We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great work vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great work vacation”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our group of 30+ coworkers arrived at the airport and were transported on private bus shuttles to the property 20-30 minutes away. The resort was not only clean, but private, safe, and large enough for everyone to stay entertained over the course of 4 days. The oceanfront rooms were spacious and air conditioned, which made the stay very comfortable. I'd recommend this resort to any couple or business group interested in a tropical (business) vacation!

A huge thanks to Denise Perkins and her team at The Tropical Travelers - they were a huge asset in making this trip a reality for our group!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank KMorr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,198
    1,372
    497
    148
    119
See reviews for
405
4,375
140
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,369)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Just returned from our second trip to Secrets St James and found everything excellent as before- only one concern - which we did not notice last year - we are non-smokers and the first room we were in smelled strongly of cigarette smoke although smoking is not allowed in the rooms. We were given another room which was perfect.
The piano bar sells cigars so while watching the evening entertainment we were in clouds of cigar smoke and left early a few evenings for this reason. Also many people were smoking around the pool so moving around to different spots did not solve the problem. I mentioned this on checking out and was told that smoking rules had been relaxed last summer to accommodate certain groups.
For this reason only we will think twice before returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I took my husband to Secrets St James for his 40th birthday. We had a fantastic time at this adults only resort. The ground are beautiful and very well mantained, the rooms are clean, staff is friendly, and the food is good, (you really can’t expect 5 star at an all-inclusive). I would just like to clarify that St James & Wild Orchid are really one resort. Although they are promoted as two seperate places, they share the same amenities. Wild Orchid is closer to the restaurants while St James is a bit more quiet. We opted for the preferred club on the St James side and we were very happy with our room. I can appreciate other reviewers saying they didn’t like their rooms on the first floor because of the lack of privacy. I would request a higher floor if possible for this reason. I considered Negril, Ocho Rios, Whitehouse, but decided that it would be convenient to stay closest to the airport because we were only there for a long weekend. I was concerend because of comments about the airport traffic. Yes, you can see planes flying in but you really can’t hear them. After awhile it blends into the background and you realize it’s a small issue when you are in such an amazing place!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lo2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumont, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Secrets st james in montego bay , Jamaica was a wonderful experience. A week of paradise. The food was outstanding with the exception of what they call hamburgers. The people who worked there were unbelievably attentive. The pool was heated and the ocean was calm and soothing.The property was immaculate. We had a great time with our friends. Looking forward to going to a Secrets location in another island. Everything was convenient and the view was awesome. We celebrated our 38th wedding anniversary. I highly recommend this place for honeymooners.

Room Tip: Get the preferred room option with amentities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frannie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Not too shabby. Food was meh, but the staff was friendly and there were a lot of activities. We had a large group, and this place had the infrastructure to handle us everywhere. Great weather and beautiful clear water.
Order a Miami Vice drink!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This was a great all inclusive. Awesome service, good food. Request a room on a high floor with a full ocean view! They had to move us to the Wild Orchid on the first day because our room was first floor at St. James with a view if a bush. We were moved quickly and upgraded. Very satisfied.
Doesn't matter which side you stay on, the resorts are basically connected. It's all the same. Don't waste your money upgrading to preferred either, unless you want a quieter pool area. We wanted a party atmosphere.
Eat at the French, Italian, and Hibachi restaurants. Avoid the Mexican and Blue Mountain.
Staff is great, ***bring $150 in one dollar bills*** for tips. Go to the spa, it has an amazing water circuit pre-massage. Entertainment is wonderful! Tweety is great, don't miss the "fashion show" poolside.
For excursions, we took a cab to Scotchies restaurant which is great for lunch. We also did a Catamaran ride to snorkel and go to Rick's cafe. The seas were so rough we got seasick and when we finally got to Rick's to spend 10 minutes, two of our group members were injured jumping from the cliff. Skip the catamaran, you can snorkel at the resort, and Rick's cafe is just downright dangerous!
We will definitely be back with family. Great vacation for a large group.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I've been to all-inclusives in Mexico and the DR. This was our first trip to Jamaica and our first time at a Secrets. Overall it was a wonderful experience. The food was above average (which for an all inclusive is really good) the entertainment was great, not cheesy like some of the other all-inclusives we've been to, and the staff was terrific. It's a short trip from the airport (10 min) which is nice when all you want to do is start your vacation!

We tried to upgrade to preferred club when we got there but the rooms were all booked, however we did get to upgrade to preferred club privileges, which I would recommend if you want more peaceful, relaxing beaches and pools and the ability to just go into the preferred club building for snacks/food instead of going to the main restaurants for lunch.

The best bar is the piano bar where Andrei does sing-alongs from 10:30pm - 12am every night. He's incredibly talented and can play almost anything from memory. Make sure you get a seat at the piano - best seat in the bar!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rshap_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
140 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing