We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A week in paradise”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

From the time we stepped off the plane,everything went smoothly. When we reached the resort we first met Roderick ,he helped us with our bags and made us immediately feel welcome. Marcia was at the front desk and helped us check in effortlessly. While we were checking in we met a wonderful young lady named nordia she was our concierge, and a pleasure to talk to during our stay. Rochelle was another wonderful lady. These people made our vacation just perfect. We enjoyed everything about this resort and plan to return to get married. We really hope these special people will be there to help us celebrate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbieellsworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,235
    1,383
    504
    150
    122
See reviews for
414
4,420
140
171
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,389)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Okay so my fiancé and I just returned from Secrets St James and we are truly ready to book a second trip back already. This was our first time in Jamaica however, we do travel pretty often and it was definitely one of our best trips yet. There was plenty of food options and each day we was full and completely satisfied! This resort truly values their customers and hires the best employees to serve and entertain their guest. Throughout the day we participated in some of the water activities along the beach and the games around the pool area and at night we attended reggae concerts, game shows and etc. Despite the long wait for our room we had absolutely no other problems with this resort. Plus that issue was resolved when they upgraded our room to an ocean view which was breathtaking.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lady L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I were married here and had a great experience! I am very picky and would highly recommend the wedding coordinators. They went out of their way to accommodate all of our wants. Please feel free to message me with any specific questions. The resort itself was great! I would definitely return. The private beach is nice and the pools were great also. The pool staff and bartenders were a blast. I would highly recommend the SPA. The work out facility was a bit dated in my opinion but had everything you could want. The food was the only thing that I thought could improve. Our least favorite restaurant was the Italian restaurant. We thought the breakfast buffet was outstanding every morning and we also had a great time at the hibachi restaurant. For lunch every day I hit up the jerk chicken, fresh fruit and coconut carts. They were AWESOME!!! I enjoyed that they brought in vendors to buy souvenirs from so we didn't have to leave the resort. The staff was great and helpful for the most part. The free activities they offered were fun. Our favorite was the snorkeling. We were surprised how nice the reef off the beach was. The rooms were great. I enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub in the room. It seemed that all of the rooms had a nice view of the ocean. There is a premier side to the resort that our travel agent didn’t tell us about which seemed nice. I don’t how much it is but it includes a private pool access. I would look into this before returning. Our wedding was wonderful! We will definitely return to St. James!

Room Tip: It seemed that all rooms had at least a partial view of the ocean. However the higher the floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WkEndWarrior2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We thought our first 2 visits to Secrets St James were fabulous, the 3rd was even better! We actually met a couple who was visiting the resort for the 9th time. The service was amazing, the addition of the Butler service was wonderful, Patrick & Michael treated us like royalty! The Jamaican Cooking and Talk Jamaican classes were great! The food was delicious and learning Patois was fun, both thanks to Roach, Tavon and Cassie! Our room was beautiful and spotless. The housekeeping staff, especially Nicole, was great. The restaurants are wonderful, the food is amazing. It was hard to decide where to have dinner as all of the restaurants were so good. The lobby bar was a great place for meeting other vacationers and for the wonderful service by Shalaane and Allandro! It was an amazing vacation and we are looking forward to our 4th visit!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sc1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachtree City, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I enjoyed staying at the Secrets St. James so much that I decided to go back! Not only were there superlative amenities, the service and the employees made the visit more exciting. From the moment we arrived, our concierge, Therese, was warm and welcoming. She literally took the time to know our names and communicate with us continuously to ensure our stay was pleasurable. Then when we were utilizing the resort amenities, other employees made the stay phenomenal and memorable. The poolside entertainment of Hennessy, Mello, and Tia were excellent. I particularly enjoyed the Reggae dancing and Line dancing. The Aqua Zumba instructor did a remarkable job as well.

Stay here and you will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have pristine views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I celebrated my 40th birthday here and it was the best birthday trip ever! The food was outstanding. Public/private beach and pool options added versatility. There were a variety of events available right on the property. If you wanted to venture off and do something off the property that could also be arranged. I would definitely return!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank trinafj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for having selected our resort for your recent birthday celebration. We truly appreciate your positive comment about our food, entertainment among other resort facilities. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments with us and we look forward to welcoming you back Home.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I should start by saying this is our first all inclusive vacation, so we have nothing direct to compare it with.

The first thing to say is that Secrets St James and Secrets Wild Orchid are not really two separate resorts as they share one site and most facilities.

Our 'Junior Suite' was really a typical US style hotel room with two queen size beds, full bathroom (complete with Jacuzzi bath) a sofa, small table and chairs and a small balcony with a couple of chairs. perfectly acceptable, spotlessly clean, but not really anything special.

It's a large site with a long strip of private beach, four pools and seven restaurants - plus a few shops and other facilities.

Check in was pretty slow, but efficient once a clerk became free.

The 'all inclusive' arrangement was exactly that. It was almost impossible to spend anything on-site and the shops would only accept credit cards or charging to the room for even the smallest of items. A few dollars for tips was all you needed to carry. And take US dollars, not Jamaican. Everyone preferred these.

Given the size of the place (we were told about 700 rooms) the restaurants were generally very good. French, Italian, Japanese, West Indian, Mexican and a couple of seafood/steak were on offer. We only had one dud meal (in the Mexican) the rest of the time we had no complaints. The Oceana got our vote as the best, with lunch in the Seaside Grill being very pleasant. If you want something lighter or a top up there are various carts offering things like jerk chicken and a hamburger joint right on the beach.

The breakfast buffet offers probably the biggest selection I've ever seen. Brilliant.

Although we booked a package (via First Choice) the cost of the all inclusive works out at around US$200 a day. It's probably worth it providing you eat well and take advantage of the 'free' bars. If you are a light eater and a non drinker it's expensive.

It's possible to eat and drink from 7.00am to 2.00am at one or other of the restaurants - and if you are still hungry or thirsty there is 24 hour room service.

Our biggest complaint was the US$15 a day charge to connect to the internet. Come on Secrets, no resort anywhere in the civilised world claiming to be five stars charges for Wi-Fi. It's 2014 - not 1994. However, this might be a way of pushing people to upgrade to their 'Preferred Club' which at US$150 a day is expensive, unless you want a hot tub on your balcony 'free' Wi-Fi and use of a couple of 'exclusive' pools.

The staff were fabulous, we could only think of one person in 10 days apparently having a off day, my wife was very complimentary about the spa, we went on three well organised trips to see some of the island and there is plenty to do during the day. Organised snorkelling trips to the reef was our favourite.

We were strongly advised not to go out alone but there are (expensive) taxis to take you to Montego Bay if you wanted to.

A very good holiday resort - but not quite the five stars they claim.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing