We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reynolds, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and relaxing”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and 5 days and it was amazing! I traveled with my mother and two sisters-in-law for a "girls only" vacation. The staff was wonderful and very accommodating to my mother. By the end of the trip she had "adopted" several of the employees as her own. We loved being @ the pool and lounging about all day with the ocean right next to us. We ate @ a different restaurant each night, and all were great. Some minor inconveniences in our rooms, but nothing that kept us from enjoying our stay. Looking forward to a return trip!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,166
    1,360
    490
    144
    111
See reviews for
398
4,335
136
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,348)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Came here for 5 days for the Riley/Frostbutter wedding & we had the best time! Service was AWESOME & the view wasn't too shabby either :) huge thank you to Mello, Hennessy, Nadine, Vanessa & A-Money you all were fantastic! Thank you guys for making this a trip to remember! Definitely a must come back location!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Brittany2706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The staff was excellent & friendly. The view was exquisite & breathtaking. The service was wonderful & quick. Although I came on vacation alone, I truly felt like I was at home, among friends. I cannot wait until my next vacation.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TrishHolloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

So, this property was recommended to us by our travel agent we were working with through Liberty Travel but it was out of our price range -- until we found it on Expedia which was then in the same price range as the Riu which we were looking at in Ocho Rios. It came highly recommended and the price was right so we took it. We were not sorry. Less than a 5 minute drive from Sangster Airport in Mo'Bay, you are there before you know it with little fuss.

You are in Jamaica, and you won't forget that throughout your trip, you are practically bathing in it. "No problem," "ya mon," jerk chicken from smokers on carts fresh and so on.

This area resides on the other side of the mountains, the weather patterns here are different than the other side, which is more prone to extreme weather. Speaking of which, the rainy season is just about upon that area. The first day we were there it rained buckets, but it was sunny every other day. Highs in the high 80's the whole time were there in late April.

For breakfast and lunch, the world cafe has plenty of options that anyone could find something at. Not too far from the restaurants there is a courtyard area with a fully staffed coffee bar, making whatever caffeinated iced delights you desire. Wait staff is extremely friendly, everyone has a personality with their own flare. One guy there, Oraldo Mullings, would legit belt out singing during breakfast and lunch. He's the one with the shiny pointy shoes and the cowboy hat. Look out for him busting out some Backstreet Boys or some country. All the restaurants on the property are delicious and the option to eat outside is available at every one of them.

To reiterate what you may already know, this property is adults only. My girlfriend and I are 27 and there are plenty of people of varying adult ages, including ours. The room was AWESOME. There are 2 sides to the property: Secrets St. James and Wild Orchid, both of which are a walk across from one another. Wild Orchid is where all the shops and restaurants/night lift is, St. James is likely the quieter side made up almost entirely of rooms. The property is crawling with peacocks which makes for a tropical ambiance.

The pools are clean and warm, the beach is gorgeous, water warm, clear and clean. The introductory drinks are Rum Punch and Sex on the Beach. SOB they make slightly different than in the US, so much better there.

Room service is 24 hours and there is a door which opens to a pantry of sorts where they can insert stuff into from the hallway and you can get it on your end where the other door is, ensuring maximum privacy without having to open the room door. There is a menu with some options available.

Our goal on this trip was to do as much nothing as possible, despite that they have daily activities and newsletters delivered nightly giving an overview of options available. They have various trips off the property like excursions to Dunns River Falls, but it's at an additional cost, sort of defeating the all-inclusive aspect for us. Whatever age you are, whatever your heart desires, they have it. Ranging from yoga on the beach to Jamaican dance class to organized pool volleyball tournaments.

One word of caution among all these positive aspects: This is a private property. Jamaica's hospitals are either government run or privately run. Secrets likely teams up with a privately run hospital, and as such there is likely a financial incentive to recommend any patients who are seeking medical attention to send those individuals to the hospital. My girlfriend got an ear infection and needed antibiotics, something she saw both the nurse and the doctor for on property. Use your discretion. If you feel you're being pressured, you probably are. Seeking hospital attention is at your own risk financially, and I guarantee it won't be cheap. Our experience wasn't and we didn't even go to the hospital. This could happen anywhere, but buyer beware.

This was an amazing trip and we have little to no complaints about it. In hindsight we would return to this property. Highly recommended for all those considering!

Room Tip: We stayed in an "oceanview" room on the 2nd floor. Room was clean and cool, independent th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband and I went to Secrets St James for 12 nights with 8 other people and had a great time. The hotel was clean and a joy to stay at with amazing staff members; Tanesha (Mexican restaurant waitress), Nadine (poolside waitress) Allando (lobby bar waiter) and Torell (pool life guard) being our favourites. The food was amazing with great service and plenty of outside seating for those that wish to dine outside.

The only real downfall was the entertainment as I don't feel day time games were advertised very well and all a little repetitive.

All in all great holiday, weather and company.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

It was definitely a pleasure to have hosted you and your group for your recent vacation. Your kind remarks about those team member that positively impacted your stay is most appreciated and has been shared with them and their managers. Thank you for highlighting your love for our food and the quality of service provided as well.

Your comments regarding our activities and entertainment have been noted and our Entertainment Director is already working to make improvements where needed. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and I hope that you and your friends/family will visit us again.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I used this title because this was our team name we gave ourselves for our poolside water competition. This resort is first class in every since of the term. The so called junior suites are simply luxurious. Dining in the morning, afternoon and evening is an experience and there is a variety to choose from. Our favorite was the French restaurant, Bordeleaux I believe (lobster and steak). Even the breakfast buffet is an experience with fresh squeezed orange juice, apple, watermelon and even cucumber juices as well as all types of smoothies, reminds me of a Belagio buffet. The wait staff doesn't just wait on you but they are constantly entertaining you. We did the snorkel tour and rented a boat and took it to Margaritaville as well where you slide down a four story slide into the ocean. Both tours where a lot of fun, snorkel is included and there is a reef just off the resort beach and the boat tour was extra but very cool and the guides where a lot of fun. We got to do a little shopping when we stopped on the boat tour at Margaritaville but bring your own drinks! A round of 4 drinks was $55 at Margaritaville. Nichole was awesome at the resort and the waitresses where prompt with our drinks. I would say the only down side to this resort was the fact that several of the bartenders at the poolside bars (three separate bars) had bad attitudes. If you didn't have cash on you to tip one of them would even make you wait for 5 min every time you came up even when no one else was there so we just ordered from the waitresses and although its not required we always took care of them. My wife and I go to Sandals and other all inclusives and this is as nice or nicer than anywhere we have been. Relax and enjoy!

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony and no need to upgrade to the preferred club really very little benefit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank storm w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I enjoyed staying at Secrets for our 15th wedding anniversary! Secrets helped us celebrate in every way, from a welcoming sign on the door, to a bouquet of roses and a romantic champagne breakfast on our balcony overlooking the gorgeous beach/ocean. The Italian restaurant was our favorite, however ALL the food was very good. We were also pleasantly surprised with how quickly we were seated every evening. There was also plenty of entertainment, we never felt the need to leave our resort, although we did go on some excursions which were also very fun!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodi654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St. James Montego Bay, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thanks for having visited our resort for your past anniversary celebration. I am pleased to note that you enjoyed all that we had to offer you including the anniversary package amenities as well as our food.

Your feedback is much appreciated and I hope that you will make our resort your anniversary destination of choice for years to come.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travelbag, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing