We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best treatment ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sayreville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best treatment ever!!!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My boyfriend is a pretty tough critic, but Secrets St. James was wonderful, he had no complaints! The staff was attentive and sweet. Made us feel so welcome. The food delicious, so many selections. The beaches beautiful, the rooms extremely clean and perfectly set up! I'll never for get Venicia and Garfield 2 of the many helpful and sweet staff members! Overall brilliant experience.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samosblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,332 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,198
    1,371
    497
    147
    119
See reviews for
405
4,373
140
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,369)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We had a great time. 


Room and grounds: The resort is beautiful and does not have that sea beach smell i have experienced at other resorts. There is always someone trimming or pruning the greenery and always someone cleaning some part of the grounds. 

The pool area is really beautiful and there was always a lounger available even if it was not in the exact area you prefer. There is open access to both wild orchard and st james area pools and activities.

Beach..not much of it but clean with a lot of loungers. Its a short beach probably 20 ft of beach from chair to water. Not enough room to run and play if thats your thing but its adult only resort and i didnt see much of that.


There is an area that i call the night life area that i loved. There were most of the restaurants a club a piano bar and indoor theater and an outdoor theater. The lighting of the area accompanied by moonlight was beautiful. Very romantic.


The room is also beautiful and the staff worked very hard to keep it clean through out the week. There is a safe in the room, a cooler (not fridge) and flat screen tv. The tv has mostly american channels which i liked for downtime. Be warned I was flipping around and ran into some porn. Definitely not into that so it was a shocker lol

Only issue: no snacks or alchohol in room like other all inclusive resorts I have stayed in the caribbean and mexico. Maybe thats exclusive to preferred club.


Restaurants:  i liked most the restaurants i dined.

Seaside grill i enjoyed the pork chops for dinner. It came with a salad bar that always had a different fresh Seafood salad.

Oceana had sword fish which was covered in a white sauce. Delicious. 

My husband had surf and turf. The shrimp with that dish was tiny. 

Japanese restaurant. We did the hibachi. Its wasnt bad but wasnt great. I later learned they had a seperate menu that seemed more appealing. The meal came with sushi rolls that were not my cup of tea. Crab and american cheese roll. Ehh. Our chef didnt sing or do tricks like the other ones did at other tables. Im fine with that but did notice.

The kicker was this guy at the table had a long hair in his food that he thinks was in the sauce they passed around. The server just said im sorry and thats it. Didnt offer to replace the food or anything. He then kept eating. This may have been the only time the service horrified me.

Beaurdeaux french restaurant. Loved the surf and turf. Loved the mussel shrimp appetizer. If you dont have long pants they make you sit outside and that was a long wait, about an hour.


Buffet. Always good. Lots to choose from. Several omelet stations so not a long wait. They use real eggs for their omelettes not egg mixture. Never seen that before. Was impressed. You name it, they have it. From cheeses and meats, salmon,  bagels,  muffins jamaican breakfast.

Jerk chicken truck. If you wait too long they will run out. Very good. Not too spicy. Was first afraid to try because the jerk places in nyc are too hot for me but glad i did.

This resort has some of the best juices i ever had. I was addicted

Alchohol drinks. Not the best but not the worse. Staff always moved quick and friendly so i will not complain.

I loved the resort and would return. The average age this week was late 20s to early 30s and singles which i was surprised by. Im in my 30s but sometime appreciate the quiet from more mature crowds. Very party like atmosphere at pool areas. 

The staff is super friendly. Experienced no attitudes. One lady at the excursion desk not a part of secrets acted like i was interuptung her playing time on her phone but i brushed it off because the behavior was rare.

Only issue with resort. Booked and was told it comes with 200 resort credit. I thought this mean i had $200 to do what i wanted but it means i had $200 worth of coupons. $40 was the maximum value of coupon you can use at one time. So if something was $200 you couldnt use your $200 credit, only $40. You could use another coupon on another service. Was dissapointed in this but adjusted. No biggie.

At the start of my trip i was offered the preferred club. Turned it down. Thought that was it. Then a concierge sat us down and mentioned that she wanted us to talk to someone about the resort who will tell us how to save money next time by booking directly through them. This didnt sound that simple to me so i asked was this a time share she said no. I asked how long it was she said 90 mins and we would get vouchers. Then i knew it was a sales pitch and declined. The next day in the room we got a call asking us to come to travel desk to set up our tour. I ignored it. After those incidents the rest of the trip was smooth sailing and I had no issues.

Loved staff, food, grounds, entertainment.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SMDB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I've been to several of the Secrets properties in Mexico and was afraid this one wouldn't live up to the others, but I was very wrong! I visited with 4 girlfriends to celebrate our 40th birthdays and we had an amazing time. The property is absolutely stunning! So many neat little places to take in the views of the turquoise water and Jamaica itself. And the staff was so friendly and tons of fun to hang out with at the pool - especially our new friends Alex, Sean, Owayne, and Al. The food was delicious, too. The jerk chicken cart was delicious and we really enjoyed the lobster at Bordeuax. My favorite part was the outdoor entertainment by the water, that you could also see/hear while dining outside at Bordeaux or Portofino. The views, music, and food were really something. I can't wait to bring my husband back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leavinchitown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had a fabulous time at Secrets. The rooms, the drinks and staff were great. As Preferred Guests we were able to take advantage of the amenities on the preferred side even though our rooms were not there. The beach was a little rocky which may stem from the retaining walls that they are putting up. We were in close proximity to Sumfest which was the reason for our visit. There could have been more variety in food choices at the buffet and during Sumfest, I would suggest extending the time for the all night buffet to 6am as that is when most are returning from Sumfest. Once again another good time at Secrets!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarieCWJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Very nice and clean resort. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The food was excellent. Beautiful rooms and a beautiful beach. I loved the cooking classes, jewelry making class, and the club on the resort. I will come back again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

By far, this was the best trip I've taken! I have told everyone about this resort and would recommend this resort to anyone! There are a variety of food options (Japanese, Jamaican, Mexican, Italian, etc.) and the food was good! The staff were very helpful and extremely nice and welcoming. Their hospitality was amazing! The rooms were clean and the resort itself was clean. The various activities on the resort kept you busy and entertained especially if you didn't want to venture off the resort. Resort is perfect for couples or anyone taking a "girls" trip or "guys" trip. The front desk staff, Renae, made this an unforgettable birthday by providing me with extra accommodations. The staff on the resort really knows customer service! Every staff person I've encountered during my stay were so friendly and helpful! It's only about 20 min from the airport. Free wifi! I wouldn't change anything and there are no complaints on my end. I am definitely going back to visit and will be staying at this resort!

Room Tip: I had an ocean front room on the higher levels and loved it. I had a perfect view of the ocean. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Beautiful property with well kept grounds and facilities. Spectacular views of Mobay and the sunset! Groundskeeper staff started mowing lawn and shrubs at 8am which was a little annoying, but I guess they have to do it sometime right? Front desk staff were warm and friendly. There was a slight room mix up, however Chanel at the front desk did a great job of making up for it. Wait staff and bell hops were a little too overly flirtatious – I’m on vacation to escape the cat calls from horny men – but no one was rude or disrespectful. The food was pretty good, especially in room dining, Bordeaux and Hibachi. Excellent time at Hibachi! Blue Mountain’s Jamaican cuisine did not impress….trust me, the chicken at the jerk chicken cart is 10 times better! I’ll miss that cart!!! Overall I highly recommend this resort! Can’t wait to stay at another Secrets location!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
12.4 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 63 in Montego Bay
6,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
6.6 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#18 of 63 in Montego Bay
139 reviews
7.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets St. James Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St. James Montego Bay

Property: Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Address: Lot A59, Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets St. James Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets St. James Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing