We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful resort” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 61 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
“Beautiful resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2011

Went to Secrets St. James December 3rd-10th with my husband and had a wonderful time. We were a little skeptical due to some of the other reviews. The rooms were amazing...love the soaking tub and ocean view! A few shout outs to the excellent staff at Bordeaux, Robert was the best server ever. We loved this restaurant so much we went twice. The best kept "secret" at the resort is the Seaside Grill, the food was fabulous and the staff was wonderful, especially Ingrid. Kenneth at the Barracuda Beach Bar was awesome, friendly, entertaining and kept the alcohol flowing. The entertainment staff was great and had everyone participating. All in all a wonderful resort worth returning to.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LMU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,063
    1,315
    467
    136
    107
See reviews for
381
4,201
131
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,286)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

This place was GREAT!! Although most people go to this resort for a couples vacation I went with two of my girlfriends and we had a blast. The staff at this resort really made our trip unforgettable. The Food was great. The Hibachi restaurant was so much fun. Everyone should try the jerk chicken on the beach. If you are looking for a resort that is down to earth this is the place to go. DId I mention the staff is great. They will go above and beyound to make your stay special. Thank you Jorane Cunningham, Joanna, Venesa and Jovi Iuvenis for showing us a great time. I can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chelse09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandeville, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

After a long flight my daughter and I decided to take some R&R at this hotel before continuing on our journey home. The grounds are absolutely beautiful. The rooms are fantastic and the fact that you can get 24 hr room service without paying addition money is really great. The staff is by far the friendliest and the most courteous I have ever encountered. Mr. Billy Love gets my vote for the nicest and most professional staff member. Marlon and Mr. Wow Manager went out of their way to direct us to the various areas of the hotel. That was amazing to us. What a wonderful staff!
We dined at the French restaurant and I would recommend it highly. Overall an excellent hotel to stay. .

Room Tip: The Secret Box is fabulous. When your food is being delivered to your room instead of someone enteri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carmen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

I went there for 5 nights with my boyfriend from 12/17-12/22 and I have to say it was the most wonderful experience. The staff is amazingly friendly. The resort is 100 times more beautiful then shown in pictures. You were able to tell from the moment you got there how happy the guests were. All of the couples we met were super happy and didn't want to leave, we were that couple a few hours later! The Jamaican Beef Patties and Jerk Chicken that they serve on the beach from 11:30-5pm were soooooooo good! They make you never want to leave the resort. We literally had to force ourselves to leave and go dolphin swimming (which was a great experience). The term all-inclusive really does its justice!! They will give you ANYTHING you need as long as you ask for it. Its a beautiful place and I would recommend staying for at least 7 days because anything less than that doesn't give you enough time to experience it all!! There are so many different bars, pools and restaurants to explore!
ONLY NEGATIVE: we were offered to upgrade our room to the "Preferred" room..pretty pointless in my opinion. Anyone who got rooms that weren't "preferred club members" almost had the same experience as us for a portion of the price we payed!
But other than that, AMAZING place. I wouldn't stay at any other resort if I were headed to Jamaica!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

This was our sixth trip to Jamaica. We have enjoyed every previous trip, but this one topped them all. We stayed on the preferred side of St. James.
Check in was not only a breeze, but the best greeting we experienced in our six trips. We came with a group of eighteen, and they had a small party ready for us on our arrival. Our flight had been delayed for four hours in Chicago, and the staff, armed with this knowledge, was ready and waiting. From the second we stepped off the bus, we were ushered straight to the lobby bar off of the entry. Check in itself only took less than a few minutes per room. While we checked in, they had someone playing the piano and a bartender on duty.
Don't know how there could be any negative reviews regarding the staff. Especially, hats off to the Colonel at the Manatee swim up bar! This bartender alone made every day fun and uniquely special. Thanks Ernie! He had some help from Donovan and Dr. Phil as well. Everyone of the staffed you passed, each and every day, gave a sincere greeting and smile.
I found the food and selections to be very good. We tried each restaurant and found something on the menu to please us. There was no one with a hand out looking for a tip. Even though we did tip those we felt provided exceptional service, the level of service did not depend on a tip. Drinks were far from watered down as I had read in a few reviews. Never used room service ourselves, but other in the group did and no complaints there as well.
Previous trips have included Negril, so the beach wasn't exactly as nice as we were accustomed, but it was still nice and got the job done. Plenty of sand, sun, and water.
The grounds and hotel were clean and comfortable. Can't stay that the mini fridge was cold, but we didn't spend much time in our room. Besides, there was a bar available about every fifty yards or so! There were no issues with housekeeping whatsoever and I wonder if others that had issues had maybe accidently left their privacy light on when they left the room.
The only downside to this trip was the upgrade to the preferred side. We were supposed to have the "Anniversary Package" with the flowers, fruits, and sparkling wine in our room and they were not. We did not complain, nor did we call to receive these items. We did get the welcome letter and the discount at the spa. However, what was disappointing was they pushed very hard (extra check in, reminders under the door, and three phone calls) to get us to take 90 minutes and attend a special presentation for their vacation club. I felt had they cared more about selling us additional amentities, they forgot to take care of what they had promised. I wouldn't recommend the upgrade to the Preferred rooms. Although the snacks and drinks in the lobby area were convienent, not worth the price. Preferred pools and beaches no more special but a tad more secluded if you are looking not to socialize.
The staff is what makes Secrets so special, and in the end, this is why we'll be returning.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floor rooms give an unobstructive ocean view and privacy vs ground floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 64Beemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

The day after our wedding we flew into montego bay and arrived at the resort we received a warm welcome from friendly staff and a cocktail to boot! We were there for a full week and enjoyed every day that we were there. The food was not up to our standards but the location, resort, beach, was. I would say taking a day trip to Negril to see Rick's cafe is also an excellent idea and someof the most fun we had while we were there. ENJOY MON!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morganmosley327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Went to the St James with several friends for a relaxing weekend December 8, 2011. There was nothing to disappoint at all. Rooms were beautiful,clean and perfect. We spent a godd amount of time at the the St James preferred pool which was quiet most of the time. The staff was attentive and friendly, the food was excellent, entertainment enjoyable. It is not too far from the airport so no long scary ride to deal with, all in all it was one of the best quick getaways I have had.

Room Tip: After looking it over I couldn't find any 'bad locations. The Wild Orchid side seemed to ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greenlandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Royalton White Sands Resort
Royalton White Sands Resort
#15 of 61 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,826 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Destinology, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing