We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best entertainment from a hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 62 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best entertainment from a hotel ever”
Reviewed 28 December 2011

Bar service at the Barcuda bar was amazing!!!!! Enjoyed the production in the show time theatre called "Reggae Love", entertainment on the pool deck was phenomenal with Jovane he also thought me and my family how to do tye and dye, and Jamaican dance moves. Front Desk expirence was not up to standard could be more polite and possible retrain. The Jamaican restaurant was also amazing!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,142
    1,352
    485
    142
    111
See reviews for
395
4,306
136
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,335)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

this resort is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It was truly an amazing honeymoon and it had to do a lot with the resort. We stayed at Secrets St. James for two weeks 12/10 - 12/23. We were very impressed by the service, luxury, friendly and helpful staff, amenities, entertainment, restaurants, bars, convenience and ease of booking excursions and tours, the natural beauty, EVERYTHING!!!!!!!!!!!! It was truly a dream come true. You can't go wrong with secrets. this was my first time staying at a secrets resort but it will not be my last.

I also feel like I need to mention some of the staff members because they become like family. Some of our favorites were Bryan (excursions desk), Ernel (St. James swim-up bar), Joanna and Jovane (St. James Entertainment Team), Nardia (check-in @ St. James preferred club), and there are so many more amazing employess that we interacyed with but unfortunately i dont rememeber all the names. THANK YOU!

Room Tip: All room are beach front so you can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

My boyfriend and I went the first week in December to celebrate my 50th Birthday. From the minute we arrived the staff made us made us feel welcome especially Nordia McIntyre at the front desk in the Preferred club. She was amazing. She went the extra mile to make sure my birthday was special. The rooms were beautiful and the view was amazing. The Hibachi restaurant was alot of fun. Make sure to get the first table. Those guys were great. The whole staff was friendly the bartenders were great. Overall we had a great experience and would definately go there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sacpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My wife and I went to Jamaica for a get away and it was such a great decision because we chose Secrets St. James resort in Montego Bay. The food was fabulous, the resort was gorgeous and clean, and the staff was incredibly warm. The staff makes you feel a part of Jamaica from the second you enter the resort until the second you leave. A special thanks to the following employees that really made our trip beyond special: Kerry Ann, Yvette, John, Josiah, Niron, Adrian and Dennis at the Marlin Bar. Oneill English at the piano bar. Cassie and Fabian in entertainment. Relaine at the front desk was awesome every time we needed her. Christopher Rose at check in began it all with his warm welcome and room tour. Last but not least, Jerome who taught us how to sail. We are going back this summer, if that is any indication of our experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Were with a group from Dec 17-22 and had a great time! The ages in our group rangedfrom 18-60 years. Ernel (the Colonel) was the best seim-up bartender followed closely by Phil (Dr Phil)! Riccardo and Karen were wonderful at the Lobby bar and front desk. Actually all the staff was very friendly and fun to spend time with. The food was very good, the rooms clean, and towel serrvice twice a day. The entertainment staff was fun too, esp Nokoy. There was plenty to do you if you wanted to partake, but no one put pressure on you to do so if you just wanted to be alone and/or relax. The Desires nightclub was what you made of it! The rooms have awesome views and we did not hear any noise in surrounding rooms. The swim-up pool at St James was much more lively and fun than the one at Wild Orchid. There are plenty of beaches and places to relax. I do not think that either resort was "full" as there were plenty of chairs etc. The resort is only about 15-min from the airport, but you do not feel that you are close to a large city or hear much "jet" noise. The spa was great too! If we had to name any negtives,they would be minimal: a few rooms had mosquitoes, paying for a glass bottom boat ride, and mini fridge not very cold and limited to apple juice, water, regular red stripe beer only, and few soda pops. Overall this is the best all-inclusdive experiences we have had. We miss you Ernel (the Colonel)! Merry Christmas.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank funinthesun12172111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Went to Secrets St. James December 3rd-10th with my husband and had a wonderful time. We were a little skeptical due to some of the other reviews. The rooms were amazing...love the soaking tub and ocean view! A few shout outs to the excellent staff at Bordeaux, Robert was the best server ever. We loved this restaurant so much we went twice. The best kept "secret" at the resort is the Seaside Grill, the food was fabulous and the staff was wonderful, especially Ingrid. Kenneth at the Barracuda Beach Bar was awesome, friendly, entertaining and kept the alcohol flowing. The entertainment staff was great and had everyone participating. All in all a wonderful resort worth returning to.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMU62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

This place was GREAT!! Although most people go to this resort for a couples vacation I went with two of my girlfriends and we had a blast. The staff at this resort really made our trip unforgettable. The Food was great. The Hibachi restaurant was so much fun. Everyone should try the jerk chicken on the beach. If you are looking for a resort that is down to earth this is the place to go. DId I mention the staff is great. They will go above and beyound to make your stay special. Thank you Jorane Cunningham, Joanna, Venesa and Jovi Iuvenis for showing us a great time. I can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chelse09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
5.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
Hotel Riu Palace Jamaica
#4 of 62 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Rose Hall Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing