We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a honeymoon destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We were very disapointed when we arrived at this resort as we thought it would be a relaxing romantic honeymoon. The hotel itself is lovely, rooms are very nice and clean and the beach is nice, not as nice as other carribean islands we have been to but ok. The pool is very crowded with loud drunk Americans. The rooms are very noisy at night and we were woken every single night by our loud american drunk neighbours next door. I would not recommend this place to anyone who is looking for a nice romantic relaxing honeymoon but to someone who is looking for a party place who just wants to sit in a pool and drink all day.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerry2007England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,059 - 5,065 of 6,867 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

We are two couples who vacationed together at Secrets Wild Orchid for 4 nights Oct. 6 – 10th. Flights were early in the AM and uneventful. Flew on Air Trans, they are highly efficient, always on time. I will try to be as comprehensive and fair as possible. This is from our point of view. We are generally 2 couples who enjoy sunning on the beach, sharing each other’s company with minimal interruptions and we generally don’t go off resort or participate in many activities. Sand gravity takes over on us!

We booked through Expedia and booked our transfers with Reggae Tours. Kudos to these guys they were timely, friendly and professional. Highly recommend them. $65 round trip for 4 seemed like a bargain to me.

Arrival/Departure/Front Desk was a bit odd as they were looking for paperwork that seemed unnecessary to us. We were in the computer, we had ID, we had our Expedia forms, but there seemed to be a lot of confusion? At the time the bellman got us drinks during the delay and wouldn’t leave until we tipped him, which seemed a bit obnoxious at the Front Desk. I might as well cover tipping now; everyone seems to want a tip and no one has change. Or they don’t have enough change. $18 for a $20 was very common or $8 for $10. This even came after a generous tip. We would give the beach server $10 after a few rounds, and then want to tip her again – no change!

Rooms: We requested adjoining rooms on the second floor and our request was granted! It was also our anniversary for both couples and our doors were decorated and we were awarded a champagne breakfast. Very nice touch! No complaints on the room. AC worked great – air temp was always comfortable, bed was super comfy, cleaning/maid service was excellent. The only thing we didn’t like was the fact there is no real wall between the bathroom and sleeping area, just a curtain. I have read that here on TA. Didn’t think it would be a big deal, the toilet and shower are in their own glass enclosed rooms but it’s loud and disturbing if one gets up at night to use the bathroom.



Food (Lunch/Breakfast): We are not picky eaters. Food was OK at best. Breakfast buffet was standard fare you would get at any all-inclusive. We have been to 3 stars in the past and it was comparable. Lunch for us most days was at the Sea Side Grill. Good wraps and fries. Big disappointed that we had to get dressed, be seated and kill an hour or two for lunch. We have been to AI’s in the past with beach service or a grill on the beach. The Barefoot Grill is Secret’s beach option for lunch/snacks, but it was TERRIBLE. They had the exact same choices for 5 days straight: Hamburgers from the grill, Veggie Fritters, Hot Dogs in a Mini-Mart cooking machine, and Nachos that were borderline inedible. No fries, chips, snacks, fruit… We had hoped the Barefoot Grill would offer the option to grab something quick and bring it back to our beach chairs, no such luck. The jerk chicken cart that circulates the resorts was a nice option. We would grab a plate of that and try to scavenge up some fries or salad to go with it – the wait staff at the Sea Side was courteous as they would let us grab something from the salad bar without being seated. Or they would grab us a plate of fries; nice gesture but totally inconvenient!

Bars: Along the lunch theme, it seemed like nothing was easy or convenient. I prefer American Beer. Fortunately they have Miller Lite. Day 2 they ran out…Day 3 it wasn’t cold. You could only get it at the lobby bars or preferred club!?! Want Miller Lite on the beach, you had to throw on a shirt or cover up and go into the lobby bar to get it. If at the pool bar I would grab 3-4 canned beers in the lobby and the pool bartender would be generous enough to throw them in the cooler, but he would not get them for you from the lobby or supply room. I will say top shelf liquor was not a problem, but the drinks were weak. You had to request a shot or double.

Preferred Club: We found this to be a pleasant surprise as far as food goes at the resort. The morning breakfast options were quite good and the early evening appetizers were great. Bar was always stocked. The staff in the Preferred Club was very friendly. I think the preferred Club was well work the additional $85/day.

Dinner/Entertainment: We ate at most of the restaurants, nothing blew us away, nothing memorable to discuss. The Japanese was probably the best meal and it was done in less than 25 minutes. Rib night was horrible. Another point someone made in our group; the majority of the restaurants empty out into the main entertainment area. You are almost forced into the center of the action. The piano bar serves as the main bar for the evening festivities so it’s not really a piano bar, you are subject to crowded scene and the entertainment on the stage, which one evening was a sales person from Margaretville barking for 30 minutes trying to get folks to come down to M-Ville on the 11:30 PM shuttle. No one in the crowd seemed remotely interested but the show went on.

Closing Thoughts: The resort is totally manufactured, you could put the resort anywhere (not unique to Jamaica); it could be on Cape Cod if the weather was warm enough. The beaches are all manmade, there is no continuous beach to walk, but it’s a beautiful location. The ocean was full of jellyfish, not Secrets fault, but a definite buzz kill when you can’t go in the water. With the exception of the front counter, the staff in general was very friendly. The resort is super clean. The resort is fairly conservative for an adult’s only resort. There were lots of honeymooner and first anniversaries. Topless sunbathing is forbidden on the beaches or at the pool. From past experiences, based on what we spent for this trip, I felt Secrets Wild Orchid fell short in service, convenience, and food quality/options compared to other resorts in the same class.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed very nice, but second floor offers a nice view and a little more tranquility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TullyMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

15 minutes from Montego Bay Airport on a private peninsula that immediately relaxes and pampers. Simple but elegant architecture with beautifully manicured beaches and pools. A couple of things to improve however: Wifi should be free in the rooms, get with the 21st century, wifi is as essential as TV. Especially when you tote your hotel as ultra all-inclusive. The hotel was very clean but because they don't vacuum the rooms, the floors are sandy and dirty. Mopping only spreads around the sand. Aside from that, Secrets has found the secret to the perfect intimate resort despite its size in our favourite location because of its ease of access from anywhere. One final suggestion however would be to improve the ambient music and play the reggae that gives Jamaica it's world renowned vibe. The best reggae music we heard was in the taxi on the way home. We'll be back to see if you listen to our suggestions.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul-YUL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here from Oct 6-Oct13 in room 2535. The resort is absolutely stunning with amazing sunsets and top notch accommodations. The beach is breathtaking and the staff is a group of truly wonderful people who made us smile ALL the time. The jerk chicken is fantastic, VERY MOUTH WATERING!!!!!!!! I had some health issues and the staff did EVERYTHING POSSIBLE to make things better for me. I honestly cannot say enough about the truly incomparable service they gave us and as a result, our vacation was the BEST EVER VACATION we ever had. I have been to over 25 resorts throughout the Caribbean and this one is the BEST BY FAR. We have many, many staff members to thank but here is short list of the ones that we will never forget!!

Deryk Meany – went out of his way to make our stay truly memorable!

Anne Marie – who was always genuinely concerned about our comfort, amazing!

Natania, Kareen – whose smiles, warmth and compassion always made us feel so good!

Shernett, Garton, Kaedean, Gwedelyn, Marcia, Ruth, Paul – who all helped to make us comfortable!

O’Neil (the Coffee Man at the breakfast buffet) – what great entertainment and not mention coffee martinis!

Bryon (bartender) – never hesitated to make us drinks and they were fabulous! Have him make you his signature "Not Yet" shooter that we named together!

These are only a few people who made our experience beyond our expectations. The resort is fantastic and the staff will certainly do anything to make your stay and vacation unforgettable. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU to all of you for EVERYTHING!! You are all the real reason we will come back!!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous. Top floors rooms have a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Where should i start, we have been on several trips and this had to be the worst!!!! From the airport the bus driver was arguing with the supervisor due to him having to take my fiancee and I , as well as others to our hotel. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted without a smile or friendly welcome. Our rooms wasnt available so we were asked to go eat lunch and when we got back our room should be ready. Well that wasnt the case, not only was the room not ready, ants crawling all over us,hot , the staff at the front desk seem to have an attitude and was upset at the fact that we were asking again about our room. After another 45min, we were greeted bythe manager who apologized for our long wait and finally escorted up to our room. After two days of unfriendly waitress at the bars and room service, we met with the manager. We let him know how unhappy we were and our trip was horrible so far. We also let him know that that our food has been sitting in the shoot with food and gnats everywhere. He said that he was so sorry and that we should not have anymore problems. He checked up on us for the remander of the trip , however the service was still just ok, the food was bland and the drinks were so so. For the money we paid, you would think the service would have been great. Again, we have been on several trips, with the BEST SERVICE and the staff that really made us feel like king and queens, this was not the case for this place. They made us feel like we were bothering them and that they needed us to leave the first day we got there!!! Apple Vacations recommended this trip, and it was horrible!!! Would NEVER RECOMMEND THIS TRIP TO NO ONE!!! SAVE Your money and go to any DREAMS,,,you will feel like a king or queen!!!!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Kmberkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I am late in sending this review but nothing can lessen the enthusiasm I have for this resort. I am a travel agent and I travel ALOT. This is one of the best resorts I have EVER stayed in. My boyfriend and I stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid in June 2012 and loved every minute of it. I has a very very hard time getting him to leave. Our room was on the 4th floor and faced the ocean. I know most people say the room is not a big deal but we loved it. The beach was gorgeous and always clean and the water was the clearest I have ever seen outside the Mediterranean. We had a bartender called Alvin who was FANTASTIC!!! Anything we needed we got, any question we had, he answered or found out for us. There is really not one bad thing I can say about this resort. Also have to say the Jamaican people are the happiest I have ever met. Always singing and making sure you are enjoying yourself. You could not help but have a great time. I have recommended it to many of my clients and booked several. Will definately go back and this time for a longer stay.

Room Tip: No rooms are bad but we enjoyed the rooms facing the pier. We watched the cruise ships going in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotlandillinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My new husband and I went here for our honeymoon about two weeks ago! It was wonderful! We got the preferred club package - and since we were on our honeymoon- we got the honeymoon package for free. It included the romantic dinner on the beach (definitely do this, the meal was unreal and was so romantic!), couples massages, a body scrub and breakfast in bed. We loved the staff, all very friendly and accomodating! We would definitely go back... It is a little quiet on the preferred club side, which was great for a couple of days and then we needed a bit more liveliness! I think the next time we go back we are going to bring another couple with us!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.1 mi away
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
Secrets St. James Montego Bay
#11 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,480 reviews
0.2 mi away
Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
Sunscape Splash Montego Bay
#19 of 64 in Montego Bay
6,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Rose Hall
13.2 mi away
Grand Palladium Jamaica Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
Zoetry Montego Bay Jamaica
#16 of 64 in Montego Bay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Lot 59A | Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range: £307 - £689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Holiday Gems, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing