We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My husband and I (both in our early 30’s) have just returned from a fantastic week at Secrets St James. This was our first time at a Secrets resort but we have stayed in many 5* hotels in the past and would say that this hotel is up there with the rest! I will not repeat what others have said but will highlight our pro’s and (very few) con’s:

What we loved-
The friendly happy staff who went out of their way to make sure we had the most enjoyable holiday. Bar/restaurant staff, entertainment team, front desk, gardeners everyone was always smiling and happy to help.
The snorkel trip- We did this twice and would recommend it to everyone. The hotel provides equipment but you can use your own. Our first trip was short and we didn’t see much as the water was slightly cloudy. However on our second trip we were taken out to the reef where we snorkelled for over an hour. We saw sting rays, jellyfish, puffer fish, sea cucumbers and many beautiful fish and shells. Our guide made sure we were all safe and told us all about the sea creatures we encountered.
The nature walk- Elaine gave us a very thorough tour of the complex. She pointed out marine life, flora and fauna and even told us about local natural remedies. Very enjoyable.
The food/drink- With a range of restaurants and bars on site we never went hungry or thirsty. We dined in all the restaurants and I would find it difficult to pick a favourite. The grill, Italian, French and Mexican were probably the best I would say. Staff in all restaurants were friendly and provided excellent service. Bar staff at the St James pool were very attentive and checked on us every hour or so to bring us new drinks if we needed them.
Water barrels-These are placed along the walkway at the beach and are filled with ice and bottled water.
Jerk chicken cart-as mentioned by so many on here, one of the chefs brings round bbq chicken with jerk sauce (very hot but delicious!) everyday at lunchtime to the walkway between the pool and beach. You have to try it!
Weather-We had brilliant weather for the entire week. One afternoon it rained for 2hours, the rest was over 30oC and sun sun sun!!
short transfer to/from airport.

What we liked-
The entertainment- Plenty of daytime activities such as yoga, pool Olympics, volleyball, games-jenga etc... which you are able to partake in but don’t get hassled if you just want to relax. Evening shows -e.g. ‘secrets got talent’, circus, Mr & Mrs etc. were all ok-quite short. Live music was good and karaoke in Desires nightclub was also fun.
The beach- Ok so the beach is manmade and not the best we have ever been to (only because it is quite narrow) but it was clean, had plenty of chairs and shade and the water was warm and clear. We tended to stay by the St James pool more as we enjoyed watching the entertainment, but had some nice walks along the beach in the mornings.

What we weren’t so keen on-
The bike ride. Our guide Isaac took us on a brief cycle (approx 45mins) towards Montego Bay centre. We stopped off at a Montego Bay sign for photos then we were taken to a ‘shopping area’ which was basically 5-6 buildings with only one small shop open. We were ushered inside by the owner where she proceeded to hound us for 20 minutes to buy something. It was awkward and embarrassing as we were the only people in the shop and as we walked round she kept following us saying ‘take your time, have a look and if you don’t have money with you it’s ok to pay the guide when you return to the hotel’ I understand she was only trying to make a living but we really felt under pressure as our guide stood and watched also. We thought then we would be going into the town centre but our guide informed us that the traffic was too busy and we would be returning to the hotel! I hate to write negative comments as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel, however if you are partaking in the bike ride be warned that you may not see very much. Yes it is a flat road with no hills and not too many cars, but the only things that were pointed out to us on the way was the local call centre and the Montego Bay sign.

We did not stay preferred as it wouldn’t be of benefit to us. Apart from the free wifi it offered we didn’t feel the need to sit at the preferred pools/beach areas or have an extra lounge with more drinks and food as everything we needed was available to us in our standard package. From what I heard from others, the rooms were similar also but had a soaking tub on the balcony-again not essential for us. Our room was clean, spacious, well stocked and on the 5th floor with a beautiful view overlooking the St. James pool and beach area.

I would love to visit this hotel in the future and will be recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suz92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,443)
There are newer reviews for Secrets St. James Montego Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,269 - 3,275 of 6,443 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

This place was so wonderful that we plan on coming back to get married. Roderick was a great guy, made us feel so welcome and spoke to us by name every time he saw us. Nordia was the sweetest young lady and Rochelle was also very fun to chat with. We will be back soon. Highly recommend this resort,the place is beautiful and the people are fantastic. Thank you for making our vacation so special.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reggie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest:

It is definitely great to read that we had such a great impact on the quality of your stay that you plan on coming back to tie the knot. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and to mention those special team members that was outstanding to you.

Your recommendation of our resort is much appreciate and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

From the time we stepped off the plane,everything went smoothly. When we reached the resort we first met Roderick ,he helped us with our bags and made us immediately feel welcome. Marcia was at the front desk and helped us check in effortlessly. While we were checking in we met a wonderful young lady named nordia she was our concierge, and a pleasure to talk to during our stay. Rochelle was another wonderful lady. These people made our vacation just perfect. We enjoyed everything about this resort and plan to return to get married. We really hope these special people will be there to help us celebrate.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbieellsworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Okay so my fiancé and I just returned from Secrets St James and we are truly ready to book a second trip back already. This was our first time in Jamaica however, we do travel pretty often and it was definitely one of our best trips yet. There was plenty of food options and each day we was full and completely satisfied! This resort truly values their customers and hires the best employees to serve and entertain their guest. Throughout the day we participated in some of the water activities along the beach and the games around the pool area and at night we attended reggae concerts, game shows and etc. Despite the long wait for our room we had absolutely no other problems with this resort. Plus that issue was resolved when they upgraded our room to an ocean view which was breathtaking.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Lady L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I were married here and had a great experience! I am very picky and would highly recommend the wedding coordinators. They went out of their way to accommodate all of our wants. Please feel free to message me with any specific questions. The resort itself was great! I would definitely return. The private beach is nice and the pools were great also. The pool staff and bartenders were a blast. I would highly recommend the SPA. The work out facility was a bit dated in my opinion but had everything you could want. The food was the only thing that I thought could improve. Our least favorite restaurant was the Italian restaurant. We thought the breakfast buffet was outstanding every morning and we also had a great time at the hibachi restaurant. For lunch every day I hit up the jerk chicken, fresh fruit and coconut carts. They were AWESOME!!! I enjoyed that they brought in vendors to buy souvenirs from so we didn't have to leave the resort. The staff was great and helpful for the most part. The free activities they offered were fun. Our favorite was the snorkeling. We were surprised how nice the reef off the beach was. The rooms were great. I enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub in the room. It seemed that all of the rooms had a nice view of the ocean. There is a premier side to the resort that our travel agent didn’t tell us about which seemed nice. I don’t how much it is but it includes a private pool access. I would look into this before returning. Our wedding was wonderful! We will definitely return to St. James!

Room Tip: It seemed that all rooms had at least a partial view of the ocean. However the higher the floor you...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WkEndWarrior2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We thought our first 2 visits to Secrets St James were fabulous, the 3rd was even better! We actually met a couple who was visiting the resort for the 9th time. The service was amazing, the addition of the Butler service was wonderful, Patrick & Michael treated us like royalty! The Jamaican Cooking and Talk Jamaican classes were great! The food was delicious and learning Patois was fun, both thanks to Roach, Tavon and Cassie! Our room was beautiful and spotless. The housekeeping staff, especially Nicole, was great. The restaurants are wonderful, the food is amazing. It was hard to decide where to have dinner as all of the restaurants were so good. The lobby bar was a great place for meeting other vacationers and for the wonderful service by Shalaane and Allandro! It was an amazing vacation and we are looking forward to our 4th visit!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sc1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I enjoyed staying at the Secrets St. James so much that I decided to go back! Not only were there superlative amenities, the service and the employees made the visit more exciting. From the moment we arrived, our concierge, Therese, was warm and welcoming. She literally took the time to know our names and communicate with us continuously to ensure our stay was pleasurable. Then when we were utilizing the resort amenities, other employees made the stay phenomenal and memorable. The poolside entertainment of Hennessy, Mello, and Tia were excellent. I particularly enjoyed the Reggae dancing and Line dancing. The Aqua Zumba instructor did a remarkable job as well.

Stay here and you will NOT be disappointed!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have pristine views!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
8.9 mi away
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
Hyatt Ziva Rose Hall
#3 of 6 in Rose Hall
2,827 reviews
6.2 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £297 - £594 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing