiful to say the least! There were constantly people cleaning/fixing things everywhere we went. The drive from the airport should be relatively quick, but due to bridge construction, it took us about an hour. The only positive was that we were able to see the chaos and culture of Jamaica. Its definitely not a place you want to walk around and explore on your own (sidenote that excursions are perfectly fine, and on a cruise recently we did a zipline and Dunns River Falls tour that was excellent!). The pool bar is so much fun, and pretty much everyone there was young couples on their honeymoon. Around lunchtime every day we got some rain, so we just went to the poolside restaurant and ate. The jerk chicken cart is fantastic as every other person has mentioned. My husband ate some every single day. There's poolside activities, and the activities people always remember your name if you're one to participate. Zumba in the pool was so much fun! One couple we met was staying in the preferred area, but said it wasn't worth it, and were over with us every day.

We're not gourmet restaurant people (Yardhouse is pretty much our go-to), so we were satisfied by the food at all the restaurants. The hibachi was a lot of fun, and we made the reservation right when we checked in so there was no problem getting a spot. Breakfast brought to our room with champagne one morning was a special treat too.

Truly, my only complaint was that the ATM was broken the whole time we were there, so once we ran out of cash, we were unable to tip anyone.

I would definitely return to this and any Secrets. I'll try to convince my husband for our 1-year anniversary!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelnoelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Our group of twelve friends went to SSJ from 11/29-12/5 and had a great time. I cannot believe all the negative reviews from people. The grounds were beautiful, room fantastic, pools great and food was very good as well.

The shower did not leak, there were no mosquitos, beer in room fridge was cold and the bed was fantastic. Small room safe is also a plus.

The only thing I would change is the noise between 3:00am-4:00am when dishes were being removed from the room service cubby's. With no carpet in he hall or rooms, the noise is very loud according to friends-I never woke up.

Staff was so helpful. A few need mentioning and they are: Dr. Phil and Eric from the bar. Petal and Kadeisha kept the drinks coming at the pool/beach. Ashonie is breath of fresh air who had us doing all sorts of activities. Vanessa and Cassie helped us with towel shapes-they know what shapes they showed us!!!!! We also went to the piano bar and night cub several times and had a lot of fun.

We also met some new friends-our Canadian friends from Soult St Marie and the family whose wedding we attended on the beach.

Our freinds made our trip a blast-thanks to Carl/Karen, Joe/Gail, Bill/Bev, Paul/Stacey and Pete/Trish-you guys are the best. We cannot wait to go back and next time we will be staying longer.

Room Tip: Higher floor is better for ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Kentucky
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

My husband and I went Secrets St. James in December 2011 for our Honeymoon. The vacation was the best we have had. The resort was very clean & modern. The choices of restuarants was great and all of the food was amazing. We had many options for excursions which we took advantage of. We were never bored. We meet great people there. The resort has an entertainment staff which was so much fun. We made some great people who helped make our trip evern more fun, inlcuding Alister Williams & Cacelia Swaby. They are both amazaing at there jobs and we will definitley go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killdeer, North Dakota, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Me and my wife went to Secrets St James for our Delayed honeymoon/ 2 year anniversary! The Staff there was Excellent! They treat you like Royalty wherever you go! Awesome meals, awesome beaches, great drinks and entertainment! They have their entertainment team that is really fun to be around! We had a great time with Venesa Blake who is energetic and a great dancer!!! Also Fabian was super hilarious and a great dancer/entertainer! Joanna banana was a peppy little gal! Uton Vassel and Jovane Cunningham were also very nice! Overall me and my wife stayed there for a week, and we had an awesome time!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are Ocean View. Just depends if you want to pay for the preferred rooms and spend more or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing