We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“new year eve 2013-2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 January 2014

me and my friend went the 30th december 2013 had a great time, it was an adults only so there was alot of couple, which was a bit of a put off,but overall experience great.
The only down fall were the prices for the internet very high and not great ( it should have be free on the price we paid to stay, All staff were friendly, helpful excellent customer service, the New year eve was fab the firework and the whole show

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank char123534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,657 - 3,663 of 6,569 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

Grounds, Pools, Beaches, and staff were truly wonderful! However the hotel room its self was lacking! The room was not up to a 4.5 star standard, the shower leaked.. everywhere. We had more then one 'dirty' (i'm sure it had been washed.. but it was stained) towel. Ripped bedding, a lamp that didn't work. In general the room was just worn. Food was average, the spaghetti carbonara at Portifino was amazing. We did two off resort trips that were offered, Shopping and a 4x4 safari. Shopping was horrible at the craft market.. (we didn't shop, people were grabbing and pulling at you. AWFUL) and the Safari was cool, but not at all worth the price paid. Two staff members who stood out were Richard (the pool bar tender) and Genius(entertainment staff) (Genius - good luck with you trip to Canada! i hope you achieve all of your goals and that all of your dreams come true!) they were fantastic!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lyse710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Arrived 4.30pm local time boxing day. Met by a welcome drink and checked in with offer of upgrade to premier club. We upgraded but should have held back and reviewed as the room was the same and no real benefits to upgrade as the standard pool area was fantastic.
Wandered out for our first evening meal, so laid back, no waiting and the food was lovely. Made very welcome at the first bar we visited and a rum punch or two before bed. Oh, THE BED. The most comfortable in the world. Great nights sleep enjoyed every night, this coupled with the fabulous service and attitude of the staff made sure you instantly relax and enjoy your holiday from day one instead of several day in.
The management of the restaurants gave you the security of being able to stay relaxed, have a pre-dinner drink and then wander to the restaurant of your choice to reserve a table. The staff would take your name and ask you to have a drink at the piano bar where outdoor live entertainment would be in full swing. You didn't have to wait long and never had chance to finish your first drink before being shown to your table.
Entertainment, usually a term that would make me cringe. Secrets however have managed to provide excellent bands, comedy and relaxed entertainment that is not regimented. You just wander over whenever you like and move on when you like. It was mostly outdoors so not a restrictive theatre atmosphere.
The entire complex is kept clean at all times and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.
The spa massage (hot stone) was expensive but thoroughly worth it with access to the hydro-pools and steam/sauna included.
We had a lesson on the Hobbie Cats from Barky. $20 for 30 minutes then you can sail on your own for free as often as you like. It was something I had never done, got quite good at, thoroughly enjoyed and enabled me to help a chap from Cardiff who seemed to be struggling to catch the wind and get enough speed up to reach shore.
There is always something going on, from pool Olympics to the brass band procession on New Years Eve, you can't get bored. It is the only holiday that I haven't managed to finish my book.
Shorts for men are permitted at all restaurants and also at the French restaurant if seated outside, which was great. The men wore clean dress shorts and polo shirts with full shoes, so still dressy. Long trousers required if seated indoors at the French restaurant.Everybody dressed for the evening.
There were many groups of singles as well as couples and I would recommend this resort to both.
Summary: Secrets St.James provided the most fun and relaxing holiday. The rooms are superbly laid out, the staff fantastic, the food overall was very good with plenty of choice and no need to get up at the crack of dawn to book a table. You wouldn't have to leave the complex to have a fabulous holiday but the trips we took were excellent (blue mountain bike ride and Negril Dolphins) Secrets manage to provide a highly trained staff to ensure you relax and enjoy and whom you can have a genuine laugh with. The Jamaican people love to smile and the day must include a giggle somewhere, what a great way.
I did notice some tourists who due probably to their busy pressured lifestyles found it difficult to smile and laugh in the first few days. It can take a day or two to shake off the hustle of work life. The staff often found a frosty face offensive and I agree. Top Tip. SMILE
Mosquitos are there and will bite, me more than others. Take a good repellent and keep your balcony door closed from dusk until full sun up, just close it behind you. It has to be closed to ensure the air con stays on anyway. Take $1 bills for occasional tipping. We made sure we gave tips to all categories of staff, gardeners, cleaners, reception, bar staff, waiting staff and entertainment. A little goes a long way. The onsite general shop has most essentials but is expensive. There is filtered water at all bar and restaurant sites which is safe to drink, bottled water provided everywhere and the tap water in the room is safe to brush your teeth, just don't drink it. This was fantastic as you didn't have to go for water every morning, it was available everywhere even along the beach/pool paths.
My only complaint is that the home to the "best coffee in the world" only serves it at the Coco Café. The coffee everywhere else is towards the American style, quite weak and definitely not Blue Mountain.

Room Tip: Higher floor near St. James Pool. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank paula k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Very nice, new and fun resort. The food was all good and the people amazing (Mello, Genius, Alister, Hennessy and Leo). Great that it's just adults! We would probably come back to this resort again.

We had a couple issues but nothing huge. The lights in our room went out three times. We found a fuse box in our room an just switched the fuse. We finally figured out it was because of some annoying motion sensor that doesn't stop clicking if you're in the room!!

We also got sick at their Oceana restaurant and were out of commission for two days.

Their wifi is also horrible! You don't get it if you are in the room and expect to login every time your phone or laptop falls asleep. It's also NOT FREE. it's rather expensive ($90 for a week). For an all inclusive hotel this should be free!

Overall pretty good

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gymnst920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

An all adult resort with many activities offered to patrons in a very relaxing atmosphere
Night shows and entertainment was beautiful specially the steel drums music band..
All staff members were genuinely friendly , very helpful with excellent customer service manners .
Generous and exquisite variety of delicious food Caribbean and international. French, Italian ,Japanese food outlets with knowledgeable and amusing staff.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are abundant and quiet . They have a nice overview to the ocean and the beautiful l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuck k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

have just got back from Secrets St. James.
Went on the 26th Dec. for 2 weeks.
Lovely hotel and excellent holiday. New Year's Eve was really good, food was good and organised really well.
We found the hotel clean and all staff were very friendly and helpful. Once or twice service was a bit slow, but overall good. The beds are THE most comfortable we have ever slept in! Drinks were really good too. The only complaint would be that in the outside piano bar they did tend to run out of "premium brands" very early into the evening. Was doubtful if they did actually have any, as all bottles on the shelf seemed to be empty! Doesn't particularly bother me, but it is advertised that is what they provide. They also ran out of glasses after around 11pm and served in flimsy plastic cups - that's not good.
The site is also well secured and had no worries on that score.
There is plently of room for everyone as long as people don't get up at silly o'clock and reserve beds by the pool. This did only seem to happen when there was a bit of an influx of guests around new year. Once they went it was back to normal, so nice not to have to do that.
Pool bar and service was great.
All in all a fabulous holiday, lovely hotel and would definately go back.

Room Tip: We had a Junior suite on 4th floor, no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sheilapoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Every penny spent was worth it. We enjoyed the stay and the staff was amazing. The weather and atmosphere was relaxing. How can you not love a place where it's absolutely paradise. Again with you are in doubts please don't hesitate. ...it's worth it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Adeltrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
8.7 mi away
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
Hyatt Zilara Rose Hall
#2 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,613 reviews
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,986 reviews
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.2 mi away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £291 - £825 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing