We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lincoln, UK
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“An amazing place to relax”
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a week in October as an excuse to chill out completely. The reviews we had read suggested that Secrets would be special. We were not disappointed. Every inch the luxury resort, we loved the highly attentive and friendly service. The restaurants have small, beautifully cooked menus and the portion sizes were perfect. The Asian restaurant is the pinnacle - food cooked to perfection by a singing chef in front of your very eyes.

Every inch of the resort was cleaned to perfection every morning and the pools were the cleanest we have ever seen.

Fresh fruit juice and iced towels in the gym sum up the elegance.

Would we go back? YES!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DavidMac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,198
    1,371
    497
    147
    119
See reviews for
405
4,373
140
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,369)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
stevenage
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Thank you to all at Secrets for making our 30th wedding aniversary a great break.

The staff were all brilliant and room service was prompt and good quality. we tried all the restraunts and most of the bars....waitress service for cocktails on the beach was most unexpected and welcome.

Rooms were large and clean.linen and beds extremely comfy.

We only wandered off site once in the whole 11 days to play golf which is just about the only activity not provided.

this is a superb resort which i wholeheartedly recommend...only problem was i gained 10lbs in 11 days!

Beaches are clean and swept daily. this place is far enough away from the airport that the noise does not bother and not too far for a long haul transfer.

A great place to unwind, sleep, eat drink get a tan, swim and reconnect.

Room Tip: 4th or fifth floor for a good view...lifts are plentifull and quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dollysdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Although the hotel had some minor problems (I thought it was actually older than it turned out to be) with some sliding doors not working, front door not working and lighting in bathroom poor, overall the people were so so nice and it was a beautiful location. The pools were well maintained and the entertainment was FABULOUS. We were so impressed with the latter. We had a wonderful trip, despite tiny annoyances.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
Thank Jodi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Our stay at Secrets St James exceeded our expectations in every way possible. My boyfriend and I have traveled a lot and in many different ways. We knew what to expect from an all-inclusive. But everything about St James blew us away. It is so close to the airport that I was worried it wouldn't feel secluded enough, but when you turn the corner it is like it's own private lagoon. The staff is friendly, welcoming, and attentive. All went above and beyond to make sure we had a great stay and that we were comfortable. The room we stayed in was unreal. We upgraded to the preferred club and could not have been happier. The quieter, more romantic beach and pool was fantastic. Our room was beautiful, sleek, modern and comfortable, with a jacuzzi tub and a huge, insanely comfortable bed. The ocean view was breathtaking. Since we did have a day or two of rain, we enjoyed the spa and I HIGHLY recommend that! So relaxing, amazing facility and service! We live and NYC and I am a little bit of a food snob, and I have to say that the food was fantastic, way better than any all-inclusive I've ever stayed at. The wine was very good as well. The shows they do at night are great too, not as corny as other places and very talented musicians and performers. Overall, if you are thinking about visiting Jamaica, you would be crazy to try any other resort!

Room Tip: If they offer a good deal for the upgrade to preferred, take it! Much quieter area of the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jps11488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This resort is stellar. The pools, the beaches, the food, the entertainment, the rooms, it is all as good as it gets from an all inclusive resort. I would Highly recommend this resort to my clients and I would love to come visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
Thank Adam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, Ny
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I had an absolutely wonderful time at this resort! I felt right at home and very well taken care of. At the same time I never felt bothered and was able to get all the rest I needed!!!

Can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
Thank Amanda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubuque
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

They went Above and Beyond- first we did an Apple Square deal 6 apples Montego Bay- before we went we were told 90% of the time we would be here so I planned like we were staying here. I went on the Facebook Page and commented about spending our Honeymoon there in a few weeks. Caulette (admin) replied can't wait for your visit.

We arrived and we're escorted into the lobby and sat down immediately Marlon got us some Mimosas and we were checked in and given a 15% off Spa and Champagne Breakfast for our Honeymoon.

We were on the 5th floor so we had great views- our Door had a FB Friend sign and a Honeymoon sign. We had a towel design and rose petals on the bed, and within minutes a staff member came up with a bottle of wine and 2 glasses for us.

The food was great- Dont have the seafood tacos at the Sea Side Restaurant though. All the reviews that say everything is soo far yada yada. We laughed when we got there and thought ohh soo far. Also you need to ignore the negative reviews, life is what you make it people. We had to wait an hr for the french restaurant (Worth it) so we had a few drinks, and when we were seated a glass of wine shattered at the stem, the lady was so snotty and rude to the workers it was then I realized there are people that nothing makes you happy (by the way it didnt spill on her at all)

We took out the Kayaks and went Snorkling twice- we also did the Jamacian cooking class and learning Patwah with Cassie. We loved this it was actually one of my favorite dishes because I love Jerk flavoring but some of it is so spicy this one we could control the heat!

Sparks was our Girl- and all the entertainment staff are great I would recommend getting to know at least one of them!

Bartenders- Michael at the St. James pool is so shy, but we loved him makes a great drink try the Cotton Candy or an Ice Berg. O'neil at the piano bar makes one hell of a strong drink so I dont know where people were saying drinks we're weak. We did hear some people just order double rum as well its not that hard to ask for more. More Coke No Joke!

Some of my minor negaitves- we felt like there wasnt enough waitstaff around the beach and entertainment areas- and they were more likely to go to a group rather than the couples (I understand this, but it was so much quicker for us to get up and go to the bar) As for tipping we tipped, but I felt like it wasn't needed, I didn't feel like we got better or worse service when we didnt tip. The people off the resorts are strong on asking for tips but the people in the resort not so much most of the women acutally were walking away before you could tip.

I would have liked some booze in our room as well they had some weird beer (I didnt understand why not red stripe?)

oh and just an FYI going this time of year Nov 11-17 the St. James pool gets a lot of afternoon shade so if you are looking for a lot of sun hit the beach or head over to the Wild Orchid pool. Both pools had a quiet side and an activity side.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Codi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
140 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing